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Nebraska's Miscellaneous Taxes

Introduction

When we think of the types of taxes we pay,
we usually think of the big three: income, sales,
and property taxes. While these account for a
majority of the revenue collected in Nebraska,
numerous other types of taxes are assessed on
various activities. These taxes include gaming
taxes; cigarette tax; alcoholic beverages tax;
documentary stamp tax; inheritance tax;
lodging tax; franchise tax; insurance premium
tax; corporate occupation tax; resource taxes;
and aircraft, motor vehicle, and related taxes.

This LRO Backgrounder—Nebraska'’s
Miscellaneous Taxes—is designed to provide

a solid foundation and pertinent information
regarding the numerous miscellaneous taxes

in the state. We hope this Backgrounder will

be a useful resource as legislators and staff
develop policy, research related issues, and
provide information to or answer questions
from constituents. Other than inheritance taxes,
this Backgrounder generally includes only state
miscellaneous taxes and not taxes administered
by and used to fund local entities. In addition,
two fees, the Petroleum Release Remedial
Action Fee and the Motor Vehicle Registration
Fee, are included because of their close
relationship with a particular miscellaneous

tax, but all other fees are excluded from the
report. Finally, some miscellaneous taxes with
insignificant amounts of revenue are excluded.

Thank you to the staff in the Legislative

Fiscal Office, the Revenue Committee, the
Department of Insurance, the Department of
Motor Vehicles, the Department of Revenue,
and the Nebraska Association of County
Officials for assistance with this Backgrounder.

Table 1: Selected Miscellaneous Tax

Revenue, Ranked by Amount Collected

Source of Tax Revenue*
Motor Fuel Tax $332,542,211
Motor Vehicle Registration Tax $243,486,376
Insurance Premium Tax $91,281,079
Inheritance Tax $70,974,334
Cigarette Tax $55,192,802
Alcoholic Beverages Tax $30,084,324
Franchise Tax $25,925,744
Documentary Stamp Tax $23,520,992
Motor Vehicle Registration Fee $22,275,507
County Lodging Tax $20,101,652
Corporation Occupation Tax $11,325,490
Petroleum Release Remedial Action Fee $11,140,020
Tobacco Products Tax $7,234,277
Charitable Gaming Taxes S5,575,711
State Lodging Tax S$5,244,601
Oil and Gas Severance Tax $2,930,024
Aircraft Fuels Tax $1,361,108
Mechanical Amusements Tax $409,752
Oil and Gas Conservation Tax $342,875
Pari-mutuel Wagering Tax $149,535
Uranium Severance Tax $49,847

* Revenue is from calendar year or fiscal year 2015, except for
inheritance tax and franchise tax, which are from 2014 (most re-
cent year available), and corporation occupation tax, which is a

two-year total.
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Gaming Taxes

Gaming Taxes

In Nebraska, miscellaneous taxes are assessed on three types of gaming: charitable gaming, pari-mutuel wagering, and
mechanical amusement devices. The state Constitution allows another form of gaming, a lottery operated and regulated
by the state, and directs the proceeds of the lottery to the Compulsive Gamblers Assistance Fund, the Nebraska
Environmental Trust, education, and the Nebraska State Fair.' The Nebraska State Lottery is not subject to any type of

miscellaneous tax.

Charitable Gaming
The Charitable Gaming Division

The Charitable Gaming Division (division) of the
Department of Revenue administers the Nebraska

Bingo Act, the Nebraska County and City Lottery Act,

the Nebraska Lottery and Raffle Act, the Nebraska Small
Lottery and Raffle Act, and the Nebraska Pickle Card
Lottery Act (the acts).? Taxes and fees collected on these
activities are allocated as follows: $50,000 is transferred to
the Compulsive Gamblers Assistance Fund, 40 percent to
the division for costs of enforcing the acts, and 60 percent
to the General Fund. Prior to 1986, when the division

was created, all revenue from taxes and fees went to the
General Fund. All tax revenue from keno pursuant to the
Nebraska County and City Lottery Act was credited to the
General Fund until 1989.

In fiscal year 2015, the Charitable Gaming Division issued
6,715 licenses and collected $5,575,711 in tax revenue on
$270,453,844 wagered on charitable gaming in the state.?

Nebraska Bingo Act

Nonprofit organizations, volunteer fire companies, and
volunteer first-aid, rescue, ambulance, or emergency
squads are eligible to be licensed to conduct bingo
under the Nebraska Bingo Act. An organization can hold
either a Class | license, if its annual gross receipts are
below $100,000, or a Class Il license, if its annual gross
receipts equal or exceed $100,000. In fiscal year 2015, 70
organizations held Class | licenses, and 13 organizations
held Class Il licenses.

An unlicensed nonprofit organization can also apply for a
special event bingo permit, subject to certain limitations. In
fiscal year 2015, 92 special event bingo permits were issued.

Class I and Class Il licensees must pay a tax of three percent
of bingo gross receipts. Organizations with a special event
bingo permit pay a fee of $15 but are not subject to the
gross receipts tax. In fiscal year 2015, a total of $6,798,518
was wagered, and bingo tax receipts equaled $203,957:
$61,661 from Class | licensees and $142,296 from Class Il
licensees.

1. Neb. Const. Art. ITI, sec. 24.
2. Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 9-1,101.

3. 2015 Charitable Gaming Annual Report, Nebraska Department of Revenue, http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming/annual

reports/2015GamingAnnualReport.pdf.
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Gaming Taxes

A tax on bingo has been in place since 1959. Originally, the
tax was a local tax, imposed by municipalities or counties,
at a rate of 10 percent. For bingo authorized by the county,
one-half of proceeds were remitted to the state, and one-
half were retained by the county. The tax rate for bingo
conducted by municipalities and counties, amended to

be five percent and 10 percent, respectively, was reduced
over time for both types of political subdivisions to four
percent and then two percent until these taxes were
eliminated in 1999. The state tax on bingo was enacted in
1969, eliminated in 1978, and reinstated in 1983. The state
tax rate was five percent from 1969 to 1978, six percent
from 1983 until 1997, and has been its current rate of three
percent since 1997.

