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some of those on the books at .16. Further, LB 925 seeks to
strengthen and clarify certain portions of Nebraska's existing
DUI and DUI-related laws in the following ways: increases the
penalties for offenders who leave the scene of property damage,
injury, and fatal accidents. In fact, just this past weekend, I
didn't hand this out, but there is an article relating to yet
another example of what kind of effect leaving the scene of an
accident can cause in our society. A nine-year-old boy was
struck and killed near 32nd and Q Streets by a driver who fled
the scene. The driver was actually apprehended later that
night, but largely because the crime of leaving a scene of a
fatal accident is just a misdemeanor, he was allowed to post
bail, failed to appear at his arraignment on Monday. I guess
the leniency of the law, especially when compared to the
penalties for DUI, felony motor vehicle homocide and DUI
resulting in serious bodily injury, quite honestly gives drivers
the incentive to run. We need to take away that incentive.
LB 925 also increases the penalties for motor vehicle homocides
caused by DUI; it requires the imposition of a 15-year license
revocation as part of any sentence for felony operation of motor
vehicle during suspension, something which in some cases can
even be a greater...we feel, a greater deterrent than jail time;
and lastly, it requires that all convicted DUI offenders to
receive a chemical dependence assessment...it requires all
convicted DUI offenders to receive a chemical dependence
assessment from a certified drug and alcohol counselor.
Finally, I'd like to thank our Judiciary Committee. I'd like to
thank Pat Bourne, the Chairman; Jeff Beaty, of course, the legal
counsel; along with Attorney General Jon Bruning and their staff
for the hard work they put on in this bill. I'd like you to
consider the following. Under Nebraska law, under current
Nebraska law, in our lifetime, in the lifetime of someone who
gets convicted for passing two bad checks--and this was actually
brought out in the hearing--the lifetime of someone who gets
convicted for passing two bad checks for a mere $5, that person
would be subject to the same penalty as someone who commits four
or more DUIs over a 1l2-month period, Class IV felony. Leads me
to this question: Which of these two courses of conduct should
our criminal justice system and we as lawmakers should try to
prevent? I believe LB 925 goes a long way in answering that
question. Senator Dwite Pedersen and Senator Brashear on
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