ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 60

Introduced by Jacobson, 42; Kauth, 31.

WHEREAS, the Nebraska School Counselors Association presented the 2022 Nebraska Elementary School Counselor of the Year and 2023 Nebraska School Counselor of the Year awards to Kara Hahn of Jefferson Elementary School in the North Platte Public School District; and

WHEREAS, school counselors work with all students to support them in three areas: academic achievement, career planning and readiness, and social and emotional development; and

WHEREAS, school counselors deliver their services through classroom instruction, small group intervention, and individual advisement and counseling; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Hahn demonstrated excellence as a school counselor by developing and implementing a comprehensive school counseling program, which reduced the number of students who were identified as being at risk for both internalizing behaviors and externalizing behaviors on the Student Risk Screening Scale in her school.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature congratulates Kara Hahn on receiving the 2022 Nebraska Elementary School Counselor of the Year and 2023 Nebraska School Counselor of the Year awards.
- 2. That copies of this resolution be sent to Kara Hahn and Jefferson Elementary School in the North Platte Public School District.