Nebraska County and City Lottery Act (Keno)

Counties, cities, and villages are authorized to conduct
lotteries pursuant to the Nebraska County and City Lottery
Act.* A county, city, or village can choose to hold either a
traditional ticket drawing lottery or keno, which is a game
where players choose from a pool of 80 numbers, and
prizes are awarded based on players matching numbers
drawn.

Counties, cities, and villages must first present the issue

to the voters for approval, and once approved, obtain

a license. Lottery operators (entities that operate the
lottery on behalf of the county, city, or village), sales outlet
locations (businesses where the lottery takes place), and
lottery workers (persons who administer the lottery) must
also be licensed. The county, city, or village pays a tax of
two percent of the total proceeds from the lottery or keno
gaming.

Most of the charitable gaming
tax revenue is collected on keno
gaming. In fiscal year 2015,
$4,651,077 was collected from
keno gaming from a total of
$232,553,815 wagered across
Nebraska; 175 counties, cities,
and villages held licenses; 170
lottery operators were licensed;
722 sales outlet locations were
licensed; and 1,223 lottery
workers were licensed.

Counties, cities, and villages have been authorized to
conduct lotteries for community betterment purposes,
subject to voter approval, since 1977. The tax on lottery
proceeds was instituted in 1983, and the rate has
remained unchanged.

Nebraska Lottery and Raffle Act and the Nebraska
Small Lottery and Raffle Act

Nonprofit organizations, volunteer fire companies, and
volunteer first-aid, rescue, ambulance, or emergency
squads are eligible to conduct lotteries or raffles under
the Nebraska Lottery and Raffle Act.® Licenses are only
required for lotteries in excess of $1,000 or raffles in excess
of $5,000.

4. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 9-601 to 9-653.
5. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 9-401 to 9-437.
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Gaming Taxes

Proceeds for licensed lotteries and raffles are subject to
a tax of two percent of gross receipts. The tax on lotteries
and raffles for nonprofit organizations has been in place
since 1986, and the rate has remained unchanged.

In fiscal year 2015, $3,798,577 was wagered in lotteries
and $3,809,992 was wagered in raffles. The total tax
revenue was $152,172 from 368
organizations licensed to conduct
lotteries or raffles.

Nonprofit organizations can conduct a ‘.‘/
lottery with proceeds less than $1,000 £
once a month or multiple raffles with
combined proceeds less than $5,000
in a month without a license pursuant
to the Nebraska Small Lottery and
Raffle Act.’ Small lotteries and raffles
conducted without a license are not
subject to tax.

Nebraska Pickle Card Lottery Act

Nonprofit organizations, volunteer
fire companies, and volunteer first-
aid, rescue, ambulance, or emergency
squads are eligible to conduct a
lottery by sale of pickle cards.”
Organizations obtain pickle card units from distributors,

and both organizations and distributors must be licensed.

Organizations can be licensed to sell pickle cards at their
premises at regularly scheduled bingo occasions (Class

) or to sell pickle cards on the premises of one or more
licensed pickle card operators (Class Il).

The tax on pickle cards is paid by the distributor, rather
than the nonprofit organization. Distributors pay a tax of
10 percent on the definite profit for each pickle card unit
sold. “Definite profit”is gross proceeds minus possible
prizes for all of the cards in the pickle card unit.

In fiscal year 2015, the total amount wagered on pickle
cards was $23,492,942; 147 organizations held Class |
licenses; and 204 organizations held Class Il licenses. The
tax revenue from pickle cards was $585,505: $114,213
from Class | licensees and $454,292 from Class Il licensees.

In 2015, 293 individuals were licensed as sales agents.
Sales agents are licensed individuals who sell pickle card
units on behalf of organizations to pickle card operators.

Two pickle card distributors and 608 pickle card operators
were licensed as well.

The state tax on pickle cards was enacted in 1983.The
rate was $2.00 per unit sold plus two percent of the

gross proceeds. In 1986, the tax rate increased to three
percent of gross proceeds, and the $2.00 per unit tax

was eliminated. In 1988, the tax was
placed on definite profit, rather than
gross proceeds, and the rate was set at
20 percent. The tax was lowered from
20 percent to 13 percent in 1989 and
from 13 percent to its current level of 10
percent in 1990. In 1994, the Legislature
added a statutory presumption that any
pickle card unit sold by a distributor or
obtained by a manufacturer and not
accounted for is subject to tax unless
proven otherwise by the distributor.

Pari-Mutuel Wagering

Pari-mutuel wagering is permitted on
live horse racing and intrastate and
interstate simulcast races.® Wagering can
only be conducted at licensed racetrack
enclosures, of which there are currently
five. To be licensed, a racetrack enclosure
must hold at least one day of live racing. Scheduled live
race dates for 2016, according to the Nebraska Racing
Commission, will be in Grand Island (31 days), Lincoln (1
day), Columbus (16 days), Omaha (5 days), and Hastings (1
day).

The tax on pari-mutuel wagering is staggered: the first
$10 million gross amount wagered is not taxed, the

gross amount wagered from $10 million to $73 million

is taxed at a rate of two and one-half percent, and any
gross amount wagered over $73 million is taxed at four
percent. The tax revenue is credited to the General Fund.
In the 2014-2015 fiscal year, tax revenue from pari-mutuel
wagering totaled $149,535.

Nebraska law allows a credit against the tax equal to two
percent of the first $70 of the gross amount wagered

at each race meeting for capital improvements and
maintenance within the licensed racetrack enclosure.
However, for any race held at the location of the Nebraska
State Fair, the credit is two and one half percent of the

6. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 9-501 to 9-513.
7. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 9-301 to 9-356.
8. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 2-1201 to 2-1247.
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In 2015, a total of $69,301,184 was
wagered: $61,051,628 on interstate
simulcast racing; $2,553,018 on
intrastate simulcast racing; and
$5,696,538 on live racing. About 52
percent of the total was wagered
at the Omaha racing location, with
another 21 percent wagered in
Lincoln, and 20 percent wagered in
Grand Island.

first $70 million of the gross amount wagered. The 2014
Nebraska Department of Revenue Tax Expenditure Report
calculates the value of this credit to be $705,136.

As originally enacted in 1959, the tax on pari-mutuel
wagering was equal to two percent of any amount
wagered in excess of $1 million. Since then, the tax rate
and amounts wagered that are subject to tax have been
amended many times. The current rates were set in 1993.
The credit for capital improvements and maintenance
was added in 1987, the same year that the Legislature
authorized simulcast racing.

