Ninety-Ninth Legislature - First Session - 2005
' Committee Statement
' LB 579

Hearing Date: February 7, 2005
Committee On: Education

Introducer(s): (Raikes)
Title: Change provisions relating to schools

Roll Call Vote — Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

X Advanced to General File with Amendments

Indefinitely Postponed

Vote Results:

7  Yes Senators Bourne, Byars, Howard, Kopplin, Raikes, Schrock, and

Stuhr

0 No

1 Present, not voting Senator McDonald

0 Absent
Proponents: Representing:
Tammy Barry On behalf of Senator Ron Raikes — Introducer
Brian Halstead Nebraska Department of Education
Russ Inbody Nebraska Department of Education
Opponents: Representing:
Neutral: Representing:
Jim Cunningham Nebraska Catholic Conference

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

Legislative Bill 579 is the Department of Education technical bill for 2005. The measure would
clarify or make minor revisions to provisions for exempt schools, student transportation,
residency, option enrollment, school district reporting requirements, reorganization incentives,
reorganizing educational service units, and the Early Childhood Training Center. Substantive
changes would include allowing State Board of Education members to be candidates for state
offices, reducing the time a district would be allowed to contract for the instruction of all
students from 3 years to 2 years, and a requirement for districts to provide transportation
allowances to parents of students who live more than 3 miles from the pick up point for
transportation provided by the school. A public hearing requirement would be eliminated for
itemized estimates for environmental hazards, accessibility barrier elimination, or modifications
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for life safety code violations, indoor air quality, or mold abatement and prevention. The
sections regarding the Diagnostic Resource Center in Cozad would be outright repealed. A
section that requires all schools within the limits of cities of the metropolitan class to be under
the control of the Class V school district would also be outright repealed.

Section 43-2007 would be amended by requiring the parents and guardians of students enrolled
in exempt schools to provide a certified copy of the student’s birth certificate or other reliable
proof of the student’s identity and age upon enrollment, instead of by October 1st of the first year
of the child’s attendance.

In § 60-658, the definition of school bus would be amended by replacing a reference to the 1990
Revised Edition of the National Standards for School Buses and National Standards for School
Bus Operations from the National Safety Council with a reference to requirements adopted and
promulgated pursuant to § 79-318(13), which requires the State Board of Education to adopt and
promulgate rules and regulations for vehicles used to transport school children. The definition
would also be amended by referring to requirements for general design, equipment, and color,
instead of the current color and identification requirements. This change makes the definition
consistent with the State Board of Education requirement in § 79-318(13).

Section 79-215 would be amended by clarifying that the state or a court must be the party who
places a ward of the state or court in a school district other than the resident school district or an
institution for the cost of education to be paid by the state. Clarification is also added stating that
a state ward only remains a resident of the district in which he or she resided when they became
a ward until he or she is no longer a ward.

Section 79-233 would be amended by broadening the definition of resident school district for
purposes of the enrollment option program to include the school district in which the student is
admitted as a resident of the school district pursuant to § 79-215. Section 79-215 provides for
students to be considered resident students in certain circumstances when they do not reside in
the school district. Some of those circumstances include the school district in which a state ward
lived prior to becoming a ward and being placed in a setting other than a foster family home and
the school district in which a non-custodial parent lives.

Section 79-234 would be amended by providing procedures for students who are allowed to
option for a second time due to relocation, merger of the option school district, or the option
school district’s status as a Class I school district. The student’s parent or guardian would be
required to submit an application to the new option school district within 30 days of the date of a
relocation or the effective date of a merger. If the option school district is a Class I school
district, applications would be subject to the deadlines and requirements of § 79-237. Parents
and guardians would not be relieved from the compulsory attendance requirements in § 79-210
during the pendency of the application or approval.

Section 79-237 would be amended by requiring applications submitted after March 15" to have a
release approval from the resident school district to be approved by the option school district. A
deadline of 60 days following submission of the application is added for the option school
district to notify the resident school district and the parents or guardians of the acceptance or
rejection for applications submitted after March 15", For cancellations, the parent or guardian
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would be required to provide the notification in writing to the option and resident school districts
on a form prescribed by the department in advance of the cancellation. A requirement that the
notification be provided by March 15™ for automatic approval is removed.

Section 79-238 would be amended by requiring school boards to adopt standards and conditions
for the approval or disapproval of a release of a resident student submitting an application after
March 15"

Section 79-239 would be amended by requiring written notifications of rejections by either an
option or resident school district to be sent by certified mail. A written request and copy of the
rejection notice would be required for a parent or guardian to appeal a rejection to the State
Board of Education.

Section 79-240 would be amended by deleting a provision allowing the resident and option
school district to agree to waive deadlines for applications and for approvals or rejections. The
agreement would be achieved if both districts waive the deadlines. A provision for siblings of
option students to continue attending the option school district is also deleted.

