## ONE HUNDRED SECOND LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2012 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB873

Hearing Date: Committee On: Introducer: One Liner:	Wednesday January 18, 20 Natural Resources Schilz Extend sunset of the petrol	912 eum release remedial action fund
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action: Advanced to General File		
Vote Results:		
Aye:	7	Senators Carlson, Christensen, Dubas, Langemeier, McCoy, Schilz, Smith
Nay:		
Absent: Present No	1 t Voting:	Senator Haar
Proponents:		Representing:
Senator Ken Schi	Z	Introducer
Mark Whitehead		Nebraska Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association
Ed Woeppel		Nebraska Cooperative Council
Loran Schmit		Self
Opponents:		Representing:
Neutral:		Representing:

## Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 873 would extend the date for eligible claims under the Petroleum Release Remedial Action Act by four years to June 30, 2016. The Petroleum Release Remedial Action Reimbursement Fund is funded by nine-tenths of a cent on a gallon of gasoline and three-tenths of a cent on diesel fuel.

Section-by-section description:

Section 1 amends 66-1519, which created the Petroleum Release Remedial Action Cash Fund, by allowing reimbursement from the fund for the costs of remedial action taken by a responsible party of the department in response to a release reported before June 30, 2016.

Section 2 amends 66-1523, which states the reimbursement terms under the fund, by stating that the procedures to be used only apply to remedial action for releases reported before June 30, 2016.

Section 3 amends 66-1525, relating to applications for reimbursement and partial payment, by allowing for applications based on releases reported before June 30, 2016.

Section 4 amends 66-1529.02, relating to remedial actions by the department, by allowing action using the fund in response to releases reported before June 30, 2016, as long as certain other conditions exist.

Section 5 provides an operative date of June 30, 2012.

Section 6 repeals the original section.

Section 7 contains an emergency clause.

Chris Langemeier, Chairperson