## ONE HUNDRED NINTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2025 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB422

Hearing Date: Committee On:	Thursday February 27, 2025 Judiciary
Introducer:	Storer
One Liner:	Change provisions of the Nebraska Uniform Real Property Transfer on Death Act

## Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results: Aye:	8	Senators Bosn, DeBoer, Hallstrom, Holdcroft, McKinney, Rountree, Storer, Storm
Nay: Absent: Present Not Voting:		
	Testimo	ny:
Proponents:		Representing:
Senator Tanya Storer		Opening Presenter
Tim Hruza		Nebraska State Bar Association
Opponents:		Representing:
Neutral:		Representing:
Robert Bell		Nebraska Insurance Federation; American Property
		Casualty Insurance Association
* ADA Accommodation Writ	ten Testimonv	

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB422 amends the Nebraska Uniform Real Property Transfer on Death Act (Act) to provide that when a transfer on death deed is on file and a transferor dies, coverage of the transferor's insurance policy extends for a period of 60 days following the death of the transferor.

Section-by-Section Summary:

Section 1: Amends § 76-3401 to add section 3 of LB 422 to the Act.

Section 2: Amends § 76-3410 to require an additional warning on a transfer on death deed stating that when a transfer on death deed is filed and the transferor dies, coverage of the transferor's insurance policy extends for only 60 days following the transferor's death. This new warning accounts for the change made to the Act in section 3 of the bill.



Section 3: A new section added to the Act providing that when a transfer on death deed is filed and the transferor dies, coverage of the transferor's insurance policy extends for 60 days following the transferor's death. This section also provides that the beneficiary of a transfer on death deed succeeds to all rights and obligations of the transferor during such 60-day period, shall not acquire any interest in policy proceeds paid out before death, and shall not be treated as the named insured until the insured's death.

Section 4: Repealer.

## **Explanation of amendments:**

The Standing Committee Amendment (AM 841) strikes and replaces the original sections of the bill. Section 1 remains unchanged. AM 841 amends sections 2 and 3 of LB 422 as follows:

Section 2 (section 76-3410) is amended to change the required warning to reflect the changes made to section 3.

Section 3 is amended to provide that the designated beneficiary under a transfer on death deed shall be deemed to be an insured party under any property insurance policy for the period from the transferor's death until the first to occur of: (1) the end of the policy period as determined if the transferor was still living, (2) the date the designated beneficiary obtains alterative coverage, or (3) 30 days after the transferor's death only if any premium required for the additional days beyond the policy period is paid. The amended section prohibits a designated beneficiary from acquiring any interest in policy proceeds that accrue before the insured's death, and does not affect policy coverage to household members or others deemed insured upon death of the transferor.

Carolyn Bosn, Chairperson