In 2009, the Legislature authorized the Nebraska State Fair
to move from Lincoln to Grand Island. In that legislation,
the provisions regarding pari-mutuel wagering were
amended to the current system. Previously, there was no
tax on wagering at the State Fairgrounds, and a credit of
two percent was available for any wagering in excess of
$10 million for maintenance on the fairgrounds.

Gaming Taxes

Mechanical Amusement Devices

Nebraska imposes an occupation tax on all mechanical
amusement devices.® Mechanical amusement devices are
machines used for games, amusements, or contests that
accept money for play, and they include devices such as
pinball machines; shuffleboard tables; coin-operated pool
tables; bowling games; radio-ray rifle games; baseball,
football, racing, and boxing games; game and draw
lotteries; and coin-operated musical devices.

Operators and distributors of mechanical amusement
devices must be licensed. Operators must remit the
occupation tax by January 1 of each year for each device
operated all year. The tax rate is $35 for each device putin
operation on or after January 1, and $20 for each device
put in operation after July 1 of each year. Proof of tax
payment is evidenced by a sticker on each device.

Revenue from the tax is credited to the General Fund. In
2015, $409,752 was collected.

The tax was first enacted in 1969. Initially, the tax was
due July 1 of each year, and the rate was $10 per device
in operation on or after July 1 and $5 for each device in
operation after January 1. The tax rate was increased to
$15 and $7.50, respectively, in 1977, and to $25 and $15,
respectively, in 1982. The timing of the payments and the
increase to the current rates were implemented in 1997.

9. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 77-3001 to 77-3011.
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Cigarette and Tobacco Products Taxes

Cigarette Tax

Cigarettes are taxed at a rate of $0.64 per pack of 20 cigarettes and $0.80 per pack of 80 cigarettes.’” The cigarette tax
is paid by the wholesaler, and proof of payment is evidenced by the cigarette stamp, which is affixed to the package of
cigarettes prior to retail sale. There is a federal tax, in addition to the state tax, of $1.01 per pack of 20 cigarettes.

As illustrated in Table 2, Nebraska’s tax is lower than most other states.

Table 2: State Cigarette Tax Rates 2016

Tax
State Tax Rate | Rank | State Rate Rank | State Tax Rate | Rank
Alabama $0.68 39 | Louisiana $1.08 33 | Oklahoma $1.03 34
Alaska $2.00 12 | Maine $2.00 12 | Oregon $1.32 30
Arizona $2.00 12 | Maryland $2.00 12 | Pennsylvania $1.60 23
Arkansas $1.15 32 | Massachusetts $3.51 4 | Rhode Island $3.75 2
California $0.87 36 | Michigan $2.00 12 | South Carolina $S0.57 44
Colorado $0.84 37 | Minnesota $3.00 8 | South Dakota $1.53 26
Connecticut $3.65 3 | Mississippi S0.68 38 | Tennessee $0.62 41
Delaware $1.60 23 | Missouri S0.17 51 | Texas $1.41 27
DC $2.50 11 | Montana $1.70 20 | Utah $1.70 20
Florida $1.34 29 NEJENE) $0.64 Nl Vermont $3.08 6
Georgia $0.37 49 | Nevada $1.80 18 | Virginia $0.30 50
Hawaii $3.20 5 | New Hampshire $1.78 19 | Washington $3.03 7
Idaho S0.57 44 | New Jersey $2.70 9 | West Virginia $0.55 46
Illinois $1.98 17 | New Mexico $1.66 22 | Wisconsin $2.52 10
Indiana $1.00 35 | New York $4.35 1 | Wyoming S0.60 42
lowa $1.36 28 | North Carolina $0.45 47 | Puerto Rico $2.23 NA
Kansas $1.29 31 | North Dakota $0.44 48 | Guam $3.00 NA
Kentucky S0.60 42 | Ohio $1.60 23 | Northern Marianas $1.75 NA

10. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 77-2601 to 77-2622.
11. State Cigarette Excise Tax Rates & Rankings, Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, March 31, 2016, accessible at https://www.tobaccofreekids.org/re-
search/factsheets/pdf/0097.pdf.
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Tobacco Taxes

In 2015, $55,192,802 was collected in cigarette tax.
Revenue from the cigarette tax has been generally
declining for the past decade as sales of cigarettes
decrease.

The cigarette tax was enacted in 1947 at a rate of three
cents per pack of 20 cigarettes. The rate has increased over
time with the last substantial increase occurring in 2002,
when it was raised from $0.34 to its current rate of $0.64.

Tax revenue was credited to the General Fund until 1965,
when the Legislature began earmarking the revenue for
specific projects. Projects funded by cigarette tax revenue
include the Devaney Sports Center in Lincoln, the Century
Link Center in Omaha, state office buildings in Lincoln and
Omaha, other university and state college buildings, and
infrastructure development in Lincoln and Omabha.

Currently, state law allocates cigarette tax revenue as
follows:

e Forty-nine cents to the General Fund;

e One cent to the Nebraska Outdoor Recreation
Development Cash Fund; enacted in 1978;

e Three cents to the Health and Human Services
Cash Fund; enacted at one cent in 1983 and raised
to three cents in 1993;

e Seven cents to the Building Renewal Allocation
Fund; enacted at seven cents in 1996 and adjusted
twice before being set again at seven cents in
2003;

e $3,820,000 per year to the Nebraska Public Safety
Communication System Cash Fund; enacted in
2007;

e $1,250,000 per year to the Nebraska Health Care
Cash Fund; enacted in 2015; and

e The balance to the Nebraska Capital Construction
Fund; enacted in 1971; currently, there are not
allocations to this fund as all other earmarks
consume cigarette tax revenue.

Allocations to the City of the Metropolitan Class
Development Fund of $1,500,000 per year and the City of
the Primary Class Development Fund of $1,000,000 per
year, both enacted in 2001, expired on June 30, 2016.

