## LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA

## ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE

## FIRST SESSION

# LEGISLATIVE BILL 669

Introduced by Coash, 27; Campbell, 25; Pankonin, 2.

Read first time January 21, 2009

Committee: Judiciary

### A BILL

- FOR AN ACT relating to courts; to amend sections 24-301.02, 24-503,

  and 43-2,119, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to

  change the number of district court, county court, and

  separate juvenile court judges; to provide an operative

  date; to repeal the original sections; and to declare an

  emergency.
- Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

1 Section 1. Section 24-301.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of

- 2 Nebraska, is amended to read:
- 3 24-301.02 The State of Nebraska shall be divided into the
- 4 following twelve district court judicial districts:
- 5 District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Clay,
- 6 Nuckolls, Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha,
- 7 Fillmore, and Richardson;
- 8 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass,
- 9 and Otoe;
- 10 District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;
- District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;
- 12 District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick,
- 13 Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward,
- 14 and Saunders;
- 15 District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon,
- 16 Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;
- 17 District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox,
- 18 Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;
- 19 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry,
- 20 Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield,
- 21 Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;
- 22 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and
- 23 Hall;
- 24 District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Adams,
- 25 Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, and Webster;

District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker,

- 2 Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson,
- 3 Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and
- 4 Furnas; and
- 5 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux,
- 6 Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner,
- 7 Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.
- 8 In the fourth district there shall be sixteen judges of
- 9 the district court. In the third district there shall be seven
- 10 eight judges of the district court. In the second district there
- 11 shall be five judges of the district court. In the second, fifth,
- 12 ninth, eleventh, and twelfth districts there shall be four judges
- 13 of the district court. In the first and sixth districts there shall
- 14 be three judges of the district court. In the seventh, eighth, and
- 15 tenth districts there shall be two judges of the district court.
- 16 Sec. 2. Section 24-503, Reissue Revised Statutes of
- 17 Nebraska, is amended to read:
- 18 24-503 For the purpose of serving the county courts in
- 19 each county, twelve county judge districts are hereby created:
- 20 District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Saline,
- 21 Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson;
- 22 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass,
- 23 and Otoe;
- 24 District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;
- 25 District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;

District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick,

- 2 Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward,
- 3 and Saunders;
- 4 District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon,
- 5 Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;
- 6 District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox,
- 7 Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;
- 8 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry,
- 9 Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield,
- 10 Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;
- 11 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and
- 12 Hall;
- 13 District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Fillmore,
- 14 Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and
- 15 Nuckolls;
- 16 District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker,
- 17 Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson,
- 18 Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and
- 19 Furnas; and
- 20 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux,
- 21 Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner,
- 22 Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.
- 23 District 4 shall have twelve county judges. District 3
- 24 <u>shall have seven county judges. Districts</u> 3 and District 5 shall
- 25 have six county judges. Districts 2, 11, and 12 shall have five

LB 669 LB 669

1 county judges. Districts  $\frac{2}{7}$   $6_{7}$  and 9 shall have four county judges.

- 2 Districts 1, 7, 8, and 10 shall have three county judges.
- 3 Judge of the county court shall include any person
- 4 appointed to the office of county judge or municipal judge prior
- 5 to July 1, 1985, pursuant to Article V, section 21, of the
- 6 Constitution of Nebraska.
- 7 Any person serving as a municipal judge in district 3 or
- 8 4 immediately prior to July 1, 1985, shall be a judge of the county
- 9 court and shall be empowered to hear only those cases as provided
- 10 in section 24-517 which the presiding judge of the county court
- 11 for such district, with the concurrence of the Supreme Court, shall
- 12 direct.
- Sec. 3. Section 43-2,119, Reissue Revised Statutes of
- 14 Nebraska, is amended to read:
- 15 43-2,119 (1) The number of judges of the separate
- 16 juvenile court in counties which have established a separate
- 17 juvenile court shall be:
- 18 (a) Two judges in counties having seventy-five thousand
- 19 inhabitants but less than two hundred thousand inhabitants;
- 20 (b) Four judges in counties having at least two
- 21 hundred thousand inhabitants but less than four hundred thousand
- 22 inhabitants; and
- 23 (c) Five Six judges in counties having four hundred
- 24 thousand inhabitants or more.
- 25 (2) The senior judge in point of service as a juvenile

1 court judge shall be the presiding judge. The judges shall rotate

- 2 the office of presiding judge every three years unless the judges
- 3 agree to another system.
- 4 Sec. 4. This act becomes operative on July 1, 2009.
- 5 Sec. 5. Original sections 24-301.02, 24-503, and
- 6 43-2,119, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, are repealed.
- 7 Sec. 6. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect
- 8 when passed and approved according to law.