ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2015 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB659

Hearing Date: Monday February 23, 2015

Committee On: Appropriations **Introducer:** Speaker Hadley

One Liner: Appropriate funds for salaries of constitutional officers

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 9 Senators Bolz, Haar, Hilkemann, Kintner, Kuehn, Mello, Nordquist,

Stinner, Watermeier

Nay:

Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Verbal Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

Gerry Oligmueller Introducer - Governor's Office

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

The following constitutes the reasons for this bill and the purposes which are sought to be accomplished thereby:

LB 659, introduced by the Speaker at the request of the Governor, is a part of the Governor's biennial budget recommendations. This bill provides for the funding of the salaries and benefits of certain State Officers as required by the State Constitution and current laws of the State of Nebraska. This bill includes judges as well as elected Constitutional Officers, the Parole Board and the Tax Commissioner.

This legislative bill contains the emergency clause and becomes operative on July 1, 2015.

Explanation of amendments:

The amendment becomes the bill. The amendment provides for the Appropriations Committee recommended funding of the salaries and benefits of certain State Officers, as required by the State Constitution and current laws of the State of Nebraska. Most adjustments from the original bill amounts are minor differences due to calculation of benefits. The bill includes appropriations for salaries of all judges, elected Constitutional Officers, the Parole Board and the Tax Commissioner, operative July 1, 2015.

Please refer to "State of Nebraska, FY 2015-16 and FY2016-17 Biennial Budget, As Proposed by the Appropriations Committee 104th Legislature, First Session," published April, 2015.

The amendment contains the emergency clause.

Heath Mello, Chairperson