In practice, if an allocation for any fund that is a set
number of cents is less than the amount credited to the

In addition to cigarette tax
revenue, Nebraska receives funds
from the Master Settlement
Agreement. In 1998, the four
largest American tobacco
companies and attorneys general
of 46 states entered into a Master
Settlement Agreement, which
settled states’ lawsuits against the
tobacco industry for recovery of
tobacco-related, health-care costs
and exempted tobacco companies
from further private tort lawsuits
involving tobacco use. The
agreement awarded participating
states more than $206 billion over
25 years. Nebraska has received

a little more than $640 million
through fiscal year 2016.

fund for fiscal year 1997-1998, then the fund receives the
equivalent of the 1997-1998 allocation, and the General
Fund allocation is reduced by the difference. Because
cigarette tax revenue has declined, the General Fund has
received less than 49 cents for the past several years, and
the Nebraska Outdoor Recreation Development Cash
Fund, Health and Human Services Cash Fund, and Building
Renewal Allocation Fund have received a set amount every
year based upon the 1997-1998 payment.

Tobacco Products Tax

Other tobacco products, such as cigars, pipe tobacco,
loose tobacco, chewing tobacco, and snuff, are subject to
the tobacco products tax.’? The tax on snuff is 44 cents per
ounce, and other products are taxed at 20 percent of the
wholesale purchase price.

All tobacco products tax revenue is credited to the
Tobacco Products Administration Cash Fund. In 2015,
$7,234,277 was collected in tobacco products tax.

The tax on tobacco products was originally enacted in
1987.The initial tax rate was 15 percent, and increased to
its current rate of 20 percent in 2002. The separate tax rate
on snuff was added in 2009.

12. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 77-4001 to 77-4025.
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Alcoholic Beverages Tax

The tax on alcoholic beverages was enacted
in 1935. Initially, tax rates were three cents
per gallon of beer, five cents per gallon
of wine or other beverages with alcohol
content less than 14 percent alcohol by
volume, 15 cents per gallon of wine or
other beverages with alcohol content
more than 14 percent alcohol by volume,
and 50 cents per gallon of spirits. Tax
rates were increased every few years
until 2003, when the current rates were
- set. In 1966, the tax rate distinction
between wines with different alcohol
content was eliminated, but it was
reinstituted in 1979. The distinction was
eliminated again in 2003. The separate
rate for farm wineries was established
in 1985, when the farm winery license
was created.

The tax on alcoholic beverages is assessed on
manufacturers and distributors of alcohol sold
for consumption in Nebraska.” The tax rate
is $3.75 per gallon for spirits, $0.31 per gallon
for beer, and $0.95 per gallon for wine, except
wine produced on farm wineries is taxed at
$0.06 per gallon. The state tax is assessed
on alcohol subject to the federal excise tax.
The tax is administered by the Nebraska
Liquor Control Commission (commission),
tax payments are due the 25" of each
month.

In 2015, $30,084,324 was collected in
taxes on alcoholic beverages. Of that
total, $14,139,449 was collected on beer,
$15,939,625 was collected on spirits and
wine, and $5,250 was collected on farm
wineries. Tax revenue is credited to the
General Fund.

Alcohol Tax Collected by Year

$31,000,000.00

2011 2m2 2013 2014 2015

$30,000,000.00

$28,000,000.00

Tax $ Collected

$28,000,000.00

$27,000,000.00

13. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 53-160 to 53-165.
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Documentary Stamp Tax

Documentary Stamp Tax

The documentary stamp tax is a tax imposed on the transfer of real estate. Technically, the tax is imposed on a grantor of
a deed to real property upon a transfer of an interest or legal title to the property.'

The tax rate is $2.25 per $1,000 of value in the property. The value of the property means the amount paid for the
property, including any liens, and in the case of a gift or transfer with nominal consideration, value means market value.

All deeds are taxable unless subject to a specific exemption. Exempt deeds include:

(1) Deeds recorded prior to November 18, 1965;

(2) Deeds to property transferred by the federal
government, state government, or any of their
agencies or political subdivisions;

(3) Deeds which secure or release a debt;

(4) Deeds which, without additional
consideration, confirm, correct, modify, or
supplement a deed already recorded but do
not extend or limit an existing interest;

(5) Deeds between spouses, between ex-spouses
conveying property acquired during the
marriage, or between parent and child,
without actual consideration, and certain
deeds to or from a family corporation,
partnership, or limited liability company;

(6) Tax deeds;
(7) Deeds of partition;

(8) Deeds made pursuant to mergers,
consolidations, sales, or transfers of the assets
of corporations;

(9) Deeds made by a subsidiary corporation to
its parent corporation for no consideration
other than the cancellation or surrender of the
subsidiary’s stock;

(10) Cemetery deeds;

(11) Mineral deeds;

(12) Deeds executed pursuant to court decrees;
(13) Land contracts;

(14) Deeds which release a reversionary interest,
a condition subsequent or precedent, a
restriction, or any other contingent interest;

(15) Deeds of distribution executed by a personal
representative conveying to devisees or
heirs property passing by testate or intestate
succession;

(16) Transfer on death deeds or revocations of
transfer on death deeds;

(17) Certified or authenticated death certificates;

(18) Deeds transferring property located within
the boundaries of an Indian reservation if the
grantor or grantee is a reservation Indian;

(19) Deeds transferring property into a trust if
the transfer of the same property would be
exempt if the transfer was made directly from
the grantor to the beneficiary or beneficiaries
under the trust;

(20) Deeds transferring property from a trustee to
a beneficiary of a trust;

(21) Deeds which convey property held in the
name of any partnership or limited liability
company to any partner in the partnership or
member of the limited liability company or to
his or her spouse;

(22) Leases;
(23) Easements;

(24) Deeds which transfer title from a trustee
to a beneficiary pursuant to a power of sale
exercised by a trustee under a trust deed; or

(25) Deeds transferring property, without actual
consideration, to a nonprofit organization
that is exempt from federal income tax under
section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code
and is not a private foundation as defined in
section 509(a) of the Internal Revenue Code.

14. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 77-901 to 77-908.
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The register of deeds in each county is responsible for
computing and collecting the tax when each deed is
recorded. A stamp is attached to each deed to show the
tax has been paid.

Tax proceeds are distributed:
(1) $0.50 to the county general fund;
(2) $0.95 to the Affordable Housing Trust Fund;

(3) $0.25 to the Site and Building Development
Fund;

(4) $0.25 to the Homeless Shelter Assistance
Trust Fund; and

(5) $0.30 to the Behavioral Health Services Fund.

