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LB126
 
 
Hearing Date: Wednesday February 22, 2023
Committee On: Revenue
Introducer: Day
One Liner: Change provisions relating to homestead exemptions
 
 
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:
          Advanced to General File with amendment(s)
 
 
Vote Results:
          Aye: 8 Senators Albrecht, Bostar, Dungan, Kauth, Linehan, Meyer, Murman,

von Gillern
          Nay:   
          Absent:   
          Present Not Voting:   
 
 

Testimony:
Proponents: Representing: 
Senator Jen Day Opening Presenter
James Shuey Disabled American Veterans
Greg  Halloway Nebraska Veterans Council
Ryan McIntosh National Guard Association of Nebraska
 
Opponents: Representing: 
Beth Bazyn Ferrell Nebraska Association of County Officials (NACO)
 
Neutral: Representing: 
 
* ADA Accommodation Written Testimony
 
 
Summary of purpose and/or changes:
LB 126 modifies Neb. Rev. Stat. Sec. 77-3506 to establish a new section detailing a homestead exemption for
veterans who have between a ten percent disability but less than one hundred percent disability, and establishes a
dollar amount for such exemption according to varying degrees of disability

Section 1.  Amends Neb. Rev. Stat. Sec. 77-3506 to establish a new category under the Homestead Exemption
statutes to allow for specific exemption amounts for varying degrees of partial disability as follows:
90 to <100% disability - $1,000.00
80 to <90% disability - $900.00
70 to <80% disability - $800.00
60 to <70% disability - $700.00
50 to <60% disability - $600.00
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40 to <50% disability - $500.00
30 to <40% disability - $400.00
20 to <30% disability - $300.00
10 to <20% disability - $200.00;
and further amends the statute to harmonize provisions to reflect this change.
Section 2.  Repeals original statute.
 
 
Explanation of amendments:
The amendment allows anyone currently under a homestead exemption the choice to either remain under their
current exemption, or apply for the new exemption.

The amendment establishes a new system of payment under the homestead exemption where everyone is required
to pay some amount of property tax, starting at a minimum of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per month.

The amendment establishes a one million dollar ($1,000,000.00) total asset cap on qualifying for a homestead
exemption for married and single persons.

For those in a qualified census tract, the amendment establishes that a new homeowner is entitled to a 50% valuation
reduction for their first 5 years.

The amendment establishes a qualification for the homestead exemption for the elderly that you must have started
drawing social security or an equivalent retirement system for railroad retirement, CSRS (Civil Service Retirement
System, the old federal retirement system), or any other system that does not have social security as a retirement
component.

The amendment establishes parameters for the homestead exemption for disabled veterans that a veteran must be
classified as fifty percent (50%) disabled or higher to qualify for the homestead exemption.

The amendment also establishes the following chart as a stair step system going up to $100,000.00 in household
income for a married couple, filing jointly.  For a single, the qualifying amounts are reduced by 30%.

$38,909.99              $100.00/mo              $1,200.00/yr  (used as a sample as this is where 100% starts to phase out
currently)

$40,000.00              $110.00/mo              $1,320.00/yr

$45,000.00              $150.00/mo              $1,800.00/yr

$50,000.00              $175.00/mo              $2,100.00/yr

$55,000.00              $200.00/mo              $2,400.00/yr

$60,000.00              $225.00/mo              $2,700.00/yr

$65,000.00              $250.00/mo              $3,000.00/yr

$70,000.00              $275.00/mo              $3,300.00/yr

$75,000.00              $300.00/mo              $3,600.00/yr
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$80,000.00              $325.00/mo              $3,900.00/yr

$85,000.00              $350.00/mo              $4,200.00/yr

$90,000.00              $375.00/mo              $4,500.00/yr

$95,000.00              $400.00/mo              $4,800.00/yr

$100,000.00            $500.00/mo              $6,000.00/yr

For incomes over $100,000.00 (or the corresponding amount for singles), the first $100,000 of valuation is subtracted
from valuation up to the one million dollar ($1,000,000.00) asset cap.

The amendment also includes language and provisions from LB 1151 introduced by Senator Dover, Adding a
definition of occupy within the Homestead exemption statutes.

 

Lou Ann Linehan, Chairperson
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