LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA ONE HUNDRED NINTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE BILL 708

Introduced by Ibach, 44.

Read first time January 22, 2025

Committee: Education

- 1 A BILL FOR AN ACT relating to community colleges; to amend section
- 2 85-1504, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to change boundaries
- of certain community college areas; and to repeal the original
- 4 section.
- 5 Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

- 1 Section 1. Section 85-1504, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is
- 2 amended to read:
- 3 85-1504 The state is hereby divided into six community college areas
- 4 as follows:
- 5 (1) The Western Community College Area shall consist of the
- 6 following counties: Sioux, Dawes, Sheridan, Box Butte, Scotts Bluff,
- 7 Banner, Kimball, Morrill, Cheyenne, Garden, Deuel, and Grant and the
- 8 voting districts of Merriam, Russell, King, Mother Lake, Cody, Barley,
- 9 Gillaspie, Lackey, and Calf Creek in Cherry County as such voting
- 10 districts existed on July 1, 1975;
- 11 (2) The Mid-Plains Community College Area shall consist of the
- 12 following counties: Cherry except as provided in subdivision (1) of this
- 13 section, Hooker, Thomas, Blaine, Loup, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Custer,
- 14 Keith, Lincoln, Perkins, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Dundy, Hitchcock, and
- 15 Red Willow, and Dawson;
- 16 (3) The Northeast Community College Area shall consist of the
- 17 following counties: Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Boyd, Holt, Garfield,
- 18 Wheeler, Knox, Cedar, Antelope, Pierce, Madison, Wayne, Stanton, Dixon,
- 19 Dakota, Thurston, Burt, and Cuming and the precincts of North Oakland,
- 20 South Oakland, Ashland, North Branch, Shell Creek, and Midland in Boone
- 21 County as such precincts existed on July 1, 1975;
- 22 (4) The Central Community College Area shall consist of the
- 23 following counties: Valley, Greeley, Platte, Colfax, Sherman, Howard,
- 24 Nance, Merrick, Polk, Butler, Dawson, Buffalo, Hall, Hamilton, Gosper,
- 25 Phelps, Kearney, Adams, Clay, Furnas, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and
- 26 Nuckolls and all of Boone County except as provided in subdivision (3) of
- 27 this section;
- 28 (5) The Southeast Community College Area shall consist of the
- 29 following counties: Saunders, Cass, York, Seward, Lancaster, Otoe,
- 30 Fillmore, Saline, Thayer, Jefferson, Gage, Johnson, Nemaha, Pawnee, and
- 31 Richardson; and

LB708 2025 LB708 2025

1 (6) The Metropolitan Community College Area shall consist of the

- 2 following counties: Dodge, Washington, Douglas, and Sarpy.
- 3 Sec. 2. Original section 85-1504, Reissue Revised Statutes of
- 4 Nebraska, is repealed.