A taxpayer can claim a refund of the documentary
stamp tax if payment of the tax was the result of a
misunderstanding or mistake of the taxpayer, clerical

error of the register of deeds or the taxpayer, or invalid for

any reason.

In 2015, 83,359 real estate transactions occurred in
Nebraska, and even with the numerous exemptions,

Documentary Stamp Tax

52,128 transactions were subject to the documentary
stamp tax. A total of $23,520,992 was collected, and
of that $5,226,365 was retained by the counties and
$18,294,628 was remitted to the State Treasurer to be
credited to the other funds.

The documentary stamp tax was enacted in 1965. At
that time, the rate was $0.55 per $500 of value, and the
revenue was credited to the General Fund. In 1969, the
law was amended to allocate 25 percent of the proceeds
to the county general fund. The rate increased in 1985
to $1.50 per $1,000 of valuation, in 1992 to $1.75 per
$1,000, and to its current rate in 2005. The counties’ share
was changed from 25 percent of the proceeds to 33

1/3 percent of the proceeds in 1985 and was ultimately
adjusted to its current allocation of $0.50 in 1992. The
number and language of exemptions were amended
frequently. The refund procedure was added in 1981.

In 1992, the allocation of tax to the Homeless Assistance
Fund was added to the statute, and in 1997, a change
to the law included the credit to the Affordable Housing
Trust Fund. The distribution to the Site and Building
Development Fund was added in 2011.
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Inheritance Tax

Inheritance Tax

Inheritance tax is imposed on property that passes by will
or interstate law from a decedent to the decedent’s heirs.”
The tax also applies to nonresident decedents who own
property subject to tax in Nebraska. Nebraska is one of six
states with an inheritance tax.

Property subject to inheritance tax includes all property
owned by the decedent at the time of death, property
owned jointly with another person, certain property
transferred to another person within three years prior to
the decedent’s death, and benefits from assets such as life
insurance policies. Property is valued at its current market
value for purposes of determining the amount of the tax.

Property exempt from inheritance tax includes donations
to charitable organizations and to state or federal
government entities. The homestead allowance, exempt
household property, and the family maintenance
allowance are also exempt.

Table 3: Inheritance Tax Rates

Relationship Exemption | Rate

Spouse All 0%

Parents, Grand-

parents, Siblings, 1% on amount in

Children $40,000 excess of $40,000
13% on amount in

Other Relatives $15,000 excess of $15,000
18% on amount in

None $10,000 excess of $10,000

Certain deductions are allowed from the total property of
the decedent for purposes of calculating inheritance tax.
These deductions include (1) the cost of the decedent’s
funeral; (2) costs of administration as a result of the death
of the decedent, including attorney’s costs, court costs,
and expenses related to the property; (3) expenses of the
last iliness of the decedent within six months of his or her
death; (4) all debts for which the decedent was liable at
the time of death and which have been paid; and (5) any
federal estate tax paid which is attributable to property
subject to inheritance tax.

The inheritance tax rate varies depending upon the

Unlike the other taxes discussed in this
report, inheritance tax is paid directly to
the county where the decedent lived or,

in the case of a nonresident, where the
property was located. The tax revenue can
be credited to the county general fund or
another fund selected by the county board.

familial relationship between the person inheriting the
property and the decedent. The decedent’s spouse does
not pay inheritance tax, but all other relatives do, in
varying amounts.

All inheritance taxes are due within 12 months of the date
of the decedent’s death. Administrators, executors, or
trustees are required to collect the tax upon delivery of
any property of the decedent and have the power to sell
the decedent’s property as needed to pay the tax.

Table 4 shows the total inheritance tax collected by the 93
counties for fiscal years 2007-2008 through 2012-2013 and
the average collected per county for each fiscal year.

Table 4: Inheritance Tax Collected

Fiscal Year State Total County Average
2013-2014 | $70,974,334 $763,165
2012-2013 | $58,771,971 $631,957
2011-2012 | $56,428,094 $606,754
2010-2011 $48,193,929 $518,214
2009-2010 | $39,587,130 $425,668
2008-2009 | $41,986,622 $451,469
2007-2008 $41,801,411 $449,478

If a payment is made erroneously, a refund is allowed. The
taxpayer must make an application to the county court
within two years of payment seeking the refund.

The inheritance tax in Nebraska dates back to 1901. At that
time, the basic structure of the tax was similar to its current
structure. However, rates were substantially lower and the
decedent’s spouse was subject to the tax. The statutes
have been amended many times, but most of the changes
occurred prior to the 1970s. The last significant change

to the inheritance tax was in 2007, when the rates and
exemption amounts were amended to their current levels.

15. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 77-2001 to 77-2040.
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Lodging Tax

Lodging Tax

Nebraska authorizes two lodging taxes: state lodging tax

and county lodging tax.'® The lodging taxes are in addition

to any sales tax imposed on hotel occupancy.

The state lodging tax rate is one percent of the gross
receipts from the total charges for hotel occupancy at
any hotel in the state. Tax revenue is credited to the state
Visitors Promotion Cash Fund. The Nebraska Tourism
Commission uses these funds to promote, encourage,
and attract visitors to and in the state, erect and replace
highway tourism markers, enhance facilities, and
provide marketing assistance grants to communities and
organizations.

The county lodging tax rate can be up to four percent of

the gross receipts: two percent can be directed to a County

Visitors Promotion Fund, and two percent can be directed
to a County Visitors Improvement Fund. The County
Visitors Promotion Fund is generally used to promote,
encourage, and attract visitors to the county, while the
County Visitors Improvement Fund is used to improve
attractions and facilities, make grants to organizations,

or if no improvements are necessary, to promote and

In 2015, Nebraska collected
$5,244,601 of lodging tax,
while the total county lodging
tax collected was $20,101,652.

encourage visitors to come to the county. Three percent
of the tax collected for the County Visitors Promotion

Fund is retained by the state Department of Revenue for
administrative costs and deposited in the General Fund.

Entities that are exempt from paying sales and use tax

are also exempt from paying lodging tax. Exempt entities
include the federal government, state government,
political subdivisions, the Nebraska State Fair Board, the
Nebraska Investment Finance Authority, licensees of the
State Racing Commission, and certain nonprofit entities,
such as religious entities, hospitals and other types of care
facilities, and schools and postsecondary institutions.

