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Payday Loans: An LRO Backgrounder

Introduction

Quick and easy access to cash has become a way of life. However, a
sizable segment of society lacks the ability to open up a bank account,
sign up for a credit card, or take out other lines of credit.

Very few available resources for financial services exist for these individuals, and those that do, are
fraught with problems and challenges.

Payday lending is a primary resource for people who fall into this category. How this industry oper-
ates, the conditions by which they lend money, and the protections available to the consumer vary
depending upon where you live.

Payday Loans: An LRO Backgrounder provides a brief overview of the payday lending industry in
the United States, with specific emphasis on (1) the policy considerations of Congress and federal
regulators, (2) legislative action considered and taken by the Nebraska Legislature and Nebraska
voters, and (3) the innovative and thoughtful approaches taken by other states to protect consum-
ers.

This reports concludes with policy considerations for both lawmakers and consumer advocates.
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Common Characteristics of a Payday Loan

According to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), there is no single definition for a
“‘payday loan.” Other names for payday loans are cash advance, payday advance, short-term loan,
fast cash, small-dollar loan, or delayed deposit transaction.

Essentially, a payday loan is an unsecured loan that requires a claim to the borrower’s bank account
with a post dated check or electronic debit authorization. Typical loan amounts are for $500 or less,
for which the lender charges a one-time fee of $10 to $20 per $100 borrowed for a two-week period.
This is the equivalent of a 391 percent annual percentage rate (APR).

Payday loans are advertised as quick and temporary solutions to cover unexpected expenses. Un-
like a traditional financial institution, payday lenders do not require a background check or good
credit. To apply for a loan, individuals must show only that they have a source of income and a bank
account. Because of this, critics say, payday loans are primarily marketed to financially vulnerable
consumers who often cannot repay the full balance when the loan comes due.

Lenders expect full repayment at the borrower’s next payday. Failure to repay results in the lender
depositing the borrower's check or making an electronic withdrawal from the borrower's bank ac-
count. If the borrower cannot repay the loan at the end of the two-week period, he or she can pay
another one-time fee to extend the term of the loan.

Payday loan companies have traditionally operated out of storefronts, and some states require lend-
ers to maintain a physical presence in order to provide lending services. However, more and more
payday lenders have expanded to offering online services.
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Historical Overwew of Payday Lending

Twenty-first century borrowers enjoy numerous financial protections. But that was not always the
case. In the early 1890s, so-called salary lenders offered loans for a one-week period and charged
an APR of 120 percent to 500 percent. As a way of collecting repayment, salary lenders garnished
wages. If garnishment did not work, lenders employed other questionable tactics, such as public
shaming or extortion.

Legislators implemented policies to discourage the practice of salary lending while also expanding
access to consumer credit from licensed lenders. The first of these policies was the Uniform Small
Loan Law enacted in 1916, which permitted an interest rate of up to 3 %z percent for loans of $300 or
less. Thirty-two of the existing 48 states adopted a version of the Uniform Small Loan Law, permit-
ting anywhere from an 18 percent to 42 percent interest rate.

The birth of the consumer credit industry occurred during the mid-20th century with the development
of home mortgages and credit cards. As more national lenders entered the market, state laws be-
came ineffective at regulating the industry.

During the 1970s and 1980s, Congress significantly scaled back regulations on federally insured
lenders and financial institutions. The federal deregulation of lenders emboldened some institutions
to ignore state interest rate laws and led some state legislatures to deregulate state-based lenders.

In the early 1990s, state legislators followed the federal government’s lead and allowed special ex-
emptions to state lending laws that authorized small-dollar loans. A majority of states enacted per-
missive laws that allowed for single-repayment loans with an APR of 391 percent or higher.

In the early 2000s, some states repealed payday lending statutes or adopted tougher regulations in
order to reduce fees, regulate loan usage, or reduce repayment periods.
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Federal Regulation of
Payday Loans

Over the last two decades, Congress enacted
several pieces of payday lending reform.

The John Warner National Defense Authorization
Act for Fiscal Year 2007 (H.R. 5122) capped in-
terest rates on payday loans provided to military
service members and their immediate family
members.

