ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2016 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB354

Hearing Date: Committee On: Introducer: One Liner:	Wednesday March 04, 2015 Judiciary McCollister Change provisions relating to crime victims and witnesses		
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action: Indefinitely postponed			
Vote Results: Aye:	6	Senators Coash, Krist, Morfeld, Pansing Brooks, Seiler, Williams	
Nay: Absent: Present No	2 ot Voting:	Senators Chambers, Ebke	
	Verbal Te	estimony:	
Proponents:		Representing:	
SEN. JOHN MCCOLLISTER		INTRODUCER	
TONI JENSEN		NEBRASKA COALITION FOR VICTIMS OF CRIME	
ROBERT SANFORD		NEBRASKA COALITION TO END SEXUAL AND DOMESTIC VIOLENCE	
RHONDA ROLLES		OMAHA DOUGLAS COUNTY VICTIM ASSISTANCE	
Opponents:		Representing:	
SHAWN RENNER		MEDIA NEBRASKA INC	
Neutral:		Representing:	
DARRELL FISHER		NE CRIME COMMISSION	

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

Section 1 would amend 81-1802 to add a member to the Crime Victims Reparations Committee, to represent crime victims.

NOTE: What is the difference between the "public members" and the five "members of the commission"?

Section 2 would amend 81-1803 to provide that each member of the Crime Victims Reparations Committee shall serve for a 4-year term.

Section 3 would amend 81-1807 to explicitly state that forms requesting compensation do not have to be notarized.

Section 4 would amend 81-1823 to increase the overall limit on compensation, and to provide limits on how the funds are to be spent.

The overall limit on a disbursement from the Victim%u2019s Compensation Fund would be increased from \$10,000 to \$25,000. Compensation for funeral expenses would be limited to \$10,000. Compensation for medical expenses would be limited to \$20,000. Compensation for other expenses would be limited to \$5,000.

Section 5 would amend 81-1848 to explicitly state that crime victims and witnesses have a right to have any personal identifying information, other than their name, withheld from publicly available court documents.

Section 6 would repeal the sections amended by this act.

Les Seiler, Chairperson