ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 93

Introduced by Cavanaugh, J., 9; Aguilar, 35; Albrecht, 17; Arch, 14; Armendariz, 18; Ballard, 21; Blood, 3; Bosn, 25; Bostar, 29; Bostelman, 23; Brandt, 32; Brewer, 43; Briese, 41; Clements, 2; Day, 49; DeBoer, 10; DeKay, 40; Dorn, 30; Dover, 19; Dungan, 26; Erdman, 47; Fredrickson, 20; Halloran, 33; Hansen, B., 16; Hardin, 48; Holdcroft, 36; Hughes, 24; Ibach, 44; Jacobson, 42; Kauth, 31; Linehan, 39; Lippincott, 34; Lowe, 37; McDonnell, 5; McKinney, 11; Moser, 22; Murman, 38; Raybould, 28; Riepe, 12; Sanders, 45; Slama, 1; Vargas, 7; von Gillern, 4; Walz, 15; Wayne, 13; Wishart, 27.

WHEREAS, the 2022-23 Creighton University Bluejays men's basketball team reached the Elite Eight in the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Men's Basketball Tournament for the first time since 1941, and the first time since the tournament field expanded to sixty-four teams; and

WHEREAS, the sixth seed Bluejays defeated eleventh seed North Carolina State, third seed Baylor, and fifteenth seed Princeton before falling to fifth seed San Diego State in the South Regional Final; and

WHEREAS, junior Ryan Kalkbrenner earned his second consecutive Big East Defensive Player of the Year award and First-Team All-Big East honors; and

WHEREAS, junior Ryan Kalkbrenner, sophomores Ryan Nembhard, Arthur Kaluma, and Trey Alexander, and senior and native of Aurora, Nebraska, Baylor Scheierman made up the starting lineup of the Bluejays; and

WHEREAS, Creighton head coach Greg McDermott completed his thirteenth season with the Bluejays and finished the year with a career record of three hundred wins and one hundred fifty losses with Creighton; and

WHEREAS, Creighton finished the 2022-23 season with a record of twentyfour wins and thirteen losses; and

WHEREAS, Creighton men's basketball has received tremendous support from the Omaha and Creighton community.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

1. That the Legislature congratulates the Creighton University Bluejays

-1-

men's basketball team on reaching the Elite Eight.

2. That copies of this resolution be sent to head coach Greg McDermott and the Creighton University Bluejays men's basketball team.