In response to the 2008 financial crisis, Congress
passed the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and
Consumer Protection Act in 2010. The act estab-
lished the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
(CFPB) and tasked it with protecting consumers
in the financial products and services market. Be-
ginning in 2013, the CFPB began accepting con-
sumer complaints against payday lenders.

Concerns remained over the alleged predatory
practices of payday lenders, forcing Congress
and the CFPB to consider implementing tougher
consumer protections or completely restructuring
lending practices for small-dollar loans.

In October 2017, the CFPB issued a final rule as-
serting that it was “an unfair and abusive prac-
tice” for payday lenders to make certain types of
short-term, small-dollar loans “without reasonably

determining that consumers had the ability to re- |

pay the loans,” a process known as underwriting.
The rule mandated underwriting provisions, but
also exempted some short-term, small-dollar
loans made with certain loan features. Additional-
ly, this rule sought to limit the practice of lenders
making multiple attempts to debit payments from
a borrower’s bank account, a practice that result-
ed in the borrower incurring more fees and being
forced to close his or her account. The compli-
ance deadline for this rule was August 19, 2019.°

The CFPB intended this rule to end the predatory
practices of payday lenders and stop the cycle of
debt borrowers often experience. Payday lenders
feared this rule would destroy the payday loan
industry, forcing businesses to close and limiting
access to loans for people with no other options.3

However, before the rule took effect, the CFPB
issued a final rule rescinding mandatory under-
writing and delaying the compliance deadline to
November 19, 2020.

Other federal agencies are also involved in regu-
lating the payday loan industry.

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) enforces
consumer protection laws and has filed a number
of law enforcement actions against payday lend-
ers for (1) engaging in deceptive or unfair adver-
tising and billing practices that violate the Federal
Trade Commission Act; (2) failing to comply with
the disclosure requirements of the Truth in Lend-
ing Act; (3) violating the Credit Practices Rule’s
prohibition against wage assignment clauses in
contracts; (4) conditioning credit on the preau-
thorization of electronic fund transfers that violate
the Electronic Fund Transfer Act; and (5) employ-
ing unfair, deceptive, and abusive debt collection
practices.4

Several federal agencies— the Federal Reserve,
the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
(FDIC), the National Credit Union Administration,
and the Office of the Comptroller— provided
guidance in May 2020 for banks and credit un-
ions to offer affordable small-dollar installment
loans or lines of credit. However, consumer pro-
tection advocates expressed concerns this could
lead some banks to issue deposit advance loans
with three-digit APRs.>

As a result of limited protections enacted by Con-
gress, the payday loan industry remains primarily
regulated at the state level.

Mitch McConnell

Nancy Pelosi
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Payday Lending in Nebraska

The Nebraska Legislature adopted the Delayed
Deposit Services Licensing Act®in 1994 to pro-
vide for the licensure of short-term lenders and
to regulate the payday lending industry.

In order to operate a payday lending service, the
act’required lenders to:

+ Obtain a license from the Nebraska Depart-
ment of Banking and Finance;

+ Pay a nonrefundable application fee of $300;

+ Provide a surety bond of $50,000, which is
renewed or refiled by May 1 each year;

+ Provide proof of having available assets of at
least $25,000;

+ Pay an application fee of $150 for each addi-
tional branch location;

+ Provide services only at the principal place of
business listed on the license application or
at a licensed physical branch office; and

+ Only operate branch offices in the same
county as the principal place of business.

In addition, a licensed lender cannot:

+ Hold more than two checks from a single bor-
rower at one time;

+ Hold checks from a single borrower in an
amount in excess of $500;

+ Hold checks for more than 31 days;

+ Require borrowers to receive payment
through a method which forces them to pay
additional charges or fees; and

+ Accept a check already held by the same li-
censed operator as a method of repayment
or refinancing or for the consolidation of
checks.

Anyone operating a payday lending service with-
out a license or while his or her license is sus-
pended or revoked can be found guilty of a
Class IV felony.

The act also required the lender to provide writ-
ten notice to the borrower. The written notice
must include the (1) fee to be charged; (2) date
on which the check will be deposited; and (3)
amount of any penalties charged, not to exceed
$15 per $100 borrowed. In addition to the written
notice requirement, a schedule of all fees, charg-
es, and penalties for services must be conspicu-
ously displayed in each business location.

