## ONE HUNDRED NINTH LEGISLATURE

## FIRST SESSION

## LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 104

Introduced by Lonowski, 33; Andersen, 49; Arch, 14; Ballard, 21; Bosn, 25; Bostar, 29; Brandt, 32; Cavanaugh, J., 9; Cavanaugh, M., 6; Clouse, 37; Conrad, 46; DeBoer, 10; DeKay, 40; Dorn, 30; Dover, 19; Dungan, 26; Fredrickson, 20; Guereca, 7; Hallstrom, 1; Hansen, 16; Holdcroft, 36; Hughes, 24; Hunt, 8; Ibach, 44; Jacobson, 42; Juarez, 5; Kauth, 31; Lippincott, 34; McKeon, 41; McKinney, 11; Meyer, 17; Moser, 22; Murman, 38; Prokop, 27; Quick, 35; Raybould, 28; Riepe, 12; Rountree, 3; Sanders, 45; Sorrentino, 39; Storer, 43; Storm, 23; Strommen, 47; von Gillern, 4; Wordekemper, 15.

WHEREAS, the 2024-2025 University of Nebraska Wrestling Team had eight wrestlers earn All-American honors, with three finalists, and two champions at the 2025 NCAA Wrestling Championships in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; and

WHEREAS, Brock Hardy of Brigham City, Utah, earned a spot in the 141-pound championship, a silver medal, and All-American status; and

WHEREAS, Ridge Lovett, a native of Post Falls, Idaho, and an All-American in 2022 and 2024, won the 149-pound championship match, defeating the defending national champion, and became the first individual national champion for Nebraska since Jordan Burroughs in 2011; and

WHEREAS, Antrell Taylor, a Millard South product, won the 157-pound championship match earning a 4-2 decision and became the second native Nebraskan to win a division one national title, joining Brad Vering from 2000. Taylor's victory coupled with Lovett's title marked the first time since 1984 the Huskers had multiple individual NCAA champions in the same season when Jim Scherr and Bill Scherr won NCAA titles; and

WHEREAS, Big Red wrestlers put together seventeen bonus-point wins for the fifth-highest point total by a runner-up in NCAA History; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska set a school record for All-Americans with eight at an NCAA tournament; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska wrestling had its best performance and team finish ever at the 2025 NCAA Wrestling Championships by scoring the most team points and having the most All-Americans at the 2025 NCAA Championships; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska had a historic national runner-up finish to their season; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Mark Manning was named the 2025 NCAA Tournament Coach of the Year.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED NINTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature congratulates the Nebraska Wrestling Team on their tremendous season and for their elite performance at the 2025 NCAA Wrestling Championships.
- 2. That copies of this resolution be sent to the Nebraska Wrestling Team and to Head Coach Mark Manning.