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Hearing Date:  January 20, 2005 
Committee On:  Natural Resources 
 
Introducer(s): (Stuhr, Schrock) 
Title: Change Game Law provisions relating to permits, stamps, and fees 
 
Roll Call Vote � Final Committee Action: 
 

 Advanced to General File 

X Advanced to General File with Amendments 

 Indefinitely Postponed 

Vote Results: 
7 Yes Senators Hudkins, Kopplin, Kremer, Louden, McDonald, 

Schrock, Stuhr 
0 No  
0 Present, not voting  
1 Absent Senator Smith 

 
Proponents: Representing: 
Senator Elaine Stuhr Introducer 
Mark Brohman Game and Parks Commission 
Wes Sheets Nebraska Division of Izaak Walton League 
 
Opponents: Representing: 
None  
 
Neutral: Representing: 
None  
 
Summary of purpose and/or changes:  
 
LB 162 does the following: 
 
Section 2 Eliminates the expiration exemption for residents over the age of 69. 
  These permits are now an annual permit costing $5.00. 
 
Section 3 Adds a new one-day fishing permit. Current law provides for three-day and 

annual permits. 
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 Adds a new two-day nonresident hunting permit between the fourth Wednesday 
of November and the end of December; only one such permit per person per year 
is allowed. 

 Establishes a fee for the one-day permit between $5.00 and $8.00. 
 Establishes a fee for the two-day permit between $25.00 and $35.00 plus the cost 

of the habitat stamp, which is currently $13.00. 
 Establishes a fee for a nonresident one-day permit between $6.00 and $9.00. 
 
Section 4 Establish a Nebraska migratory waterfowl stamp. 
 
Section 5 Lowers the low end of the fee range for existing resident lifetime permits to 

$125.00.  The low end currently is $260.00.  Requires that a lifetime aquatic 
habitat stamp be purchased with a lifetime fishing and combination permit. 

 Clarifies that a resident lifetime permit is valid even if the resident moves out of 
state. 

 Creates nonresident lifetime fishing, hunting and combination permits.  The fee 
for a nonresident lifetime hunting permit shall be between $625.00 and $1,250.00; 
the fee for lifetime fishing shall be between $450.00 and $850.00 plus the cost of 
a lifetime aquatic stamp; the fee for combination shall be between $975.00 and 
$2,000.00 plus the cost of the lifetime aquatic stamp. 

 Clarifies the replacement of resident and nonresident lifetime permits. 
 Grants the Game and Parks Commission authority to cease offering these permits 

and to establish a sliding scale fee price on lifetime permits based on the age of 
the applicant. 

 
Section 6 Requires an aquatic habitat stamp and Nebraska migratory waterfowl stamp for 

lifetime permit purchasers. 
 
Section 7 Broadens the definition of a disabled veteran to include general, under honorable 

conditions, discharge personnel.  Establishes that existing permits are 
grandfathered. 

 
Section 8 Establishes a $5.00 veteran�s permit that begins at age 64.  A resident over the age 

of 69 (instead of 70) would be allowed a permit for a fee of $5.00.  Existing 
permits are grandfathered. 

 
Section 9 (1) Requires all licensed anglers to possess an aquatic habitat stamp, issued 

with fishing permits; requires Nebraska residents over the age of 16 and all 
nonresident migratory waterfowl hunters to possess a Nebraska migratory 
waterfowl stamp. 
(2)       Allows the Commission to issue a lifetime habitat stamp to  
nonresidents.  The price is the same as residents. 
(3)       Establishs a lifetime aquatic habitat stamp with a range of 
$75.00 to $125.00, and allows duplicates to be issued. 
(4)       Grandfathers a person who purchased their lifetime fish or  
lifetime combination hunting and fishing permits before January 1, 2006, so that 
they are not required to buy an aquatic habitat stamp. 
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(5)        The aquatic habitat stamp will be printed on the permits.  The 
aquatic habitat stamp will costs between $5.00 and $7.50 for the annual, three-day 
or combination hunting and fishing permits; between $75.00 and $100.00 for a 
lifetime permit; and $1.00 from the daily fishing permit goes to the Nebraska 
Aquatic Habitat Fund.  The Nebraska migratory waterfowl stamp will cost 
between $5.00 and $10.00. 
 

Section 10 Establishes that the Nebraska migratory waterfowl stamp is non-transferable and 
that the lifetime aquatic habitat stamp does not expire on December 31. 

 
Section 11 Adds migratory waterfowl to the list of species requiring a permit and 
  appropriate stamp. 
 
Section 12 Adds the Nebraska migratory waterfowl stamp to the aquatic and 

habitat stamp issuance provisions. 
 
Section 13 Requires that the Nebraska migratory waterfowl stamp fees be placed 

in the Nebraska Habitat Fund; requires $1.00 of the one-day fishing permit cost 
and the lifetime aquatic permit fees be placed in the Nebraska Aquatic Habitat 
Fund; and adds the Nebraska migratory waterfowl stamp to the list of stamps for 
which officials are liable. 
 

Section 14 All money received from the sale of Nebraska migratory waterfowl  
stamps shall be used for the acquisition on a willing-seller willing-buyer basis 
only, leasing, development, management or enhancement of and taking of 
easements on migratory waterfowl habitat, and can be used for the matching of 
federal funds. 
 

Section 15 Provides for an increase in the daily park entry fee from $3.00 per  
day, to $3.50 in 2006 and $4.00 in 2007. 
 

Section 16 Establish the cost of the statewide buck-only permit at two and one- 
half times the amount of the regular deer permit. 

 
Section 17 Clarifies that one-in-a-lifetime limit on elk permits applies only to  

antlered elk. 
 
Section 18 Allows persons under the age of 12 to hunt wild turkey. 
 
Section 19 Allows the Commission to issue auction or lottery permits for deer, 
  antelope, elk and wild turkey, but no more than five percent of the 
  available permits. 
 
Section 20 Requires a person under the age of 12 hunting wild turkey to be 

 accompanied by a person 21 years of age or older. 
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Section 21 Allows a disabled person with a special permit to hunt and fish from a  
vehicle. 

 
Explanation of amendments, if any:  
 
The Committee amendment clarifies that permits that have been issued to veterans who have 
been rated as fifty percent or more disabled or have reached the age of 65 and obtained a free 
permit prior to the adoption of this bill will not expire nor will the permit expire that a person 70 
years old has obtained prior to the act. 
 
It also requires that a person between the ages of 12 and 15 years of age that is hunting deer, 
antelope, elk or mountain sheep be accompanied by a person who in addition to being at least 21 
years old, must also have a valid hunting permit.  This requirement is also placed on individuals 
who are accompanying a person 12 years old or younger who is hunting wild turkey. 
 
The amendment raises the permit fee for a non-resident to hunt wild turkey from between $65.00 
and $75.00 to between $85.00 and $95.00. 
 
 
 
 
        

 Senator Ed Schrock, Chairperson 
 