A number of changes have occurred since the
adoption of the original act in 1994.

In 2000, the Legislature added a provision re-
quiring checks in the collection process that are
not negotiable on the agreed-upon day cannot
be considered as being held in excess of the 31-
day limitation.?

In 2006, legislators extended the length of time,
from 31 to 34 days, that lenders can hold
checks. The bill also contained provisions pro-
hibiting lenders from renewing, rolling over, de-
ferring, or extending payday loan transactions by
allowing borrowers to pay less than the total
amount of the check and any associated fees or
charges. Lenders are also restricted from enter-
ing into another payday loan transaction with the
same borrower on the same business day un-
less both parties can verify completion of the
previous payday loan.®

In 2012, legislators increased both the $150
main office renewal fee and the $150 branch of-
fice renewal fee to $500.%°

Under the terms of legislation in 2018, payday
loans provided by an unlicensed person are void
and lenders have no rights under the law to col-
lect, receive, or retain any principal, interest, or
fees. A fee exemption was also added for active
duty thembers of the mllltary and their spouses
or dependents. ¥
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Legislators also amended the language for the written notice requirement to the borrower in 2018.

The notice must include: (1) the name of the borrower, the transaction date, and the amount of the
loan; (2) the payment due date and total amount due; (3) fee totals on the transaction, expressed in
a dollar amount and as an APR; (4) the date on which the check will be deposited or presented for
negotiation; and (5) any penalties charged (not to exceed $15), if the check is not negotiable on the
agreed upon date.13

Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 45-917 requires that notices given pursuant to law should be all capital-
ized, in at least ten-point font, and include the following language:

1. THIS TYPE OF SERVICE SHOULD BE USED ONLY TO MEET SHORT-TERM CASH NEEDS.

2. THE LAW DOES NOT ALLOW THIS TYPE OF TRANSACTION TO BE MORE THAN FIVE HUN-
DRED DOLLARS ($500) IN TOTAL, INCLUDING FEES AND CHARGES, FROM ONE LENDER.

3. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO RESCIND THIS TRANSACTION IF YOU DO SO BY THE NEXT BUSI-
NESS DAY BEFORE 5 P.M.

4. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO RESCIND YOUR AUTHORIZATION FOR ELECTRONIC PAYMENT.

Legislation adopted in 2020 amended the Delayed Deposit Services Act to require state licensed
lenders to be licensed and registered through the federal Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System
and Registry.

The 2020 legislation change also allows a borrower who cannot repay the loan to elect (once in
any 12-month period) to repay the loan via an extended payment plan. The borrower must request
an amendment to the loan agreement before repayment is due, and the amendment must reflect
the new payment schedule and terms. Under the terms of the extended payment plan, the borrow-
er must have the opportunity to repay the outstanding loan and original fees, at no additional cost,
in at least four equal payments. The borrower can prepay without penalty, and the lender cannot
charge the borrower interest or additional fees during the term of the extended payment plan.

Failure to pay under the terms of the extended payment plan results in the borrower being in de-
fault, upon which the lender is authorized to accelerate payment on the remaining balance and can
take action to collect all amounts owed.

Despite changes enacted by the Legislature, policy analysts with The Pew Charitable Trusts (Pew)
considered Nebraska law to be very permissive.!*

PAYDAY LOAN STORES IN NEBRASKA

Alliance: 1 Fremont: 3 Lexington: 2 Ogallala: 1 South Sioux City: 1
Beatrice: 1 Grand Island: 6 Lincoln: 20 Omaha: 31 York: 1
Bellevue: 6 Hastings: 2 Nebraska City: 1 Papillion: 1 Total: 102
Chadron: 1 Kearney: 4 Norfolk: 3 Scottsbluff: 3

Columbus: 5 La Vista: 3 North Platte: 5 Sidney: 1

Source: Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance (As of May 1, 2020)
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Nebraska Citizens Take Action

In 2019, a coalition of citizens and organizations concerned about payday lending practices formed
Nebraskans for Responsible Lending, with the intent of getting reforms before voters via an initiative
petition. The committee filed proposed petition language with the Nebraska Secretary of State in
September 2019 and began collecting signatures to place Initiative Measure 428 on the 2020 Gen-
eral Election ballot.

