AMENDMENTS TO LB 268

Introduced by Government, Military and Veterans Affairs.

1 1. Strike original section 2 and insert the following new 2 section: Sec. 2. Section 32-528, Reissue Revised Statutes of 3 Nebraska, is amended to read: 4 5 32-528 (1) In counties having a county board of three 6 commissioners, two commissioners shall be elected at the statewide 7 general election in 1994 and each four years thereafter, and one 8 commissioner shall be elected at the statewide general election in 1996 and each four years thereafter. In counties having a 9 10 county board of five commissioners, three commissioners shall be 11 elected at the statewide general election in 1994 and each four 12 years thereafter, and two commissioners shall be elected at the 13 statewide general election in 1996 and each four years thereafter. In counties having a county board of seven or more commissioners, 14 15 one commissioner shall be elected in each odd-numbered commissioner district at the statewide general election in 1994 and each 16 17 four years thereafter, and one commissioner shall be elected in 18 each even-numbered commissioner district at the statewide general 19 election in 1996 and each four years thereafter.

20 (2) Except for commissioners first elected after the 21 county adopts the commissioner form of government or has increased 22 the number of commissioners, the term of each county commissioner 23 shall be four years or until his or her successor is elected

-1-

AM1515 LB268 MMM-11/08/2007

and qualified. At the first election held to choose the board of 1 2 commissioners in any county having three commissioners, the person 3 having the highest number of votes shall serve for four years and 4 the two receiving the next highest number of votes shall serve 5 for two years, and if any three or more persons have the same number of votes, their terms of office shall be determined by the 6 7 county canvassing board. The county commissioners shall meet the 8 qualifications found in section 23-150. Nothing in this section 9 shall be construed to prohibit the reelection of a commissioner 10 holding office if the commissioner is reelected to represent his or 11 her respective district. The county commissioners shall be elected 12 on the partisan ballot.

13 (3) (a) In counties having not more than three hundred 14 <u>one hundred fifty</u> thousand inhabitants, one commissioner shall be 15 nominated and elected from each district by the registered voters 16 of the district.

17 (b) Until 2010, except that in counties having a 18 population of more than one hundred fifty thousand but not more 19 than three hundred thousand inhabitants, one commissioner shall be nominated from each district by the registered voters of the 20 21 district and shall be elected by the registered voters of the 22 entire county. Beginning in 1992 in 2010 in counties having a 23 population of more than one hundred fifty thousand but not more than three hundred thousand inhabitants, one commissioner shall be 24 25 nominated and elected from each district by the registered voters 26 of the district as provided in subsection (5) of this section.

27 (c) In counties having more than three hundred thousand

-2-

AM1515 LB268 MMM-11/08/2007 AM1515 LB268 MMM-11/08/2007

inhabitants, one commissioner shall be nominated and elected from
each district by the registered voters of the district.

3 (4) In counties in which a majority has voted to have 4 five commissioners as provided in section 23-148, the three 5 commissioners of such county whose terms of office will expire after the election shall continue in office until the expiration of 6 7 the terms for which they were elected and until their successors 8 are elected and qualified. Two commissioners shall be appointed 9 pursuant to section 32-567 to serve until the first Thursday after 10 the first Tuesday in January following the next statewide general 11 election. At the next statewide general election, commissioners 12 shall be elected to fill the positions of any commissioners appointed under this section. At the first primary election after 13 14 such appointments, filings shall be accepted for terms of two years 15 and for terms of four years so that two commissioners will be 16 elected to four-year terms at one election and three commissioners 17 will be elected to four-year terms at the next election.

18 (5) In counties having more than one hundred fifty 19 thousand but not more than three hundred thousand inhabitants which are changing from nominating by district and electing 20 21 at large to nominating and electing by district as provided 22 in subdivision (3) (b) of this section, the three commissioners 23 whose terms of office will expire in 1995 shall continue in 24 office until the expiration of the terms for which they were 25 elected and until their successors are elected and qualified. 26 At the primary election in 1992, 2010, one commissioner in such 27 counties shall be nominated from each odd-numbered district. At

-3-

AM1515 LB268 MMM-11/08/2007

the ensuing general election, one commissioner shall be elected 1 2 from each odd-numbered district. At the primary election in $\frac{1994_7}{100}$ 3 2012, one commissioner in such counties shall be nominated from each even-numbered district. At the ensuing general election, one 4 5 commissioner shall be elected from each even-numbered district. Beginning in 1992, each commissioner in such counties shall hold 6 7 office for four years or until his or her successor is elected 8 and qualified. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to 9 prohibit the reelection of a commissioner holding office in 1992 or 10 1994 if such commissioner is reelected to represent the district in 11 which he or she resides.