Ninety-Ninth Legislature - Second Session - 2006
' Committee Statement
| LB 999

Hearing Date: January 25, 2006
Committee On: Health and Human Services

Introducer(s): (Brown, Baker, Howard)
Title: Change provisions relating to training requirements for providers of child care and
program licensure

Roll Call Vote — Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File
Advanced to General File with Amendments

X Indefinitely Postponed

Vote Results:
5 Yes Senator Cunningham, Erdman, Stuthman, Johnson and Howard
No
1 Present, not voting Senator Jensen
1  Absent Byars
Proponents: Representing:
Senator Brown Introducer
Marcia Corr Nebraska Department of Education/State Board
of Education
Kathy Bigsby Moore Voices for Children in Nebraska
Opponents: Representing:
Neutral: Representing:
Dick Nelson Nebraska Health and Human Services System
Randy Jones American Red Cross

Summary of purpose and/or changes: LB 999 relates to training for providers of child care
programs and the licensure of such programs.

Section 2 adds the following new training requirements for providers of child care and
school-age care programs:

The following minimum annual training requirements would apply to program directors,
onsite supervisors and staff employed twenty or more hours per week:

1. training in specified topic areas, and

2. maintaining current certification in infant, child, and adult CPR and first aid.

Committee Statement: LB 999
Health and Human Services Committee
Page 1



At least 8 hours of the training must be taught personally by a trainer, and may include
distance learning technology. The Early Childhood Training Center (center) must develop
training materials and procedures and identify recommended preparations and qualifications for
effective trainers.

Remaining hours may be obtained through self-study using materials approved by the
center or an accredited postsecondary educational institution.

Training requirements are waived for the first year of employment if required training or
equivalent has been obtained within six months of commencing employment. Requirements do
not apply to programs that exclusively offer before-and-after-school services for children
enrolled in kindergarten through grade twelve.

A minimum of twelve (12) hours of training are required before July 1, 2007. Sixteen
(16) hours are required from July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008. Twenty (20) hours are required on
and after July 1, 2008.

The following minimum annual training requirements would apply to program staff
employed less than twenty hours per week:

1. training in specified topic areas, and

2. maintaining current certification in infant, child, and adult CPR and first aid.

At least 6 hours of the training must be taught personally by a trainer, and may include
distance learning technology. The Early Childhood Training Center (center) must develop
training materials and procedures and identify recommended preparations and qualifications for
effective trainers.

Remaining hours may be obtained through self-study using materials approved by the
center or an accredited postsecondary educational institution.

Training requirements are waived for the first year of employment if required training or
equivalent has been obtained within six months of commencing employment. Requirements do
not apply to programs that exclusively offer before-and-after-school services for children
enrolled in kindergarten through grade twelve.

A minimum of six (6) hours of training are required before July 1, 2007. Eight (8) hours
are required from July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008. Twelve (12) hours are required on and after July
1, 2008.

The bill requires the department to coordinate with the State Department of Education to
provide or arrange for statewide training opportunities. All programs licensed by the department
under section 71-1911 would be subject to the training requirement. Social security numbers
would be required of each director, onsite supervisor, and staff of licensed programs.

Section 3 requires tiered licensure of child care and early childhood education programs
licensed under sections 71-1908 to 71-1917. The department is required to establish a two-tiered
licensure system, except for programs that exclusively offer before-and-after-school services for
children enrolled in kindergarten through grade twelve.

Tier I consists of programs that meet Tier II licensing requirements, have a history of
compliance, and meet additional quality criteria established by the department that are
reasonably calculated to influence program quality.

Tier II consists of programs that meet minimum applicable licensing requirements.

“Deemed status” is recognized for Tier I licensure. A Tier I program with deemed status
must notify the department if accreditation or certification has been sanctioned, modified,
terminated, or withdrawn. After the notice, the program may continue to operate as a Tier II
program unless the department determines that the facility or services no longer meets applicable
licensing standards.
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The department must issue a certificate to each licensed program, indicating the tier
under which the program is licensed, and such certificate must be posted in a prominent place on
the licensed premises.

The department must adopt and promulgate rules and regulations on or before July 1,
2007.

Section 4 amends and harmonizes provisions in section 79-1102 relating to the Early
Childhood Training Center.

Explanation of amendments, if any:

Senator Jim Jensen, Chairperson
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