ONE HUNDRED THIRD LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2013
COMMITTEE STATEMENT
LB158

Hearing Date: Tuesday February 19, 2013

Committee On:  Transportation and Telecommunications

Introducer: Seiler

One Liner: Change provisions relating to eligibility for and use of ignition interlock devices

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:
Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 8 Senators Brasch, Dubas, Hadley, Janssen, McCoy, Price, Watermeier,
Smith

Nay:

Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Les Seiler Introducer

Randall Peters Nebraska Department of Roads

Rhonda Lahm Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Coleen Nielsen Nebraska Criminal Defense Attorney Association
Nick Paden Life Safer

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB158 was requested by the Department of Roads to ensure Nebraska is in compliance with the new Federal Highway
law, MAP-21. Under provisions of MAP-21 state's second offense driving under the influence (DUI) laws must require
either a 1 year revocation of the driver's license or at least one year of ignition interlock. Under current statute, Nebraska
law requires a 45-day no drive period and ignition interlock for the remainder of one year. States whose DUI laws do not
meet this criteria will have 2.5% ($6.2 million in Nebraska) of National Highway Performance Program and Surface
Transportation Program funds redirected to mandatory safety programs.

Explanation of amendments:

AM 470 replaces the original bill. Corrects license revocation language to ensure the Department of Motor Vehicles can
administer the changes and still comply with Federal law. Also adds an emergency clause and operative date to allow
the courts time to adjust to the new sentencing requirements.

Section by Section description of AM 470 to LB 158:

Section 1 amends section 60-6,197.01(1)(b), alcohol and drug violation provisions of the Nebraska Rules of the Road for
first time and subsequent offenses of DUI violations. Strikes "the remainder of* a one year period to ensure ignition
interlock devices are ordered for at least one year, as required under Federal law. Adds language to ensure a license
will not be reinstated prior to the period of ignition interlock.
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Section 2 amends 60-6,197.03(3) alcohol and drug violation provisions of the Nebraska Rules of the Road for second
offenses of DUI violations, to increase the license revocation period to 18 months, strikes "the remainder of" a one year
period to ensure ignition interlock devices are ordered for at least one year, as required under Federal law. Adds
language to ensure a license will not be reinstated prior to the period of ignition interlock. Adds the same language to the
probation section of the statute. Amends 60-6,197.03(5) to add the similar language for second offense, for aggravated
cases, or for refusal to submit to a test and for the probation section of the statute.

Section 3 creates an operative date of July 1, 2013.

Section 4 repeals original sections.

Section 5 adds an emergency clause.

Annette Dubas, Chairperson
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