Sen. John Stinner

District 48
Room 1305
P.O. Box 94604
Lincoln, NE 68509
(402) 471-2802
Committee Assignments
  • Appropriations
  • Nebraska Retirement Systems
  • Reference
  • Building Maintenance
  • Executive Board
  • Legislative Performance Audit
  • Legislature's Planning Committee
  • Economic Recovery Special Committee


Elected to Nebraska Legislature: 2014; re-elected 2018

Born Oct. 11, 1951, in Pittsburgh, Pa.

Education: Graduate of Montour High School, 1969; University of Nebraska (B.S. in business administration), 1973 and (M.A.) in economics, 1976.

Family: Married Rita, Nov. 25, 1972; two children: John, Jr. and Cecilia; three grandchildren.

Occupation: Retired banker; board of directors, Western States Bank.

Former: CPA with Peat Marwick Mitchell & Co. (KPMG).

Member: board, Oregon Trail Community Foundation; Scottsbluff/Gering Rotary Club; Sons of the American Legion; Knights of Columbus; Christ the King Parish.

Former member: trustee, Hospital Authority No. 1 of Scotts Bluff County; board, Nebraska Bankers Association (chair); board, NBISCO; board, WNCC Foundation; board, Terry Carpenter Center; board, WyoBraska Museum; board, Zoological Association (president); board, YMCA of Scottsbluff (president); Gering School Board (president); Twin Cities Development (president); Gering Downtown Revitalization Committee; Elks Club; board, WNCC Cougar Booster Club.

Honors and awards: 2018 State Legislator of the Year, American Psychological Association; 2018 Nebraska School Mental Health Champion, The Kim Foundation and ESU 3; 2018 Public Service Award, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Alumni Association; 2017 Health Center Advocate of the Year, Health Center Association of Nebraska; Early Learning Fellows Program, National Conference of State Legislatures, 2016: BILLD Fellow, Midwest Council of State Governments, 2016; Scottsbluff/Gering United Chamber of Commerce Visionary Superstar, 2000; full athletic scholarship, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 1969-72; member, Nebraska Cornhusker National Championship football team, 1970 and 1971; Eagle Scout, 1966; ODE, Economics Honorary.