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AMENDMENTS TO LB 896

Introduced by Revenue Committee:

1. Strike the original sections and insert the following1

new sections:2

Section 1. Section 77-2701, Revised Statutes Supplement,3

2005, is amended to read:4

77-2701 Sections 77-2701 to 77-27,135.01, 77-27,222, and5

77-27,228 to 77-27,234 and section 2 of this act shall be known and6

may be cited as the Nebraska Revenue Act of 1967.7

Sec. 2. (1) Any producer of electricity generated by8

a new zero-emission facility shall earn a renewable energy tax9

credit. For electricity generated on or after the effective date10

of this act, and before January 1, 2010, the credit shall be11

.075 cent for each kilowatt-hour of electricity generated by a12

new zero-emission facility. For electricity generated on or after13

January 1, 2010, and before January 1, 2013, the credit shall14

be .05 cent per kilowatt-hour for electricity generated by a15

new zero-emission facility. For electricity generated on or after16

January 1, 2013, and before January 1, 2018, the credit shall be17

.025 cent per kilowatt-hour for electricity generated by a new18

zero-emission facility. The credit may be earned for production19

of electricity for ten years after the date that the facility is20

placed in operation on or after the effective date of this act.21

(2) For purposes of this section:22

(a) Electricity generated by a new zero-emission23
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facility means electricity that is exclusively produced by a new1

zero-emission facility;2

(b) Eligible renewable resources means wind, moving3

water, solar, geothermal, fuel cell, methane gas, or photovoltaic4

technology; and5

(c) New zero-emission facility means an electrical6

generating facility located in this state that is first placed7

into service on or after the effective date of this act with a8

rated production of one megawatt or greater which utilizes eligible9

renewable resources as its fuel source and for which the operation10

of the facility results in no pollution or emissions that are or11

may be harmful to the environment as certified by the Department of12

Environmental Quality.13

(3) The credit allowed under this section may be used to14

reduce the producer’s Nebraska income tax liability or to obtain15

a refund of state sales and use taxes paid by the producer of16

electricity generated by a zero-emission facility. A claim to use17

the credit for refund of the state sales and use taxes paid, either18

directly or indirectly, by the producer may be filed quarterly for19

electricity generated during the previous quarter by the twentieth20

day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter. The21

credit may be used to obtain a refund of state sales and use taxes22

paid during the quarter immediately preceding the quarter in which23

the claim for refund is made, except that the amount refunded under24

this subsection shall not exceed the amount of the state sales and25

use taxes paid during the quarter.26

(4) The Department of Revenue may adopt and promulgate27
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rules and regulations to permit verification of the validity and1

timeliness of any renewable energy tax credit claimed.2

(5) The Department of Environmental Quality may adopt and3

promulgate rules and regulations to certify that the operation of4

a new zero-emission facility results in no pollution or emissions5

that are or may be harmful to the environment.6

(6) The total amount of renewable energy tax credits7

that may be used by all taxpayers shall be limited to four8

hundred thousand dollars without further authorization from the9

Legislature.10

Sec. 3. Original section 77-2701, Revised Statutes11

Supplement, 2005, is repealed.12
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