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LB 366

HEARING DATE:  January 28, 1999

COMMITTEE ON:  Health and Human Services

TITLE:  (Suttle  ) Change provisions governing the practice of psychology

ROLL CALL VOTE – FINAL COMMITTEE ACTION                                                                                      

X Advanced to General File

Advanced to General File with Amendments

Indefinitely Postponed

Vote Results:

7 Yes Senators Jensen, Byars, Dierks, Price, Suttle, Thompson,
Tyson

No

Present, not voting

Absent

PROPONENTS REPRESENTING
Senator Deb Suttle Principal Introducer
Laurel Van Ham Nebraska Psychological Association
Stephanie Snell Nebraska Psychological Association

OPPONENTS REPRESENTING

NEUTRAL REPRESENTING

SUMMARY OF PURPOSE AND/OR CHANGES:

LB 366 provides for a provisional license to practice psychology. Provisional licensure is
made available to those who have not yet completed a required year of supervised
postdoctoral experience in order to receive their license to practice psychology. LB 366,
page 2, lines 1-5.

An applicant for a provisional license must meet the following criteria: (1) a doctoral
degree from an American Psychological Association (APA) accredited program or its
equivalent. If equivalence is not shown, the applicant must have a certificate of retraining
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from a respecialization program that meets APA standards; (2)  one year of supervised
professional internship experience; (3) must apply within 60 days of the effective date of
the act, or any time after the effective date, but before beginning the required year of
postdoctoral experience (if the applicant hasn’t already begun the required year on the
effective date); (4) be of good moral character; (5) submit certain documentation to the
Department of Health and Human Services Regulation and Licensure. LB 366, page 2,
lines 4-28; page 3, lines 1-8.

The department must approve or deny a completed application within 150 days after
receiving it. LB 366, page 3, lines 9-11.

The licensee must use the title "Provisionally Licensed Psychologist" (PLP). A PLP must
disclose supervisory relationships to clients or patients for whom supervision is required,
and to third parties when relevant. A PLP is not allowed to supervise other mental health
professionals or independently evaluate persons under the Mental Health Commitment
Act. LB 366, page 3, lines 12-19.

A provisional license to practice psychology expires when upon receipt of a license to
practice psychology or two after issuance, whichever comes first. LB 366, page 3, lines
20-22.

EXPLANATION OF AMENDMENTS, IF ANY:

                                                                        
Senator Jim Jensen, Chairperson