Circulators of the payday lending petition were required to collect at least 85,628 signatures in order
for the measure to appear on the ballot. The coalition met this goal with 94,468 signatures verified in
46 counties (exceeding the state’s five percent signature distribution requirement 15).

The measure’s supporters argued that Nebraskans needed payday lending reform to enhance con-
sumer protections and ensure that individuals who do not qualify for traditional bank loans do not
have to take out high-interest loans, potentially trapping them in a cycle of debt.

Opponents, primarily people in the payday lending industry, said the proposed ballot measure would
disproportionately affect lenders in rural Nebraska, force small-dollar lending businesses to close,
and leave people with no credit or damaged credit with fewer loan options.

Voters approved the measure, making Nebraska the 17th state to cap payday loans at 36 percent.

Results from the 2020 General Election were certified by the State Canvassing Board on November
30, 2020. The Governor issued a proclamation on December 8, 2020, declaring Initiative Measure
428 passed and in effect.

Initiative Measure 428 removes the fee of $15 per $100 borrowed and caps APR— including all
fees, interest, and charges *— at 36 percent. Payday loans issued in violation of the interest cap are
uncollectable. Lastly, the measure extends the APR cap to all methods of providing payday loans.

Initiative Measure 428
Votes Cast in the 2020 General Election

m FOR ® AGAINST
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Payday Reform in Other States

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, approximately 16 states have outright
banned payday lending, while others have enacted various reforms.

Reforms taken in three of these states are highlighted in this section.

Colorado first enacted payday lending in 1992, placing the practice under
the state’s Uniform Consumer Credit Code. In 2000, legislators exempted
payday lenders from interest rate caps imposed on other lenders.

COLORADO The state’s payday lending legislation permitted a maximum loan of $500,
authorized lenders to charge $75 per pay period, required lenders use a
postdated check or electronic debit authorization, and did not allow for
amortization of the principal. The average APR in Colorado was 319 per-

cent.

Concern grew as (1) borrowers spent more in fees and penalties than the original amount of the
loan, (2) more loans were taken out for longer than the initial two weeks, and (3) borrowers relied on
additional loans in order to repay debt. Unsuccessful attempts were made in 2008 and 2010 to re-
move the interest rate cap exemption.

In 2010, legislators enacted the Deferred Deposit Loan Act, to make loans more affordable for Colo-

rado citizens. The new law eliminated conventional, lump-sum loans and replaced them with six-
month, deferred deposit loans. '’

Cost to Borrow S$500 in Colorado "

Before law change After law change
For 2 weeks S75 $10
For 3 months S450 $125
For 6 months $975 $290
For 12 months $1950 $580

The act allowed lenders to charge a 45 percent APR, a refundable origination fee, and a monthly
maintenance fee (a combined average APR of 129 percent). Borrowers who prepaid before the
loan expired could do so without penalty.

According to Pew, the practice of prorating the origination fee for early loan repayment ensures that
lenders do not immediately receive this money and eliminates an incentive to extend loans and col-
lect new fees.

As a result of these changes, lenders modified their business models, which resulted in the consoli-
dation of storefronts and increased the number of customers served per storefront.

Prior to 2010, there were 505 licensed payday lenders in Colorado.
As of 2013, only 238 licensed lenders remained. 1°
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Pew’s extensive study of Colorado’s new law concluded: (1) loan payments are more manageable
based on a borrower’s ability to repay; (2) interest rates are comparatively lower than before and
are far lower than national interest rates; (3) lower interest rates reduced the overall cost to the bor-
rower; (4) allowing the principal to decline with each installment increased a borrower’s ability to pay
off the loan sooner; and (5) access to small-dollar lending services was not hindered. %°

Despite attempts to impose tougher restrictions, the average APR in Colorado in 2016 was 129 per-
cent and over 200,000 people still relied on payday loans. These factors resulted in a 2018 ballot
measure to impose additional payday loan limitations.

