ONE HUNDRED SECOND LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2011 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB142

Hearing Date: Wednesday March 16, 2011

Committee On: Government, Military and Veterans Affairs

Introducer: Lautenbaugh

One Liner: Change campaign statement and report filing provisions and repeal the Campaign Finance Limitation

Act

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 6 Senators Brasch, Janssen, Karpisek, Pahls, Price, Schumacher

Nay: 2 Senators Avery, Sullivan

Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Scott Lautenbaugh Introducer

Opponents: Representing:

Jack Gould Common Cause Nebraska

Neutral: Representing:
John Gale Secretary of State

Frank Daley Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure Commission

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 142 repeals the Campaign Finance Limitation Act and changes reporting requirements under the Nebraska Political Accountability and Disclosure Act.

Reporting thresholds of contributions and expenditures are lowered to \$50. The bill also requires, beginning January 1, 2014, the electronic filing of reports and statements within five days after the receipt of a contribution or making an expenditure. Certain reports are required to be filed the next business day after receipt of a contribution or making an expenditure.

The Accountability and Disclosure Commission is required by January 1, 2014 to make campaign statements available on its website on or before the next business day after receipt by the commission.

The State Treasurer will transfer money in the CFLA Fund attributable to late filing fees, civil penalties and interest in accordance with the Nebraska Constitution. The remaining money in the fund will be transferred to the Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure Commission Cash Fund.

Explanation of amendments:

The committee amendment removes all provisions relating to the new reporting requirements under the Nebraska

The provisions repealing the Campaign Finance Limitation Act remain in the bill under the committee amendment.	
	Bill Avery, Chairperson