The state and county lodging taxes were enacted in 1980,
each at a rate of two percent. In 1989, authority to create a
County Visitors Improvement Fund was added for counties
with a population of more than 300,000 and in those
counties, the authority to increase county lodging tax

by an additional two percent was also included. In 2003,
all counties were authorized to create a County Visitors
Improvement Fund, and the county lodging tax was
increased to four percent.

16. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 81-3701 to 81-3727.
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Franchise Tax

Franchise Tax

The franchise tax is imposed on all deposits at financial
institutions in the state."” Financial institutions include
banks, credit unions, savings and loan institutions, and
their subsidiaries. Deposits include all money placed in
the custody of the financial institution for withdrawal by
a customer, including money available for withdrawal at
a fixed future date, but does not include money in the
custody of a trust department.

The tax rate is calculated by multiplying twelve and
three-tenths and the limitation factor (48.8 percent of the
maximum corporate income tax, currently 7.81 percent),
and converting this into cents.

For example, 12.3 x (48.8 x 7.81) = 47 cents.

The tax rate of 47 cents applies for every $1,000 of average
deposits, but there is a limitation on the tax due. The
limitation amount equals the net financial income of the
financial institution multiplied by the limitation factor. The
limitation factor equals 3.81 percent. Net financial income
means income of the institution and its subsidiaries, after
ordinary expenses, but before taxes and extraordinary
gains or losses.'®

The tax is paid annually and revenue is credited to

the General Fund. Franchise tax revenue in 2014 was
$25,925,744. The franchise tax has not been amended
since its enactment in 1986.

17. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 77-3801 to 77-3807.

18. Each partner, shareholder, member, or beneficiary of a partnership, subchapter S corporation, limited liability company, or estate or trust is allowed a
nonrefundable credit against individual income tax for the share of franchise tax paid by a financial institution. Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 77-2715.07.
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Insurance Premium Tax

Insurance Premium Tax

Insurance premium tax is collected on all policies written
in the state by insurance companies, except policies
written by fraternal benefit societies are not subject to
tax." The tax is applicable to all insurance premiums paid
for risks located in Nebraska and premiums paid on the
lives of Nebraska residents, whether or not the insurance
was written in the state, and premiums received by
Nebraska companies written on nonresidents.?’ Premiums
on annuities and pensions, profit-sharing, and individually
sponsored retirement plans are exempt from the tax.

Generally, the premium tax rate is one percent of written
premiums, except the rate is:

(1) One-half of one percent on all sickness and
accident insurance premiums.

(2) One-fourth of one percent for premiums by
captive insurers. Captive insurers are companies
owned by another entity, whose sole purpose
is to insure the risks of the parent entity and
affiliates.

(3) Three-fourths of one percent on all premiums and

assessment for fire insurance business done by
foreign companies.

(4) Three-eighths of one percent on all premiums and
assessment for fire insurance business done by
Nebraska companies.

The Department of Insurance administers the tax. Tax
payments are due March 1 of each year. If the net tax
liability for the previous year exceeds $4,000, quarterly
prepayments are due April 15, June 15, and September 15.
The tax paid on those dates equals 25 percent of either the
total tax paid for the preceding year or 80 percent of the
tax due for the current year.

Most insurance premium tax revenue is allocated: (1)

40 percent to the General Fund; (2) 10 percent to the
Mutual Finance Assistance Fund; and (3) 50 percent to the
Insurance Tax Fund. Money in the Insurance Tax Fund is
further allocated: (a) 10 percent to counties, distributed
based on population; (b) 30 percent to the Municipal
Equalization Fund; and (c) 60 percent to school districts
through the state aid formula pursuant to the Tax Equity
and Educational Opportunities Support Act.

Insurance Premium Tax Allocation

® General Fund
® Mutual Finance Assistance Fund
Insurance Tax Fund

19. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 44-150; 48-1,113; 77-907 to 77-918; and 81-523.

20. Insurers paying tax on premiums and assessments are allowed a credit against corporate income tax. Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 77-2734.03.
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Insurance Premium Tax

Tax revenue for workers’ compensation insurance is
credited to the Workers’ Compensation Tax Fund. Fire
insurance tax is credited to the General Fund.

In 2015, $91,281,079 was collected in insurance premium
tax, which can be broken down:

e $83,181,075 in insurance premium tax;

o $4,072,270 in fire insurance premium tax; and

$4,027,734 to the Workers’ Compensation Tax
Fund.

The insurance premium tax was originally enacted in
1951. At that time, foreign companies paid a rate of two
percent of gross premiums, and the rate for Nebraska
companies was four-tenths of one percent.

Significant changes were made in 1986: (1) the distinction
between foreign and Nebraska companies was
eliminated; (2) the rate was set generally at one percent;
(3) separate rates were added for accident and sickness
insurance at one-half of one percent and property and
casualty insurance at six-tenths of one percent, the

latter of which increased a tenth of a percent each year

and reached a maximum of one percent in 1988; (4)

the allocation was changed in the Insurance Tax Fund

to reduce the share to counties, add municipalities and
schools to the formula, and eliminate the share to the
General Fund; and (5) the overall allocation of revenue
was changed to be half to the Insurance Tax Fund and half
to the General Fund.

The lower rate for captive insurers was added in 2007.
Different credits against the insurance premium tax

have been added as well, in 1984 for the Community
Development Assistance Act, in 2012 for the New Markets
Job Growth Investment Act, in 2014 for the Nebraska Job
Creation and Mainstreet Revitalization Act, and 2016 for
the Affordable Housing Tax Credit.

Originally enacted in 1925 at a rate of three-eighths of
one percent of all premiums and assessments, the tax on
fire insurance is the state’s oldest insurance premium tax.
The rate increased to one-half of one percent in 1949, and
in 1953, the distinction between foreign and Nebraska
companies was instituted with rates of one-half of one
percent and one-fourth of one percent, respectively. The
rates were increased to their current levels in 1979.

2015 Insurance Tax Revenue = $91 281 0/9

Fire Insurance
Premium Tax
($4,072,270)

Workers’
Compensation
Tax Fund
($4,027,734)

Insurance Premium Tax
($83,181,075)
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Corporation Occupation Tax

Domestic and foreign corporations are required to pay a corporation occupation tax, due March 1 of every even-
numbered year with their reports to the Secretary of State.?’ Domestic corporations are incorporated under the laws
of Nebraska, and foreign corporations are incorporated under the laws of another state but authorized to do business
in Nebraska. Banking, insurance, and building and loan association corporations are exempt from the corporation
occupation tax.