Proposition 111 received 77 percent approval from Colorado voters and took effect on February 1,
2019.2! The new law places a 36 percent APR cap on payday loans and prohibits the collection of
other finance charges and fees.

During an interview with Colorado Public Radio, Pew’s Alex Horowitz, said of the new Colorado law:
“In 15 other states that have a similar law on the books, there are no payday loan stores. There
won’t be payday loans anymore in Colorado.” 22

Ohio earned a reputation as one of the worst states with regard to pay-
day lending practices, offering some of the nation’s most expensive
loans. Lenders in the state charged four times as much in interest as in
other states and over 90 percent of the market was controlled by six pay-
day loan companies. According to consumer advocates in the state, loan
payments consumed more than one-third of*a borrower’s paycheck.

In 2008, Ohio voters approved a ballot initiative capping payday loan in-
terest rates at 28 percent. However, by registering as a “broker”, payday
lenders were no longer subject to the state’s interest cap and unre-
strained in the amount they could charge.

Community leaders and consumer protection advocates partnered with Pew and made their case
for payday lending reform, which resulted in the introduction of H.B. 123 in 2017. Due in part to bi-
partisan collaboration, statewide support, and the tireless efforts of reform advocates, the Fairness
in Lending Act passed and took effect on October 29, 2019. However, the act did not apply to new
loans or credit extensions until April 27, 2019.24

The act made the following changes: 2
+ Increased the maximum loan amount from $500 to $1,000;

+ Restricted the minimum duration of a loan to 91 days and increased the maximum duration to
one year,

+ Authorized loans for a period of less than 91 days, if the loan did not exceed six percent of a
borrower’s gross monthly income or seven percent of a borrower’s net monthly income;

+ Allowed a borrower to rescind or cancel a payday loan contract on or before 5 p.m. of the third
business day following the loan transaction;
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+ Restricted the amount of fees and charges to (1) an interest rate not to exceed 28 percent per
year, (2) a monthly maintenance fee, (3) a loan origination charge on loans of $500 or greater,
(4) a single check collection charge, and (5) a check cashing fee;

+ Prohibited the total amount of fees and charges from exceeding 60 percent of the originally con-
tracted loan amount;

+ Permitted loan refinancing, as long as the lender did not charge a monthly fee on the refinanced
loan;

+ Required lenders to provide a prorated refund on loans that are prepaid in full or refinanced pri-
or to the maturity date;

+ Prohibited lenders from providing loans when the loans result in a total outstanding principal of
more than $2,500;

+ Removed the requirement that payday lenders be located in state and can only provide loans to
borrowers physically present in the storefront; and

+ Removed the prohibition on lenders making or offering loans online.

The payday reform law adopted in Ohio was an innovative approach to enact stronger consumer
protections and expanded authority over regulators to oversee lenders. The act’s goals were to
make payday loans more affordable to borrowers while allowing lenders to earn a profit. Pew re-
searchers estimate Ohioans will save at least $75 million a year.?¢

According to the Virginia Poverty Law Center, until recently
Virginia had some of the weakest consumer protection laws
in the nation. Payday lenders avoided consumer protection
VIRGINIA laws by structuring loans as lines of credit with no interest
limits (one of only six states to allow this practice). Payday
lenders also charged unlimited interest on loans in excess
of $2,500 (a practice banned in 40 states?’).

In 2008 attempts to reform the state’s payday lending statutes were unsuccessful.

But in 2019, the Virginia legislature passed a consumer lending reform bill that becomes effective
January 1, 2021.28

Virginia’s new payday lending law makes the following changes:

+ Replaces the term “payday loans” with “short-term loans”;

+ Imposes a cap on interest and fees at 36 percent, plus a maintenance fee;

+ Increases the maximum loan amount from $500 to $2,500;

+ Sets the minimum loan period at four months and the maximum loan period at 24 months;

+ Prohibits lenders from collecting fees and charges that exceed 50 percent of the original loan
amount for loans equal to or less than $1,500; and
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+ Prohibits lenders from collecting fees and charges that exceed 60 percent of the original loan
amount for loans greater than $1,500.

