## ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2021 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB247

Hearing Date: Committee On: Introducer: One Liner:	Wednesday February 24, 2021 Executive Board Pansing Brooks Create the Mental Health Crisis Hotline Task Force	
	inal Committee Action: o General File with amer	
Vote Results:		
Aye:	8	Senators Geist, Hilgers, Lathrop, Lowe, McCollister, Pansing Brooks Slama, Vargas
Nay: Absent:	1	Senator Hughes
Present No	ot Voting:	
	Oral Test	imony:
Proponents:		Representing:
Chris Triebsch		Introducer on behalf of Senator Patty Pansing Brooks
Annette Dubas		Nebraska Association of Behavioral Health Organizations
Tori Miyashiro		National Association of Social Workers
Opponents:		Representing:
Neutral:		Representing:
Sheri Dawson		Department of Health and Human Services
	Submitted Writte	en Testimony:
Proponents:		Representing:
David Slattery		Nebraska Hospital Association
Tami Soper		Boys Town
Joe Kohout		Nebraska Association of Regional Administration
Cora Schrader		Children's Hospital and Medical Center
Jon Cannon		Nebraska Association of County Officials
Paige Gade		Lincoln Young Professionals Group
Brad Meurrens		Disability Rights Nebraska
Opponents:		Representing:
Neutral:		Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 247 creates The Mental Health Crisis Hotline Task Force to develop an implementation plan for Nebraska to integrate and utilize the 988 crisis hotline established pursuant to the federal National Suicide Hotline Designation Act of 2020.

The voting members of the task force would include:

- (a) The chairperson of the Health and Human Services Committee or the chairperson's designee;
- (b) The chairperson of the Judiciary Committee or the chairperson's designee;
- (c) The chairperson of the Transportation and Telecommunications Committee or the

chairperson's designee; and

(d) Two at-large members of the Legislature appointed by the Executive Board.

Nonvoting, ex officio members of the task force would include:

- 1. The chief executive officer of the Department of Health and Human Services or designee;
- 2. The executive director of the Nebraska Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice or designee; and
- 3. The chairperson of the Public Service Commission or designee.

In addition, the following nonvoting members would be appointed by the voting legislative members of the task force through an application process and selected from among:

- (i) mental or behavioral health clinicians licensed to practice in the state;
- (ii) behavioral and mental health service providers;
- (iii) advocacy groups that focus on behavioral and mental health;
- (iv) educational institutions;
- (v) county and municipal law enforcement from each congressional district, and
- (vi) other representatives of county and municipal governments from each congressional district.

The task force would be required to file a report. no later than December 17, 2021, regarding its implementation plan and any recommendations, along with drafts of legislation necessary to carry out the recommendations.

The task force terminates on December 31, 2022.

LB247 includes the emergency clause.

## **Explanation of amendments:**

The committee amendment simply corrects a technical error.

Dan Hughes, Chairperson