Table 5 shows the tax rate for each domestic corporation. The rate is based on the amount of the corporation’s “paid-up
capital stock,” which is defined as “the sum of the par value of all shares of capital stock of the corporation issued and
outstanding.”

Table 5: Occupation Tax Schedule for Domestic Corporations

Amount of Paid-Up Capital Stock | Tax Amount of Paid-Up Capital Stock | Tax
0-10,000 $26 | 450,000.01-500,000 S800
10,000.01-20,000 $40 | 500,000.01-600,000 $910
20,000.02-30,000 $60 | 600,000.01-700,000 $1,010
30,000.01-40,000 $80 | 700,00.01-800,000 $1,120
40,000.01-50,000 $100 | 800,000.01-900,000 $1,230
50,000.01-60,000 $120 | 900,000.01-1,000,000 $1,330
60,000.01-70,000 $140 | 1,000,000.01-2,000,000 $2,130
70,000.01-80,000 $160 | 2,000,000.01-3,000,000 $2,930
80,000.01-90,000 $180 | 3,000,000.01-4,000,000 $3,730
90,000.01-100,000 $200 | 4,000,000.01-5,000,000 $4,530
100,000.01-125,000 $240 | 5,000,000.01-6,000,000 $5,330
125,000.01-150,000 $280 | 6,000,000.01-7,000,000 $6,130
150,000.01-175,000 $320 | 7,000,000.01-8,000,000 $6,930
175,000.01-200,000 $360 | 8,000,000.01-9,000,000 $7,730
200,000.01-225,000 $400 | 9,000,000.01-10,000,000 $8,530
225,000.01-250,000 $440 | 10,000,000.01-15,000,000 $12,000
250,000.01-275,000 $480 | 15,000,000.01-20,000,000 $14,660
275,000.01-300,000 $520 | 20,000,000.01-25,000,000 $17,330
300,000.01-325,000 $560 | 25,000,000.01-50,000,000 $20,660
325,000.01-350,000 $600 | 50,000,000.01-100,000,000 $21,330
350,000.01-400,000 $666 | more than 100,000,000 $23,990
400,000.01-450,000 $730

21. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 21-301 to 21-330.
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The tax rate for each foreign corporation is double the rate for domestic corporations, but there is a cap of $30,000. The
tax rate based on the capital stock of the foreign corporation is shown in Table 6.

Table 6: Occupation Tax Schedule for Foreign Corporations

Amount of Paid-Up Capital Stock | Tax Amount of Paid-Up Capital Stock | Tax

0-10,000 $52 | 350,000.01-400,000 $1,332
10,000.01-20,000 $80 | 400,000.01-450,000 $1,460
20,000.02-30,000 $120 | 450,000.01-500,000 $1,600
30,000.01-40,000 $160 | 500,000.01-600,000 $1,820
40,000.01-50,000 $200 | 600,000.01-700,000 $2,020
50,000.01-60,000 $240 | 700,00.01-800,000 $2,240
60,000.01-70,000 $280 | 800,000.01-900,000 $2,460
70,000.01-80,000 $320 | 900,000.01-1,000,000 $2,660
80,000.01-90,000 $360 | 1,000,000.01-2,000,000 $4,260
90,000.01-100,000 $400 | 2,000,000.01-3,000,000 $5,860
100,000.01-125,000 $480 | 3,000,000.01-4,000,000 $7,460
125,000.01-150,000 $560 | 4,000,000.01-5,000,000 $9,060
150,000.01-175,000 $640 | 5,000,000.01-6,000,000 $10,660
175,000.01-200,000 $720 | 6,000,000.01-7,000,000 $12,260
200,000.01-225,000 $800 | 7,000,000.01-8,000,000 $13,860
225,000.01-250,000 $880 | 8,000,000.01-9,000,000 $15,460
250,000.01-275,000 $960 | 9,000,000.01-10,000,000 $17,060
275,000.01-300,000 $1,040 | 10,000,000.01-15,000,000 $24,000
300,000.01-325,000 $1,120 | 15,000,000.01-20,000,000 $29,320
325,000.01-350,000 $1,200 | more than 20,000,000 $30,000

Corporation occupation taxes are credited to the General Fund. In fiscal year 2014-2015, $194,736 was collected in
corporation occupation tax, and in fiscal year 2013-2014, $11,130,754 was collected. Because taxes are collected every
other year, revenue will be higher again in fiscal year 2015-2016.

First enacted in 1913, the corporation occupation tax prescribed a similar tax schedule based on capital stock. The
exemption for banking, insurance, and building and loan association corporations was in the original legislation in 1913.
The tax rates have increased over time, and a refund procedure was added in 1984. The tax was due annually until a
biennial schedule was adopted in 2003.

In addition to the tax, corporations, domestic and foreign limited liability companies, domestic and foreign partnerships,
and limited cooperative associations also pay a biennial filing fee. Filing fees range from $10 for nonprofit entities

to $200 for partnerships. The filing fee for corporations varies based on the value of authorized stock. These fees are
credited partially to the Corporation Cash Fund and the remainder is credited to the General Fund.?

22. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 21-192; 21-205; 21-1905; 21-2924; 33-101; 67-293; and 67-462.
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Resource Taxes

Resource Taxes

There are three types of resource taxes collected in
Nebraska: oil and gas severance tax, uranium severance
tax, and oil and gas conservation tax.

Severance Taxes

Severance tax is generally imposed on the mining or
removal of a nonrenewable resource from the earth.
Nebraska imposes a severance tax on oil and natural gas
and on uranium.

Oil and Gas Severance Tax

The severance tax rate on oil and gas mining is: three
percent on natural gas and nonstripper oil; and two
percent on stripper oil.2* Nonstripper oil means oil from

a property where production is more than 10 barrels

per day; stripper oil means oil from a property where
production is 10 or fewer barrels per day. Oil or gas used
only in severing operations or for repressuring or recycling
purposes is exempt from tax.

The tax is paid by the first purchaser, if the oil or gas is
sold in Nebraska, or if sold out of state, by the person or
company mining or “severing” the oil or gas.