Short-term lenders must make reasonable attempts to verify a borrower’s income before providing
a loan. Additionally, lenders are prohibited from advertising or providing additional services related
to credit extension that have an APR in excess of 36 percent, are for less than $5,000, have a term
of less than one year, or are already provided for under the state’s open-end credit plan. %

According to analysis by Pew, the actions taken by Virginia policymakers are projected to save Vir-
ginia families an estimated $150 million per year, while still maintaining a viable lending market and
expanding access to affordable credit.

For Your Consideration

Substantive federal reform or additional regulation of the
payday lending industry seems unlikely in the near future.
This puts greater emphasis on policy deliberation at the
state level.

As Nebraska legislators monitor the implementation of
Initiative Measure 428 and consider additional payday
regulations, it is important to consider the three indicators
of safe small-dollar lending practices: (1) lower overall
costs; (2) affordable payments; and (3) reasonable re-
payment periods. 30

Additionally, policymakers must study the role that payday lenders and other small-dollar lenders
play for individuals with nonexistent or damaged credit, as well as consider what alternative options
are available to them for loans or lines of credit.



Payday Loans: An LRO Backgrounder

END NOTES

1. Consumer Financial Protection (Bureau Rules & Policy. (Oct. 5, 2017). Final Rule: Payday, Vehi-
cle Title, and Certain High-Cost Installment Loans.

2. Congressional Research Service. (March 1, 2019). CFPB Proposes New Payday Lending Rule,
Reversing Recently Finalized Requlation.

3. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. (Oct. 5, 2017). CFPB Finalizes Rule to Stop Payday Debt
Traps.

4. Federal Trade Commission. Payday Lending.

5. Horowitz, Alex. (May 20, 2020). Pew: Bank Requlators’ Guidance A Move in the Right Direction,
but Carries Risk. The Pew Charitable Trusts.

6. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 45-901 to 45-931.

7. Neb. Laws 1994, LB 967, secs 1-29.

8. Neb. Laws 2000, LB 932, sec. 34.

9. Neb. Laws 2006, LB 876, sec. 44.

10. Neb. Laws 2012, LB 269, sec. 1.

11. Neb. Laws 2018, LB 194, sec. 4.

12. Neb. Laws 2018, LB 194, sec. 9.

13. Neb. Laws 2018, LB 194, sec. 8.

14. Bourke, Nick, Horowitz, Alex, Roche, Tara. (July 2012). Payday Lending in America: Who Bor-
rows, Where They Borrow, and Why, pa. 21. The Pew Charitable Trusts.

15. Evnen, Robert B. (Jan. 2019). How to Use the Initiative and Referendum Process in Nebraska,
pgs. 4-5. Nebraska Secretary of State

16. Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 45-902(1).
17. Colo. Rev. Stat. secs. 5-3.1-101 to 5-3.1-123.

18. Urahn, Susan K., Plunkett, Travis, Bourke, Nick, Horowitz, Alex, Lake, Walter, Roche, Tara.
(October 2013). Payday Lending in America: Policy Solutions, pg. 9. The Pew Charitable Trusts.

19. Ibid.
20. Urahn. Payday Lending, pgs. 44-47.

21. Ferrier, Pat. (Nov. 7, 2018). Colorado election: Proposition 111, capping interest on payday
loans, passes. The Coloradoan.



