ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 237

Introduced by McCoy, 39.

WHEREAS, Ben Cross, David Connolly, Connor Krecklow, CJ Monahan, Kyle Tompkins, Dylan Stamm, Ryan Soderquist, John-Mark Connolly, and Matthew Meacham of Troop 429 have completed the requirements for the rank of Eagle Scout in the Boy Scouts of America; and

WHEREAS, to earn the rank of Eagle Scout, the highest rank in scouting, a Boy Scout must fulfill requirements in the areas of leadership, service, and outdoor skills. Throughout their scouting experience, these scouts have learned, been tested on, and been recognized for various scouting skills; and

WHEREAS, to achieve the rank of Eagle Scout, a Boy Scout is required to earn 21 merit badges, 12 of which are in required areas, and complete a community service project approved by the troop and the scout council. The following Eagle Scout community service projects were completed: Ben Cross led a team to build and place 6 park benches and plant 20 trees at the Elkhorn Crossing Recreation Area; David Connolly and volunteers built wooden stairs and cleared forested areas to promote growth of endangered bladdernut trees at Fontanelle Forest; Connor Krecklow designed and built bat houses at the National Guard Camp Ashland Training Site; CJ Monahan changed the land use at Heron Haven Nature Center; Kyle Tompkins restored bulletin boards in the children's classroom at Christ Community Church; Dylan Stamm refurbished an unsafe playground at the Stephen Center Emergency Shelter; Ryan Soderquist distributed mulch, installed a new sand box, and built wooden step stools for the drinking fountains at St. Luke United Methodist Church; John-Mark Connolly created an outdoor rest and recreation area for teachers and staff and built, painted, and framed 3 wall-size cork boards for the youth group at Westside Church; and Matthew Meacham designed and constructed a kiosk to display information and created a fire break at Neale Woods Nature Center; and

WHEREAS, only a small percentage of the boys who join the Boy Scouts of America achieve the rank of Eagle Scout; and

WHEREAS, Ben, David, Connor, CJ, Kyle, Dylan, Ryan, John-Mark, and Matthew, through their hard work and perseverance, have joined other high achievers who are Eagle Scouts, such as astronauts, political and industry leaders, artists, scientists, and athletes.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature congratulates Ben Cross, David Connolly, Connor Krecklow, CJ Monahan, Kyle Tompkins, Dylan Stamm, Ryan Soderquist, John-Mark Connolly, and Matthew Meacham on achieving the rank of Eagle Scout.
- 2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to Ben Cross, David Connolly, Connor Krecklow, CJ Monahan, Kyle Tompkins, Dylan Stamm, Ryan Soderquist, John-Mark Connolly, and Matthew Meacham.