ONE HUNDRED NINTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2025 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB319

Hearing Date: Wednesday March 05, 2025 **Committee On:** Health and Human Services

Introducer: Rountree

One Liner: Change eligibility requirements for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Vote Results:

Aye: 6 Senators Hardin, Fredrickson, Hansen, Meyer, Quick, Riepe

Nay:

Absent:

Present Not Voting: 1 Senator Ballard

Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Victor Rountree Opening Presenter

Ryan Dale Assistant Chief, Lincoln Police Department

Jasmine Harris RISE

Jason Witmer ACLU Nebraska

Kayla Tobey self/Nebraska Appleseed

Shari Kimble self LaTishia Ramirez self

Rev. Kaitlin Reece The Benedictine Way and Balancing the Scales

Scott Barker The Diocese of Nebraska
Tom Venzor Nebraska Catholic Conference
Katie Nungesser Voices for Children in Nebraska

Eric Savaiano Nebraska Appleseed

Opponents: Representing:

Shannon Grotrian NE Department of Health and Human Services

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

Pursuant to 21 U.S.C. 862, Nebraska opts out of the federal provision disqualifying individuals with felony drug convictions from SNAP benefits, ensuring eligibility for those who have completed their sentence or are currently on parole, probation, or post-release supervision.



^{*} ADA Accommodation Written Testimony

Sec. 1.1 to 1.3 – Remains unchanged.

Sec. 1.4 - LB319, pursuant to 21 U.S.C. 862, directs Nebraska to exercise its option to opt out of the federal provision under the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 that disqualifies individuals with felony drug convictions from Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits.

Individuals convicted of a felony for possession, use, or distribution of a controlled substance remain eligible for SNAP benefits if they have completed their sentence or are currently serving parole, probation, or post-release supervision.

Sec. 2 – Repealer.

Brian Hardin, Chairperson