Nebraska State Constitution Article V-5

Article V-5


Supreme Court judicial districts; redistricting; when.

The Legislature shall divide the state into six contiguous and compact districts of approximately equal population, which shall be numbered from one to six, which shall be known as the Supreme Court judicial districts. The Legislature shall redistrict the state after each federal decennial census. In any such redistricting, county lines shall be followed whenever practicable, but other established lines may be followed at the discretion of the Legislature. Such districts shall not be changed except upon the concurrence of a majority of the members of the Legislature. Whenever the Supreme Court is redistricted, the judges serving prior to the redistricting shall continue in office, and the law providing for such redistricting shall where necessary specify the newly established districts which they shall represent for the balance of their terms.


  • Neb. Const. art. VI, sec. 5 (1875);
  • Amended 1908, Laws 1907, c. 202, sec. 3, p. 581;
  • Amended 1912, Laws 1911, c. 226, sec. 1, p. 679;
  • Amended 1920, Constitutional Convention, 1919-1920, No. 17;
  • Transferred by Constitutional Convention, 1919-1920, art. V, sec. 5;
  • Amended 1962, Laws 1961, c. 252, sec. 2(2), p. 742;
  • Amended 1970, Laws 1969, c. 421, sec. 1, p. 1437.


Neither this section nor section 7 makes any mention of application to substitute judges. ConAgra, Inc. v. Cargill, Inc., 223 Neb. 92, 388 N.W.2d 458 (1986).