Nebraska State Constitution Article V-10

Article V-10


District court judicial districts.

The state shall be divided into district court judicial districts. Until otherwise provided by law, the boundaries of the judicial districts and the number of judges of the district courts shall remain as now fixed. The judges of the district courts shall be selected from the respective districts as provided in this Article V.


  • Neb. Const. art. VI, sec. 10 (1875);
  • Amended 1920, Constitutional Convention, 1919-1920, No. 15;
  • Transferred by Constitutional Convention, 1919-1920, art. V, sec. 10;
  • Amended 1962, Laws 1961, c. 252, sec. 2(2), p. 742.


Under former law, district judge must have been elected for each judicial district. State ex rel. Polk v. Galusha, 74 Neb. 188, 104 N.W. 197 (1905).

Under former law, judges of district court were elected for a term of four years. State ex rel. Wheeler v. Stuht, 52 Neb. 209, 71 N.W. 941 (1897).

Unorganized territory is part of the judicial district of county to which it is attached. State v. Page, 12 Neb. 386, 11 N.W. 495 (1882); Ex parte Crawford, 12 Neb. 379, 11 N.W. 494 (1882).

County cannot be part of two judicial districts. Olive v. State, 11 Neb. 1, 7 N.W. 444 (1881).

District judge is state, not county, officer. Jones v. York County, 26 F.2d 623 (8th Cir. 1928).