ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 493

Introduced by Erdman, 47.

WHEREAS, the state motto of Nebraska is "Equality before the Law"; and
WHEREAS, the Nebraska Supreme Court is the highest court in the State of
Nebraska; and

WHEREAS, the Nebraska Supreme Court consists of one Chief Justice and six associate justices; and

WHEREAS, the current chief justice is Michael G. Heavican and the current associate justices are Stephanie F. Stacy, Lindsey Miller-Lerman, William B. Cassel, Jonathan J. Papik, Jeffrey J. Funke, and John R. Freudenberg; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Nebraska Supreme Court have devoted themselves faithfully to the work of jurisprudence, have worked tirelessly to render just decisions, have demonstrated superior knowledge of the law, and have shown respect for the original intentions of the law; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Nebraska Supreme Court have demonstrated the utmost respect for the Constitution of the United States, the Constitution of Nebraska, and the statutes of Nebraska; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Nebraska Supreme Court have greatly increased happiness, peace, and prosperity by upholding the rights and liberties of the citizenry.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature honors the hard work of and good decisions made by the justices of the Nebraska Supreme Court.
- 2. That copies of this resolution be sent to the Chief Justice Michael G. Heavican and each associate justice of the Nebraska Supreme Court.