Nebraska Revised Statute 71-4721

Chapter 71 Section 4721


Commission; members; terms.

Members of the commission shall serve for terms of three years and may not serve more than two consecutive three-year terms. A former member who has served two consecutive terms may be reappointed to the commission after at least one year of nonservice. The terms of the members shall expire on January 31 of the final year of their appointed term. As the terms of the appointees expire, succeeding appointees shall be representatives of the same segment of the public as the previous appointee, and such successors shall be appointed to three-year terms, except appointees to vacancies occurring from unexpired terms, in which case the successor shall serve out the term of his or her predecessor. Members whose terms have expired shall continue to serve until their successors have been appointed.


  • Laws 1979, LB 101, § 2;
  • Laws 1987, LB 376, § 17;
  • Laws 1997, LB 851, § 14.