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Hearing Date:  March 10, 2003 
Committee On:  General Affairs 
 
Introducer(s): (Kruse, Burling, Cudaback, Foley, Jones, McDonald, Dw. Pedersen, Stuthman, 
Vrtiska) 
Title: Provide and change penalties for liquor licensees' and minors' violations 
 
Roll Call Vote – Final Committee Action: 
 

 Advanced to General File 

X Advanced to General File with Amendments 

 Indefinitely Postponed 

Vote Results: 

5 Yes Senators Erdman, Friend, Janssen, Landis, and Schimek 
2 No Senators Connealy and Cunningham 
 Present, not voting  
1 Absent Senator Mossey 

 
Proponents: Representing: 
Senator Kruse Introducer 
Jim Moylan Nebraska Licensed Beverage Association 
Tim Keigher Nebraska Petroleum Marketers and Convenience 

Store Association 
Frosty Chapman Nebraska Liquor Control Commission 

Kathy Siefken Nebraska Grocery Industry Association 
 
Opponents: Representing: 
  
 
Neutral: Representing: 
  
 
Summary of purpose and/or changes:  
 
LB 525 increases the penalties, adds fines, and provides for suspension of the motor vehicle 
operator’s license for certain violations by minors of the Liquor Control Act. 
The bill would change the penalties if a minor misrepresents their age in order to obtain alcoholic 
liquor (53-180.01) or a minor illegally possesses, consumes, sells or dispenses alcoholic liquor 
(53-180.02).  Currently, these violations are a Class III misdemeanor.   
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The bill changes the penalties and adds different fines based on what offense it is.  For the first 
offense, it is a Class III misdemeanor and a $250 fine.  For the second offense, it states that it is a 
$500 fine.  For a third or subsequent offense, it is a Class II misdemeanor and a $750 fine. 
 
In addition, it states that if the court places the person on probation or suspends the sentence for 
any reason, the court must make a condition of their probation or suspension that the person does 
not drive a motor vehicle for 90 days for the first offense and 6 months for the second offense. 
 
Next, in addition to these new penalties, the bill sets out motor vehicle operator’s license 
suspensions for these violations.  The period of the suspension depends upon the violation.  For 
the first violation, the suspension is for 60 days to 6 months.  For the second violation, the 
suspension is for 12 months.  For a third or subsequent violation, the suspension is for 2 years or 
until the violator reaches 21 years of age, whichever occurs later.   Therefore, if someone is age 
18 when found guilty of their third or subsequent violation, the license would be suspended until 
they are 21 years of age since that is later than the two year period.  
 
In subsection (3)(b), the bill sets out what happens if the person does not have an operator’s 
license when convicted or adjudicated as a juvenile.  In most cases, the person would not be 
eligible to apply for an operator’s license for the time periods set out in the subsection.  
However, if the person is not 16 years old, then their license is suspended on the first day of 
issuance for the time specified by the court. 
 
The bill states that an abstract of the court record of every person whose license is suspended by 
these provisions must be sent to the Department of Motor Vehicles.  The violation becomes part 
of their permanent record with the department and cannot be expunged.  In addition, the person 
cannot get their license reinstated following the suspension until they pay a $95 reinstatement 
fee.  $50 of this fee would go to the general fund and the rest to the Department of Motor 
Vehicles Cash Fund. 
 
 
Explanation of amendments, if any:  
 
The committee amendment clarifies the penalties by adding that a second violation is a Class III 
misdemeanor as well as a $500 fine. 
 
The amendment changes it from a suspension of the operator’s license to an impoundment.  
Impoundment involves a court action where a suspension refers to an action by the department.   
 
Next, The amendment also removes the provisions found in subsections (3)(b).  These are the 
provisions regarding the situation when the person is convicted or adjudicated as a juvenile and 
does not yet have their operator’s license.  It strikes the language that would make the person 
ineligible to apply for an operator’s license for the time periods set out in the subsection and that 
would suspend their license on the first day of issuance for the time specified by the court.  It 
removes the language requiring that an abstract of the court record be sent to the Department of 
Motor Vehicles and the language regarding their permanent record.  The amendment strikes the 
provisions in subsection (4) regarding the $95 reinstatement fee. 
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Finally, the amendment adds section one of LB 606 with some changes.  This portion of the 
amendment essentially extends the period from four years to seven years that the Liquor Control 
Commission looks back to determine if there is a second or subsequent violation for purposes of 
imposing stronger penalties for certain violations of the Liquor Control Act.  The violations that 
are affected include when a licensee sells to a minor under section 53-180 or a minor is 
dispensing liquor under section 53-180.02.  The penalty provisions are found in 53-1,104 (3)(a) 
and (b).  The amendment also changes the language regarding all other liquor licensee violations, 
so that a licensee must not have a violation for seven rather than four years consecutively before 
a suspension can be treated as a new first suspension. 
 
 
 
 
 
        

 Senator Ray Janssen, Chairperson 
 