Section 79-313 would be amended by eliminating a prohibition against State Board of Education
members being candidates for state office or boards or commissions that are not limited to an
advisory capacity.

Section 79-318 would be amended by expanding the application of requirements for vehicles
used to transport school children to include vehicles owned, operated, or contracted by any
public, private, denominational, or parochial school. Currently, the State Board of Education is
required to adopt rules and regulations for vehicles owned, operated, or contracted by school
districts. The rules and regulations would not be applicable to vehicles owned by individuals
operating exempt schools.

Section 79-528 would be amended by requiring census reports to be filed with the Commissioner
of Education, instead of the Department of Education. The requirement to identify the number
of boys and the number of girls in each age category would be eliminated. The requirements for
the annual statistical summary and annual financial report to be filed under oath are eliminated.
The fall school district membership report would be filed with the Commissioner of Education,
instead of being filed with the department.

Section 79-598 would be amended by reducing the amount of time a school district may contract
out all of their students from 3 years to 2 years. A provision would be removed requiring an
enrollment of at least 5 pupils and an application to the state committee before reopening a
school district that has contracted for instruction for 2 or more years

Section 79-606 would be amended by replacing the terms “children” and “school children” with
“students.”

Section 79-608 would be amended by replacing a requirement for a special school bus operator’s
permit to be obtained before the opening of a school term or before operating a school bus with a
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requirement for special school bus operator’s permits to expire each year on the birth date of the
holder.

Section 79-611 would be amended by recognizing that a school board may partially provide free
transportation to students. The determination of whether or not a student lives more than 4 miles
from the school would be measured by the shortest route that must actually and necessarily be
traveled by motor vehicle to reach the student’s residence. When a student qualifies for free
transportation or the allowance for transportation and lives more than 3 miles from the location
where the student must be picked up and dropped off for school-provided free transportation, the
school-provided transportation would be deemed partially provided free transportation. Schools
partially providing free transportation shall pay an allowance to the student’s parent or guardian
equal to 285% of the mileage rate provided in § 81-1176 multiplied by each mile actually and
necessarily traveled beyond which the one-way distance from the residence to the pick up and
drop off location off exceeds 3 miles. This rate is the same as the general transportation
allowance paid when no free transportation is provided.

Section 79-1003 would be amended by specifically including unifies systems in the definition of
local system.

Section 79-1010 would be amended by allowing school districts to pay back reorganization
incentives in a period of 5 years or less as agreed to by the school district and the department.
Currently, incentives are paid back over 5 years. The department would be required to take into
consideration the ability of the school district to repay incentives in the fewest number of years
and meet the educational needs of the students.

Section 79-1011 would be amended by extending the period for the State Committee for the
Reorganization of School Districts to approve incentive payments from 30 to 40 days.

Section 79-1092 would be amended by eliminating a cross reference to § 79-535, which would
be outright repealed.

Section 79-10,110 would be amended by eliminating a requirement for school boards to conduct
a public hearing on the itemized estimates for environmental hazards, accessibility barrier
elimination, or modifications for life safety code violations, indoor air quality, or mold
abatement and prevention prior to presenting such estimate to the county clerk.

Section 79-1102 would be amended by requiring the Department of Education to designate an
educational service unit to operate an Early Childhood Training Center. Currently, the center is
required to be established under the jurisdiction of the Department of Education.

Section 79-1110 would be amended by eliminating sections that would be outright repealed from
the Special Education Act.

Section 79-1212 would be amended by replacing a requirement for the Commissioner of
Education to call a meeting of the board members of each educational service units that is being
reorganized with a requirement for a meeting of each of the boards of those educational service
units called by the president of the respective boards.
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Section 79-1601 would be amended by replacing the terms “pupils” and “children” with
“students.” Clarification is also added that individuals utilized, but not employed, by exempt
schools are not required to meet certification requirements.

Section 79-1606 would be amended by replacing the term “pupils” with “students.”

Section 85-607 would be amended by replacing the term “child” with “student.”

Outright Repeals

Section 79-535 would be outright repealed. The section provides that all schools within the
limits of cities of the metropolitan class shall be under the direction and control of the board of
education of the Class V school district.

Sections 79-1168 to 79-1178 would be outright repealed. These sections provide for the
Diagnostic Resource Center in Cozad.

Explanation of amendments, if any:

The Committee Amendments would increase the maximum fees for entry-level certificates by
$10 from $45 to $55 for certificates valid in all schools and from $30 to $40 for certificates valid
only in nonpublic schools. The amendments also clarify that repayment of reorganization
incentives takes place over 5 years, unless the school district and the department agree to a
shorter time frame. A grammatical correction is made to existing provisions regarding the
application of general school laws to private, denominational, and parochial schools.

Senator Ron Raikes, Chairperson

Committee Statement: LB 579
Education Committee
Page 5



