

One Hundred First Legislature - Second Session - 2010 Introducer's Statement of Intent LB 834

Chairperson: Russ Karpisek
Committee: General Affairs
Date of Hearing: February 8, 2010

The following constitutes the reasons for this bill and the purposes which are sought to be accomplished thereby:

LB 834 requires that the burden of proof as to whether a liquor license applicant is fit, willing and able to conform to the provisions of the Nebraska Liquor Control Act be on the applicant.

LB 834 requires any licensee who has been found guilty or pleaded guilty to any violation of the Nebraska Liquor Control Act or has been found guilty of any misdemeanor or felony during the previous license year shall be required to make a formal application for license renewal. The licensee would be required to appear before a formal hearing on the license renewal before the local governing body and the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission.

LB 834 increases the fines paid in lieu of suspension from the current \$50/\$100 per day to:

\$250 per day for first offense/\$300 per day for subsequent suspension \$500 per day for second offense occurring within four years of first suspension Licensee shall not be allowed to pay a fine in lieu of suspension and shall suspend sales for full period of suspension for third offense and subsequent offenses within 10 years of first suspension.

Principal Introducer:	
	Senator Gwen Howard