ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2024 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB932

Hearing Date:	Wednesday February 07, 2024
Committee On:	Health and Human Services
Introducer:	Fredrickson
One Liner:	Change provisions relating to provisional mental health practitioner licenses

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye:7Senators Ballard, Cavanaugh, M., Day, Hansen, Hardin, Riepe, WalzNay:Absent:Present Not Voting:

Testimony:	
Proponents:	Representing:
Senator John Fredrickson	Opening Presenter
Lori Scharff	NE Association of Behavioral Health Organizations
Danette Novotny	NE Association of Behavioral Health Organizations
Maggie Ballard	Heartland Family Services
Opponents:	Representing:
Susan Meyerle	Board of Mental Health Practice
Dr. Timothy Tesmer	Nebraska DHHSChief Medical Officer
Neutral:	Representing:
* ADA Accommodation Written Testimony	

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 932 automatically grants a provisional license to a mental health practitioner upon application and payment of fee. The license shall be rescinded if the Board of Mental Health Practice finds the individual did not fulfill the requirements of 38-2123(1).

SECTION BY SECTION SUMMARY:

Sec. 1: An applicant shall be provisionally licensed as a mental health practitioner upon application and payment of the fee. If the board finds that any provisional mental health practitioner has failed to comply with the qualifications set forth in subsection (1) of this section, such provisional license shall be rescinded.

A provisional mental health practitioner license shall transfer to a mental health practitioner license upon completion of the requirements described in section 38-2122.

Sec. 2: Original 38-21223 is repealed



Explanation of amendments:

The standing Committee Amendment is a white copy amendment that strikes the procedure for provisional licensing outlined in LB 932 and instead allows an applicant to simply submit their application 90 days prior to graduation.

Ben Hansen, Chairperson

