Ninety-Ninth Legislature - Second Session - 2006
' Committee Statement
| LB 1151

Hearing Date: February 6, 2006
Committee On: Transportation and Telecommunications

Introducer(s): (Cornett, Pahls)
Title: Provide for Firefighter Plates and funds for training emergency personnel

Roll Call Vote — Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

X Advanced to General File with Amendments

Indefinitely Postponed
Vote Results:
6 Yes Senators Smith, Dw. Pedersen, Baker, Foley, Stuthman and
Aguilar
No
Present, not voting
2 Absent Senators Brown and Hudkins
Proponents: Representing:
Senator Abbie Cornett Introducer, District #45
John L. Stacey Bellevue Fire Department
Dale Tedder Bellevue Volunteer Fire Department
Joseph Bockman Nebraska State Volunteer Firefighters Assn.
Mia Martin Bellevue Volunteer Fire Department
Jerry Stilmock Nebraska State Volunteer Firefighters Assn.
Opponents: Representing:
Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:
The bill would create Firefighter plates.
Section 1 amends §60-301 by adding an internal reference.

Section 2 requires the department to design Firefighter plates in consultation with the State Fire
Marshal. The design shall be selected on the basis of enhancing the plate’s marketability and
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limiting the manufacturing cost. Subsection (2) provides that one type of plates shall be
consecutively numbered and one type shall be personalized plates.

Section 3 allows issuance of firefighter plates only to a qualified applicant. A qualified applicant
is a state resident serving as a volunteer or full-time firefighter in this state. The applicant shall
apply as prescribed by the department. The application shall include a statement signed by the
fire chief of the Nebraska fire department in which the firefighter is serving. Under subsection
(2)(a), the application fee or renewal fee for the Firefighter plates shall be $15. One-third of the
fee collected shall be remitted to the DMV Cash Fund and two-thirds of the fees shall go to the
Firefighter Response Cash Fund. Under subsection (2)(b), the application fee or renewal fee for
the personalized message Firefighter plates is $40. Seventy-five percent of the fees shall to go
the DMV Cash Fund and twenty-five percent shall to go the Firefighter Response Cash Fund.
Subsection (3) provides for issuance of the plates. Subsection (4)(a) allows for transfer of the
plates to another vehicle of the owner. Subsection (4)(b) allows for the credit of the unused fee
portion to the other vehicle. Subsection (4)(c) establishes an application fee of $3 for a transfer.
Under subsection (5), if the cost of making the plates exceeds the amount charged, the Highway
Trust Fund shall be credited before the Firefighter Response Cash Fund.

Section 4 amends §60-393 by adding an internal reference.
Section 5 amends §60-395 by adding an internal reference.
Section 6 amends §60-396 by adding an internal reference.
Section 7 amends §60-3,104 by adding an internal reference.

Section 8 amends §60-3,118 by preventing personalized message plates from denoting a
governmental agency or denoting the listed prohibitions.

Section 9 amends §81-5,151 by making technical changes and requires the State Fire Marshal to
provide training for fire department personnel and other emergency response personnel for
updating, upgrading, and establishing response capabilities. The requirements of training are
listed. The training shall be funded through the Firefighter Response Cash Fund.

Section 10 amends §81-5,157 by striking language regarding the Fire Service and Safety
Training Program and creates the Firefighter Response Fund, which would be funded as
provided in section 3. Under subsection (2), the State Fire Marshal shall administer the fund.
Under subsection (3), the money in the fund shall be invested as provided.

Section 11 provides an operative date of January 1, 2007.

Section 12 contains the repealer clause.
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Explanation of amendments, if any:

The committee amendment AM2235 allows a maximum of six characters to be used on the
license plate and clarifies that the statement signed by the fire chief is only required with the
initial application.

Senator Tom Baker, Chairperson
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