https://www.consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/final-rules/payday-vehicle-title-and-certain-high-cost-installment-loans/#:~:text=First%2C%20for%20short%2Dterm%20and,loans%20according%20to%20their%20terms.
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/rules-policy/final-rules/payday-vehicle-title-and-certain-high-cost-installment-loans/#:~:text=First%2C%20for%20short%2Dterm%20and,loans%20according%20to%20their%20terms.
https://fas.org/sgp/crs/misc/IN11059.pdf
https://fas.org/sgp/crs/misc/IN11059.pdf
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/about-us/newsroom/cfpb-finalizes-rule-stop-payday-debt-traps/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/about-us/newsroom/cfpb-finalizes-rule-stop-payday-debt-traps/
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/media-resources/consumer-finance/payday-lending
https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/about/news-room/press-releases-and-statements/2020/05/20/pew-bank-regulators-guidance-a-move-in-the-right-direction-but-carries-risks
https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/about/news-room/press-releases-and-statements/2020/05/20/pew-bank-regulators-guidance-a-move-in-the-right-direction-but-carries-risks
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/search_range_statute.php?begin_section=45-901&end_section=45-931
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/FloorDocs/96/PDF/Slip/LB932.pdf
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/FloorDocs/99/PDF/Slip/LB876.pdf
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/FloorDocs/102/PDF/Slip/LB269.pdf
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/FloorDocs/105/PDF/Slip/LB194.pdf
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/FloorDocs/105/PDF/Slip/LB194.pdf
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/FloorDocs/105/PDF/Slip/LB194.pdf
https://www.pewtrusts.org/~/media/legacy/uploadedfiles/pcs_assets/2012/pewpaydaylendingreportpdf.pdf
https://www.pewtrusts.org/~/media/legacy/uploadedfiles/pcs_assets/2012/pewpaydaylendingreportpdf.pdf
https://sos.nebraska.gov/sites/sos.nebraska.gov/files/doc/elections/2018/state-initiative-and-referendum-packet.pdf
https://sos.nebraska.gov/sites/sos.nebraska.gov/files/doc/elections/2018/state-initiative-and-referendum-packet.pdf
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=45-902
https://www.pewtrusts.org/-/media/legacy/uploadedfiles/pcs_assets/2013/pewpaydaypolicysolutionsoct2013pdf.pdf
https://www.pewtrusts.org/-/media/legacy/uploadedfiles/pcs_assets/2013/pewpaydaypolicysolutionsoct2013pdf.pdf
https://www.coloradoan.com/story/news/politics/elections/2018/11/06/colorado-election-proposition-111-passes-limits-interest-payday-loans/1890551002/
https://www.coloradoan.com/story/news/politics/elections/2018/11/06/colorado-election-proposition-111-passes-limits-interest-payday-loans/1890551002/

13

Payday Loans: An LRO Backgrounder

END NOTES

22. Villegas, Andrew. (Jan. 31, 2019). With New Limits on Interest, Colorado’s Payday Lenders
Could Soon Close. Colorado Public Radio News.

23. Babington, Charles. (May 20, 2019). How Ohio Brought Fairness to Payday Loans. The Pew
Charitable Trusts.

24. Ohio Rev. Code, sec. 3.

25. Napolitano, Carla, Parker, Jennifer A. (Oct. 2018). Final Analysis of H.B. 123. Ohio Legislative
Services Commission.

26. Bourke, Nick. (Nov. 2018). Ohio a National Model for Payday Loan Reform. Pew Charitable
Trusts.

27. Virginia Poverty Law Center. HB 789/SB 421: Virginia Fairness in Lending Act.

28. Locke, Mamie E. SB 421 Summary as Enacted with Governor’'s Recommendations. Virginia’s
Legislative Information System.

29. Va. Code Ann. sec. 6.2-312.

30. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. (June 19, 2007). Affordable Small-Dollar Loan Guide-
lines. FDIC Financial Institution Letters.



https://www.cpr.org/2019/01/31/with-new-limits-on-interest-colorados-payday-lenders-could-soon-close/
https://www.cpr.org/2019/01/31/with-new-limits-on-interest-colorados-payday-lenders-could-soon-close/
https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/trust/archive/spring-2019/how-ohio-brought-fairness-to-payday-loans
https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/trust/archive/spring-2019/how-ohio-brought-fairness-to-payday-loans
file://///senators/Legislature/Downloads/tmoore/Downloads/hb123_05_EN%20(2).pdf
https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/download?key=10250&format=pdf
https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/download?key=10250&format=pdf
https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/research-and-analysis/data-visualizations/2018/ohio-a-national-model-for-payday-loan-reform
https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/research-and-analysis/data-visualizations/2018/ohio-a-national-model-for-payday-loan-reform
https://vplc.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/hb789_sb421_fact-sheet_01-14-2020_vplc-1.pdf
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+sum+SB421
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+sum+SB421
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title6.2/chapter3/section6.2-312/
https://www.fdic.gov/news/financial-institution-letters/2007/fil07050a.html
https://www.fdic.gov/news/financial-institution-letters/2007/fil07050a.html







