Ninety-Ninth Legislature - Second Session - 2006
' Committee Statement
' LB 925

Hearing Date: January 19, 2006
Committee On: Judiciary

Introducer(s): (Friend, Erdman, Kruse, Burling)
Title: Change penalty provisions relating to motor vehicle homicide and driving under the
influence

Roll Call Vote — Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File
X Advanced to General File with Amendments

Indefinitely Postponed

Vote Results:

7  Yes Senators Aguilar, Bourne, Combs, Flood, Foley, Friend, Pedersen

No
Present, not voting

1  Absent Senator Chambers
Proponents: Representing:
Senator Mike Friend Introducer
Corey O’Brien Nebraska Attorney General’s Office
Simera Reynolds Mothers Against Drunk Driving
Paul Ramirez Self
Lisa Wanek Self
Cindy Wanek Self
Cyndee McCarthy Self
Bob Schmill Matt’s Dream
Jerry Stanton Ignition Interlock of lowa & Nebraska Inc.
Tim Hoeft Nebraska County Attorneys Association
Opponents: Representing:
John Jorgensen Lancaster County Public Defender
Neutral: Representing:
Diane Riibe self

Summary of purpose and/or changes:
Legislative Bill 925 proposes a number of changes to the statutes relating to drunk driving, motor
vehicle homicide and leaving the scene of an accident.
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MOTOR VECHILE HOMICIDE

o Increases the penalty for the offense of motor vehicle homicide when the defendant was driving
under the influence (DUI) or driving on a suspended license as a result of a DUI conviction from
a class Illa (0-5) to a class III felony (1-20). The minimum period of license suspension for this
offense is increased from 60 days to 1 year.

e The penalty for motor vehicle homicide is increased from a class III (1-20) to a class ID Felony
(3-50) when the defendant was driving under the influence (DUI) or driving on a suspended
license as a result of a DUI conviction and also has a prior conviction for DUI or driving under
suspension. The minimum period of license suspension for this offense is increased from one to
fifteen years.

e Allows the use of blood taken from a driver for medical purposes to be introduced as evidence in
drunk driving, manslaughter and motor vehicle homicide prosecutions

LEAVING THE SCENE OF AN ACCIDENT

e Increases the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident involving an unattended vehicle from a
Class III (0-3 months) to a Class I misdemeanor (0-1 year).

e Increases the penalty leaving the scene of an accident if the person has a prior conviction from a
Class II misdemeanor (0-6 months) to a Class IV felony (0-5 years)

e Increases the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident resulting in injury or death from a Class
I misdemeanor (0-1 year) to a Class Illa felony (0-5 years). The mandatory license revocation
period is increased from no more than one year to at least one year and not more than fifteen
years.

e [Extends from 12 to 20 years the time period in which a prior conviction for leaving the scene of
an accident can be used to enhance a current offense.

e Imposes a duty on drivers to ascertain the identity of all persons involved in an accident resulting
in injury or death to any person.

DRIVING UNDER THE INFUENCE

e Extends from 12 to 20 years the time period in which a conviction for DUI can be used to
enhance a current offense.

e Increases the penalties for driving under the influence if the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC)
exceeds .15 percent. The penalty is increased over the current law as indicated in the attached
chart.
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Creates new offenses and increases penalties for offenders convicted of three or more DUI
offenses over a twenty (20) year period.

Increases penalties for repeat DUI offenders and offenders convicted of driving with blood
alcohol content (B.A.C.) of .15 or above.

Allows the use of blood taken from a driver for medical purposes to be introduced as evidence in
drunk driving, manslaughter and motor vehicle homicide prosecutions

Specifies that the drug and alcohol assessment currently required for persons convicted of drunk
driving must be performed by a licensed alcohol and drug counselor

Prohibits individuals who commit motor vehicle homicide or driving under the influence while
under prosecution for a different DUI charge from receiving probation

Explanation of amendments, if any:

The committee amendment to LB 925 changes the bill in the following ways:

L.

Removes the extension in the look back period for enhancing DUI convictions from 12 to 20
years.

Adds language to the DUI statutes allowing the use of continuous alcohol monitoring devices in
situations where ignition interlock devices are currently allowed.

