NINTH DAY - AUGUST 8, 2024

LEGISLATIVE JOURNAL

ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE FIRST SPECIAL SESSION

NINTH DAY

Legislative Chamber, Lincoln, Nebraska Thursday, August 8, 2024

PRAYER

The prayer was offered by Senator Lippincott.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was offered by Senator DeKay.

ROLL CALL

Pursuant to adjournment, the Legislature met at 9:00 a.m., President Kelly presiding.

The roll was called and all members were present except Senators Hardin, Linehan, Raybould, and Walz who were excused until they arrive.

CORRECTIONS FOR THE JOURNAL

The Journal for the eighth day was approved.

COMMITTEE REPORT(S)

Enrollment and Review

LEGISLATIVE BILL 4. Placed on Select File.

(Signed) Beau Ballard, Chairperson

MOTION(S) - Confirmation Report(s)

Senator Hansen moved the adoption of the Health and Human Services Committee report for the confirmation of the following appointment(s) found on page 111:

Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired Brent Heyen Miguel Rocha Patricia Schonlau

Voting in the affirmative, 44:

Aguilar	Cavanaugh, J.	Dungan	Ibach	Murman
Albrecht	Cavanaugh, M.	Erdman	Jacobson	Riepe
Armendariz	Clements	Fredrickson	Kauth	Sanders
Ballard	Conrad	Halloran	Linehan	Slama
Blood	Day	Hansen	Lippincott	Vargas
Bosn	DeBoer	Hardin	Lowe	Walz
Bostelman	DeKay	Holdcroft	McDonnell	Wayne
Brandt	Dorn	Hughes	Meyer	Wishart
Brewer	Dover	Hunt	Moser	

Voting in the negative, 0.

Present and not voting, 4:

Arch Bostar McKinney von Gillern

Excused and not voting, 1:

Raybould

The appointments were confirmed with 44 ayes, 0 nays, 4 present and not voting, and 1 excused and not voting.

Senator Hansen moved the adoption of the Health and Human Services Committee report for the confirmation of the following appointment(s) found on page 111:

Board of Emergency Medical Services Shaila Coffey

Voting in the affirmative, 37:

Aguilar	Bostelman	DeBoer	Hunt	Sanders
Albrecht	Brandt	DeKay	Jacobson	Slama
Arch	Brewer	Dorn	Kauth	Vargas
Armendariz	Cavanaugh, J.	Dover	Lippincott	von Gillern
Ballard	Cavanaugh, M.	Dungan	McDonnell	Walz
Blood	Clements	Fredrickson	Meyer	
Bosn	Conrad	Hansen	Moser	
Bostar	Day	Hughes	Riepe	

Voting in the negative, 0.

Present and not voting, 11:

Erdman Holdcroft Lowe Wayne Halloran Ibach McKinney Wishart

Hardin Linehan Murman

Excused and not voting, 1:

Raybould

The appointment was confirmed with 37 ayes, 0 nays, 11 present and not voting, and 1 excused and not voting.

Senator Bostelman moved the adoption of the Natural Resources Committee report, found on page 97, for the retention of the following appointment(s) to be acted upon at a later date:

Nebraska Natural Resources Commission Bradley Dunbar

Voting in the affirmative, 32:

Aguilar	Bostar	Dorn	Kauth	Slama
Albrecht	Bostelman	Dover	Lippincott	Vargas
Arch	Brandt	Erdman	McDonnell	von Gillern
Armendariz	Clements	Fredrickson	Meyer	Walz
Ballard	Conrad	Hansen	Moser	
Blood	DeBoer	Hunt	Riepe	
Bosn	DeKay	Jacobson	Sanders	

Voting in the negative, 0.

Present and not voting, 16:

Brewer	Dungan	Hughes	McKinney
Cavanaugh, J.	Halloran	Ibach	Murman
Cavanaugh, M.	Hardin	Linehan	Wayne
Day	Holdcroft	Lowe	Wishart

Excused and not voting, 1:

Raybould

The Bostelman motion prevailed with 32 ayes, 0 nays, 16 present and not voting, and 1 excused and not voting.

SELECT FILE

LEGISLATIVE BILL 4. Senator Conrad offered MO94, found on page 106, to bracket until January 7, 2025.

Speaker Arch offered the following motion:

MO123

Invoke cloture pursuant to Rule 7, Sec. 10.

Speaker Arch requested a roll call vote on his motion to invoke cloture.

The Arch motion to invoke cloture prevailed with 42 ayes, 1 nay, 2 absent and not voting, and 4 excused and not voting.

The Conrad motion to bracket failed with 3 ayes, 39 nays, 3 present and not voting, and 4 excused and not voting.

Advanced to Enrollment and Review for Engrossment.

COMMITTEE REPORT(S)

General Affairs

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 23CA. Indefinitely postponed.

(Signed) John Lowe, Chairperson

REPORT OF REGISTERED LOBBYISTS

Following is a list of all lobbyists who have registered as of August 7, 2024, in accordance with Section 49-1481, Revised Statutes of Nebraska. Additional lobbyists who have registered will be filed weekly.

(Signed) Brandon Metzler Clerk of the Legislature

Baird Holm LLP
Nebraska Craft Distillers Guild
Farias, Andrew
Asian Community and Cultural Center (Withdrawn 08/02/2024)
Kaericher, Clark
DoorDash, Inc.
Kelley Plucker, LLC
Koley Jessen P.C., L.L.O.
Mueller Robak
Ameriprise Financial, Inc.

VISITORS

Visitors to the Chamber were Amy Stearley, Pam Stearley, Addie and Rosie Digman, Fran Digman and Calla Rempe, Lincoln; Cameron Mathis, Omaha.

MOTION(S) - Adjournment

Senator Linehan moved to adjourn until 1:00 p.m., Monday, August 12, 2024.

Senator M. Cavanaugh moved for a call of the house. The motion prevailed with 36 ayes, 3 nays, and 10 not voting.

Senator M. Cavanaugh requested a roll call vote on the motion to adjourn.

Voting in the affirmative, 33:

Albrecht	Brandt	Erdman	Jacobson	Moser
Arch	Brewer	Halloran	Kauth	Murman
Armendariz	Clements	Hansen	Linehan	Riepe
Ballard	DeBoer	Hardin	Lippincott	Slama
Bosn	DeKay	Holdcroft	Lowe	von Gillern
Bostar	Dorn	Hughes	McDonnell	
Bostelman	Dover	Ibach	Meyer	

Voting in the negative, 11:

Blood	Conrad	Fredrickson	Vargas
Cavanaugh, J.	Day	Hunt	Walz
Cavanaugh, M.	Dungan	McKinney	

Present and not voting, 1:

Aguilar

Excused and not voting, 4:

Raybould Sanders Wayne Wishart

The Linehan motion to adjourn prevailed with 33 ayes, 11 nays, 1 present and not voting, and 4 excused and not voting, and at 3:36 p.m., the Legislature adjourned until 1:00 p.m., Monday, August 12, 2024.

Brandon Metzler Clerk of the Legislature