

## Ninety-Seventh Legislature - First Session - 2001 Committee Statement LB 220

**Hearing Date:** February 26, 2001 **Committee On:** Business and Labor

**Introducers:** (Tyson)

**Title:** Adopt the Municipal Comparability Act

## **Roll Call Vote – Final Committee Action:**

Advanced to General File

Advanced to General File with Amendments

X Indefinitely Postponed

## **Vote Results:**

5 Yes Connealy, Chambers, Hartnett, Preister, Schimek

1 No Vrtiska1 Present, not voting Dierks

Absent

Proponents:Representing:Sen. Gene TysonIntroducerSheila SchukeiCity of Norfolk

Gary Krumland League of Nebraska Municipalities

Ken Mass Nebraska State AFL-CIO

**Opponents:** Representing:

Mike McDonnell Nebraska Professional Firefighters

Chris Abboud Omaha Police Union
Bill Arfmann NAPE/AFSCME 61

Sam M. Scarpello Nebraska State Council of Electrical Workers

Omaha Federation of Labor

NE State Utility Worker Conference

Richard Kuiper NE State Electrical Workers

NE State Utility Workers

**Neutral:** Representing:

## **Summary of purpose and/or changes:**

LB 220 proposes to create the Nebraska Municipality Comparability Act. The act would create the comparison guidelines that the Commission of Industrial Relations may make for industrial disputes involving municipal employees. The proposed guidelines are: first and second-class cities may not

use an array outside of the state unless (1) the population of the city in question exceeds 39,000 inhabitants, (2) the industrial dispute involves employees in a municipal power generation facility, or (3) the city is located within a metropolitan area in which a city of the metropolitan class is located.

A comparison may not include an employer in a metropolitan area if the municipality in litigation is not included in a metropolitan area, nor may it include an employer located in an area with more than double or less than half of the population of the municipality population that is the subject of litigation.

Explanation of amendments, if any:	
	Senator Matt Connealy, Chairperson