Scales back the penalty increases for DUI, Motor Vehicle Homicide and Leaving the Scene of an accident
involving property damage. The 6 offense DUI penalty was removed from the bill and the penalties for
2nd, 3", 4™ and 5™ offense and the accompanying high BAC enhancements were reduced. The following
charts indicate the changes made by the committee amendment, and compares them to current law. (See
attached Charts)

Senator Patrick J. Bourne, Chairperson
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Non-DUI Penalty Provisions — Current Law v. LB 925 Committee Amendment
Shaded rows represent the provisions of the proposed committee amendment

Motor Vehicle Leaving the Scene - Leaving the Scene -
Homicide Property Damage Injury
Criminal Current Law Class I1Ia Felony | Class III Misdemeanor | Class I Misdemeanor
Penalty 1% 0-5 years 0-90 days in jail and/or 0-1 year and/or
Offense $500 fine $1000 fine
Committee Class III Felony | Class II Misdemeanor Class I1Ia Felony
Amendment 0-20 years 0-180 days in jail 0-5 years
and/or $1000 fine
Criminal Current Law Class III Felony | Class II Misdemeanor -
Penalty 2™ 0-20 years 0-180 days in jail
offense and/or $1000 fine
Committee Class II Felony Class I Misdemeanor -
Amendment 1-50 years 0-1 year and/or $1000
fine
License Current Law 60 days 30 days to 1 year Not more than 1 year
Revocation
1* Offense Committee 1 year 1 year 1-15 years
Amendment
License Current Law 60 days to 15 - -
Revocation years
2" Offense Committee 15 years - -

Amendment




DUI Penalty Chart for LB 925 Committee Amendment

Unshaded rows represent current law and shaded rows contain the provisions of the committee amendment

Offense First First Second Second Third Third Fourth Fourth Fifth Fifth High
High BAC High BAC High BAC High BAC BAC
Blood Current >.08 - >.08 >.16 >.08 >.16 >.08 - - -
Alcohol Law
level Comm >..08 >.15 >.08 >.15 >.08 >.15 >.08 >.15 >.08 >15
Am
Criminal Current Class W - Class W Class I Class W Class I Class IV - - -
Offense Law Misdemeanor Misdemeanor | Misdemeanor | Misdemeanor | Misdemeanor Felony 0-5
7-60 days 30-180 days & 0-1 year, 30 90 days — 1 0-1 year, 30 years, 10 day
$500 fine $500 fine day minimum year & $500 day minimum | minimum and
& up to $1000 fine & up to $1000 | up to $10,000
fine fine fine
Comm Class W Class W Class W Class I Class W Class Illa Class Illa Class III Class III Class II
Am Misdemeanor | Misdemeanor | Misdemeanor | Misdemeanor | Misdemeanor, Felony 0-5 Felony 0-5 Felony 1-20 Felony 1-20 Felony 1-50
7-60 days & 7-60 days & 30-180 days & 0-1 year, 90 90 days — 1 years, 180 day | years, 180 day | years, 1 year years, 1 year years
$500 fine $500 fine $500 fine day minimum year & $500 minimum and [ minimum and | minimum and | minimum and
& up to $1000 fine up to $10,000 | up to $10,000 | up to $25,000 | up to $25,000
fine fine fine fine fine
License Current 6 Mo. - 1 Year 1-15 Years 15 Years 1-15 Years 15 Years - - -
Revocation Law
Period C
omm 6 Mo. 1 Year 1 Year 1-15 Years 15 Years 15 Years 15 Years 15 years 15 years 15 years
Am
Penalty if Current 60 day - 1 year license 1-15 year 1 year license 1-15 year 1 year license - - -
m?a: Law license revocation, license revocation, license revocation,
. revocation & $500 & 5 days revocation, $600 & 10 revocation, $1000 & 10
probation $400 injailor240 | $1000& 10 | daysinjailor | $1000& 10 | days in jail or
or hours days in jail or 480 hours days in jail or 480 hours
mcmﬁﬁ-amm community 240 hours community 240 hours community
sentence service community service community service
service service
Comm 60 day 1 year license 1 year license 1-15 year 15 year license | 15 year license | 15 year license | 15 year license | 15 year license | 15 year license
Am license revocation, revocation, license revocation, revocation, revocation, revocation, revocation, revocation,
revocation & $500 & 10 $500 & 10 revocation, $600 & 30 $1000 & 60 $1000 & 60 $1000 & 90 $1000 & 180 $1000 & 180
$400 days in jail or | days in jail or $1000 & 30 days in jail days in jail days 1in jail days in jail days in jail days in jail
240 hours 240 hours days in jail
community community
service service




