Nebraska Revised Statute 2-4104

Chapter 2


Commission; members; appointment; districts.

(1) The commission shall be composed of five members who shall:

(a) Be citizens of Nebraska;

(b) Be at least twenty-one years of age;

(c) Have been actually engaged in growing dry peas and lentils in this state for a period of at least five years;

(d) Reside in the district they represent; and

(e) Derive a substantial portion of their income from growing dry peas and lentils.

(2) The Director of Agriculture and the vice chancellor of the University of Nebraska Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources shall serve as nonvoting members of the commission.

(3) With the exception of the nonvoting members, the Governor shall appoint the members to the commission. The Governor shall appoint the initial members no later than July 1, 2021. One member shall be appointed from each of the following five districts:

(a) District 1: The counties of Sioux, Scotts Bluff, Banner, Kimball, Dawes, Box Butte, Morrill, Cheyenne, Sheridan, Garden, and Deuel;

(b) District 2: The counties of Cherry, Grant, Hooker, Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Dundy, Hitchcock, and Red Willow;

(c) District 3: All counties other than those listed in subdivision (a) or (b) of this subsection;

(d) District 4: The state at-large; and

(e) District 5: The state at-large.