March 5, 1993 LB 128

SPEAKER BAACK: Senator Robak

SENATOR ROBAK: Thank you# Mr. President, Mr. Speaker and
members of the body. This is really a real simple bill. All
we're going to do is change the current sales and tax filing
requirements from the current level to a level that

realisti :ally reflects the dollar amount of retail s-'le in
Nebraska. Current law states that the annual sales and use tax
return shall be required if the taxpayer's yearly sales and use

tax liability is less than $900. Quarterly sales and use tax
returns shall be required if the tax liability is more than $900
but less than $1,200; monthly sales and use tax returns, if the

yearly tax liability is more than $1,200. What LB 128 would do
is change the requirements on who is required to file quarterly

and monthly. Annual returns would still be required for filers
with an annual sales and use tax liability of less than $900.
This would not change what is currently in statute. Quarterly

returns would now be required if the annual tax liability is
between $900 and the new upper limit of $3,000. Monthly returns
would be required for filers with an annual tax liability of
$3,000 or more. There are two outstanding reasons why I
introduced this bill and why it should be passed and, first, it
will cut the red tape and paperwork for both the businesses
which are required to file these returns and for the Department
of Revenue which has to process these returns. And secondly, it
will cut costs both for business which don't have to spend as
much money on accounting costs and for the Department of Revenue
on postage and processing. Or you could think of it this way.
Under current statute the Department of Revenue sends these same
5.000 filers a return form 12 times a year for a total of 60,000
forms in one year. By changing these same 5,000 filers to a
quarterly filing status we reduce the number of forms by
two-thirds. This means reducing the paperwork and processing by
40.000 forms. Finally, it's really a question of fairness. 1f
you remember LB 1059 raised the state sales tax rate from
4 percent to 5 percent. This had an obvious effect on the
filing status of smaller businesses in Nebraska. As the sales
tax percentage went up the number of monthly filers also went up
while the number of annual and quarterly filers went down.
Although their actual sales did not change, just because of the
change in sales tax rate their liability and filing status
changed. For example, a business with $25,000 in sales under
the old 4 percent sales tax rate would have been liable for
$1,0C0O in sales tax and it would have been filed quarterly under
the current statute. That same business with the change to a
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