## ONE HUNDRED NINTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2025 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB274

Hearing Date: Committee On: Introducer: One Liner:	Wednesday February 05, 2025 Health and Human Services Hunt Change requirements under the Child Care Licensing Act for liability insurance coverage and inspections and investigations	
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action: Advanced to General File with amendment(s)		
Vote Results: Aye: Nay: Absent:	6	Senators Hardin, Ballard, Fredrickson, Meyer, Quick, Riepe
Present No	ot Voting: 1	Senator Hansen
	Test	imony:
Proponents:		Representing:
Senator Megan Hunt		Opening Presenter
Jared Johnson		self
Kaela Johnson		self
John Lindsay		Nebraska Association of Trial Attorneys
Opponents:		Representing:
Neutral:		Representing:
Mitchell Clark		First Five Nebraska
* ADA Accommodation Written Testimony		

## Summary of purpose and/or changes:

Sec. 1 – Amendment to Section 71-1911.03; Child Care Licensing Act; Proof of Liability Insurance Coverage An applicant for a license under the Child Care Licensing Act must provide proof of liability insurance coverage. Currently, the minimum required coverage is \$100,000. LB274 would increase this minimum requirement to \$200,000. Additionally, this section is amended to mandate that the licensee maintain the required coverage at all

times when a child is in their care.

Sec. 2 – Amendment to Section 71-1912; Department; Investigations; Inspections

This section establishes that during every unannounced inspection of a licensee, the Department's inspector shall request and verify proof of current liability insurance coverage. If proof cannot be provided or if the coverage has lapsed, the licensee will have three business days to submit proof of coverage. Failure to do so will result in the suspension of the license. The license will be reinstated upon submission of appropriate insurance documentation to the Department.



## Sec. 3 – Amendment to Section 71-1913; Fire and Health Inspections

This section is amended to require that during each inspection of a child care facility, the State Fire Marshal shall request and verify proof of liability insurance.

## Explanation of amendments:

Explanation of amendment:

AM84 of LB274 Reinstates the minimum required liability insurance of \$100,00.

Brian Hardin, Chairperson

