Hundredth Legislature - First Session - 2007
/ Committee Statement
LB 31

Hearing Date: March 5, 2007
Committee On: Business and Labor

Introducer(s): (Nantkes)
Title: Change minimum wage and training wage provisions

Roll Call Vote — Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File
X Advanced to General File with Amendments

Indefinitely Postponed

Vote Results:

6 Yes Senators Cornett, Lathrop, McGill, Rogert,Mdan, White
No
Present, not voting
1 Absent Senator Chambers
Proponents: Representing:
Senator Danielle Nantkes Introducer
Jennifer Hernandez Nebraska Appleseed
Ken Mass Nebraska AFL-CIO
Jim Cunningham Nebraska Catholic Conference
Opponents: Representing:
Ron Sedlacek Nebraska Chamber of Commerce, Gi@ataha
Chamber of Commerce
Kathy Siefken Nebraska Grocery Association
Bob Hallstrom National Federation of IndependensiBess
Jim Otto Nebraska Retail Federation, Nebraska Resta
Association
Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changestB 31 raises the minimum wage for employees oler t
age of 17 from five dollars and fifteen cents todollars and twenty-six cents in gradual yearly
increments by the year 2010. Starting in 2010ugho2013 the Commissioner of Labor is
directed to adjust the minimum wage to reflectdthanges in the Consumer Price Index. The
Commissioner shall continue to adjust the minimuagevin this manner every three years
thereafter.
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For individuals 17 years or older in the servicgustry receiving gratuity, minimum wage will
be fifty percent of the applicable minimum wageud&int learners seventeen years old or older
would receive seventy-five percent of the applieabinimum wage.

Finally, any new employee who is not a seasonatigrant worker and is between 17 and 20
years of age may receive a training wage. Thaitrgiwage increases from $4.25 per hour to
$5.15 per hour over the course of the next threesy@ the same manner proscribed for the
minimum wage adjustments. Likewise the commissionk be directed to adjust that amount
to reflect the changes in the Consumer Price Imdléixe same manner as the minimum wage
adjustments.

Section by Section Summary:

Section 1: amends 848-1203 to insert language making minirwage rates only applicable to
employees seventeen years old or older; strikeemuminimum wage of $4.25; inserts new
minimum wage increments:

* $5.15 from the operative date to September 30, ,2007

e $5.52 from October 1, 2007 through September 30820

e $5.89 from October 1, 2008 through September 30920

* $6.26 from October 1, 2009 through September 30020

Every three years thereafter the Department of taball adjust the minimum wage to reflect
changes in the Consumer Price Index over the tfgaeperiod.

Subsection 2 inserts new language to clarify tive menimum rate for service persons receiving
gratuity will only apply to individuals age 17 older; strikes the rate of “two dollars and
thirteen cents per hour” and inserts “wage of fifgrcent of the applicable minimum wage
provided in subsection (1) of this section”.

Subsection 3 strikes “student learners” and insettglent-learners who are seventeen years of
age or older”.

Section 2: amends 848-1203.01 to change the qualifying age fraining wage from “younger
than twenty years of age” to “between seventeentaadty years of age”; strikes the existing
training rate of $4.25 and inserts the followingremental increases which mirror the minimum
wage increases:

e $4.25 per hour from the operative date to Septerdde007,

e $4.55 from October 1, 2007 through September G082

* $4.85 from October 1, 2008 through September 3092

e $5.15 from October 1, 2009 through September G002

The Department of Labor will increase that amowetrg three years to reflect the changes in the
Consumer Price Index.
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Subsection 3 inserts new language to ensure thaibgaes under 17 years of age are not being
hired to replace a current employee or reduce faehnigaid employee’s hours.

Section 3: Technical changes. Amends 848-1206 to confer subpoena power to thendssioner
for enforcement of the “Wage and Hour Aatiiakes violations of 848-1203.01 a Class IV
offense; employer violations of 848-1203.01 willkeahe employer liable to the affected
employees for the amount of their unpaid minimungevér training wage”.

Section 4: Repeals original sections: 48-1203, 48-1203.014d206.

Explanation of amendments, if any:

The committee amendments would makes the followiranges to the bill. The state minimum
wage would become the federal minimum wage in pédidke effective date of the bill or the
minimum wage as set forth in the bill, whichevegisater. The committee amendment would
also correct a technical error.

Senator Abbie Cornett, Chairperson
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