ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2008

COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB856

Hearing Date: January 23, 2008

Committee On: Government, Military and Veterans Affairs

Introducer(s): (Lautenbaugh)

Title: Provide for special congressional elections in case of multiple vacancies

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Placed on General File

Vote Results:

7 Yes Senators Adams, Aguilar, Avery, Friend, Karpisek,

Lautenbaugh, Rogert

0 No

1 Absent Senators Pahls

0 Present, not voting

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Scott Lautenbaugh Introducer

Neal Erickson Secretary of State

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Sandra Stelling Clerks/Register of Deeds/Election

Commissioners Association

Summary of purpose and/or change:

LB 856 provides for special congressional elections when there are more than 100 vacancies in the House of Representatives. When such extraordinary circumstances exist, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives will make an announcement requiring special elections. If there is a vacancy in the office of Representatives in Congress representing Nebraska, the Governor will issue a writ of election. The writ will specify that the date of the special election will be held within 49 days after the Speaker's announcement.

Each political party which polled at least 5% of the vote in the district in which the vacancy occurs may select a candidate. Such candidate will have his or her name placed on the ballot with the appropriate political party designation. The certificate and filing fee will be submitted within seven days after notification by the Secretary of State.

For residents of Nebraska who live overseas, a ballot will be transmitted to such voters within 15 days after the Speaker's announcement and will be accepted if received by the election commissioner or county clerk within 45 days after transmission to the voter.

The candidate who receives the most votes will serve for the remainder of the vacated term.

Explanation of amendments, if any:	
	Senator Ray Aguilar, Chairperson