ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 55

Introduced by McDonald, 41

WHEREAS, the St. Edward Beavers won the 2007 Class D-2 Boys' State Basketball Championship; and

WHEREAS, first-year coach Aaron Martin and the St. Edward Beavers won the first state title in school history; and

WHEREAS, Evan Carlstrom, Jeremy Cruise, and Shavontae Samuels were named to the 2007 Class D-2 All-Tournament Team; and

WHEREAS, Jeremy Cruise scored 50 points in three games, Shavontae Samuels scored 46 points in three games, and Evan Carlstrom scored 39 points in three games, giving St. Edward the top three scoring leaders in Class D-2; and

WHEREAS, the entire St. Edward team, coaching staff, and student managers should be recognized for their excellent teamwork in achieving a 24-2 record in 2007; and

WHEREAS, the family members, friends, and fans have supported the St. Edward Beavers with dedication and devotion throughout the school year.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

1. That the Legislature congratulates the team members, managers, and coaches of the St. Edward Beavers for their achievement in winning the 2007 Class D-2 Boys' State Basketball

-1-

Championship.

2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to Coach Martin and his team.