anything and everything I can to do that. So at any rate, I will go just as quickly as I can, but our children, when they are in an accident, slide forward and the heaviest part of the body or the head, neck, and spinal cord area takes the brunt and the thrust of all of that injury. And we have had a lot of children, little children, injured in this manner. Now the bill as amended will improve our current law which was put into effect in 1983, and it only requires that, our current law only requires a child restraint passenger restraint system up to the first year of life. After that, a standard safety belt can be used to age four. Nebraska is one of only five states which allows the substitution of a safety belt for a child chair safety seat for a one-year old baby. Nebraska is one of only three states which has no passenger protection law for children when they reach age four. It is legal for a four-year old to stand on the front seat of a car traveling 65 miles an hour on the interstate, and I have seen it done. And it is a fearsome thing. One in every 17 Nebraska drivers will be in a crash this There will be lots of children in crashes this year. Since 1983, the 119 deaths and 14,000 injuries to children as a result of motor vehicle accidents in the State of Nebraska would have been drastically reduced had we had just this law that we want to put in today, the small improvement. Parents want their children safe. Oftentimes we just don't know or we just don't think about it. My children are all raised but I shudder when I think of how I used to hold them on my lap as my husband drove, or if I were driving, they were just loose in the car. the 1983 law was an improvement, and this is another step in improvement for the saving of precious lives. Most people are injured in areas up to 40 mile radius from their home. The law that we have now is inadequate. The belt for one-year old and up is to them more hazardous because of that body shape that I mentioned previously, the top part of the body is heavier and it changes the thrust. Additionally, a belt over the age of one on the baby slides up over a child's rounded hip bones, because their hip bones are not like adults, and that can cause a child significant internal injuries and has and does and will until we pass 958. Every child has a right to be protected and to be as as possible in a car. Every person who drives with children is responsible to protect their lives. I want to share the results of the Colorado effectiveness study of a bill very similar to ours that we will be putting into effect. They found that there was a 31 percent decrease in fatalities, birth through three, and a 13 percent decrease in injuries, birth through three. The leading cause of childhood death is motor