Tax revenue is credited to the Severance Tax Fund and
distributed for several other purposes. One percent of
the revenue is used for administration of the tax. All
severance tax derived from school lands is credited to the
permanent school fund. Up to $300,000 of the revenue
can be appropriated to the State Energy Office Cash Fund
and up to $30,000 can be appropriated to the Public
Service Commission each year by the Legislature from the
Severance Tax Fund. All remaining tax revenue is credited
to the permanent school fund.

Oil and gas severance tax revenue for 2015 was $2,930,024.

The severance tax was originally instituted in 1955 at a rate
of two percent. The rate was increased to three percent

on properties with production of more than 10 barrels per
dayin 1981.

Uranium Severance Tax

There is also a severance tax on uranium mined in the
state.* The uranium severance tax was enacted in 1983
and has not been amended.

The tax rate is two percent of the value of any uranium
mined. However, the first $5 million in uranium mined
each year is exempt from tax. Tax revenue is credited to
the General Fund. Tax revenue for 2015 fiscal year was
$49,847.

Oil and Gas Conservation Tax

In addition to the severance tax, a conservation tax on the
value of oil and natural gas is collected.” The tax revenue
is remitted to the Oil and Gas Conservation Fund for use
by the Nebraska Oil and Gas Conservation Commission
(commission). The tax rate is capped by state law at 15
mills per dollar of the value of oil and gas severed, but the
rate itself is set by the commission. Currently, the rate is 12
mills, up from three mills as of March 1, 2016. (One mill =
one-tenth of one cent.)

The conservation tax collected in 2015 was $342,875.
Revenue dropped substantially from 2014 to 2015 but is
expected to increase again in 2016 with the increase in
mill rate.

The conservation tax was enacted in 1959 with a maximum
tax rate of two mills per dollar. The maximum rate the
commission can use was increased to four mills in 1980, to
five mills in 1995, and to its current rate of 15 mills in 1997.

23. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 57-700 to 57-719.
24. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 57-1200 to 57-1214.
25. Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 57-919.
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Aircraft, Motor Vehicle, and Related Taxes

Aircraft, Motor Vehicle, and Related Taxes

There are various taxes and fees on motor vehicles, related to fuel and license plates. Aircraft fuels, like fuels used in

motor vehicles, are also taxed.

Aircraft Fuels Tax

All aviation gasoline and jet fuel sold in the state is taxed.?
The tax rate is five cents per gallon on aviation gasoline
and three cents per gallon on jet fuel.

The tax revenue is credited to the Aircraft Fuel Tax Fund,
and after any refunds are made, the balance is credited
to the Department of Aeronautics Cash Fund. Fuel tax
revenue in 2015 was $1,361,108.

The aircraft fuel tax was enacted in 1945 at a rate of

five cents per gallon. The distinction between aviation
gasoline, taxed at five cents, and jet fuel, taxed at three
cents, was implemented in 1985. The rates have remained
unchanged since that time.

Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax

A tax on motor fuels, including gasoline, diesel fuel,
compressed fuel like propane, and compressed natural
gas, is assessed in Nebraska. The motor fuel tax rate as

of July 1, 2016, is 25.8 cents per gallon. In addition to

the state motor fuel tax, a federal tax of 18.3 cents per
gallon of gasoline, 24.3 cents per gallon of diesel fuel, and
0.1 cent per gallon of fuel for the Leaking Underground
Storage Tank Fee is imposed on fuel sold in the state.

The state motor fuel tax is made up of three components:”

e A wholesale portion of 11.5, which equals five
percent of the average wholesale fuel price sold
over a six-month period. Sixty-six percent of the
wholesale portion is directed to the Highway
Cash Fund for use by the Department of Roads
(department) and 34 percent is directed to the
Highway Allocation Fund for use by counties and
municipalities.

e Avariable portion, adjusted every six months, of
2.5, which is directed to the Highway Cash Fund
for use by the department.

e Afixed portion of 11.8, eight cents of which is
directed to the Highway Cash Fund for use by the
department and three and eight-tenths cents of
which is directed to the Highway Allocation Fund
for use by counties and municipalities.

Certain sales of fuel are exempt from motor fuel tax. For
motor vehicle fuel, these include exports with sales or use
in a different state, sales to the federal government or its
agencies and federal corporations owned by the federal
government, sales to a metropolitan transit authority, and
natural gasoline purchased by ethanol producers for use

26. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 3-148 to 3-152.

27. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 66-489.02; 66-4,105; 66-4,140; 66-4,144; and 66-4,145.
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as a denaturant.

For diesel fuel, exemptions include
exports with sales or use in a different
state, sales to the federal government
or its agencies and federal corporations
owned by the federal government, sales
to a metropolitan transit authority, and
sales of 50 gallons or less for use in a
temperature control unit (reefer) or
power-take-off unit.

Sales on Native American reservations
to Native Americans are also exempt,
but are subject to tribal tax pursuant to
agreements between the state and the
tribes residing on reservations in Nebraska.”®

In 2015, $332,542,211 was collected in motor fuel tax.

The motor fuel tax was first enacted in 1925. The tax was a
fixed rate of two cents per gallon. The original legislation
directed proceeds to a fund for construction and
maintenance of state and federal highways and allowed
apportionment of funds to counties for improving the
state and federal highway system.

The rates and other related provisions have been
amended numerous times over the years. In 1980,
legislation added an additional tax to the fixed portion
that was directed specifically to counties and cities, to

be allocated equally between the two. The legislation
also implemented a credit for agricultural ethyl alcohol,

a credit which continued until it was phased out in 1992.
The wholesale portion was added by legislation passed in
2008.

The most recent change, Laws 2015, LB 610, gradually
increased the fixed portion of the motor fuel tax.
Beginning January 1, 2016, the fixed portion of the motor
fuel tax increases at a rate of 1.5 cents per year over four
years for a total increase of 6 cents. The total fixed portion
of the motor fuel tax will be 16 and three-tenths cents in
2019.The amount directed to the department increases
one-half of a cent per year, reaching a maximum of 9.5
cents. The amount directed to counties and municipalities
increases one cent per year, reaching a maximum of 6.8
cents. When fully implemented, revenues are projected to
increase by over $25 million to the department and $50
million to counties and municipalities per year.

Petroleum Release Remedial Action Fee

A fee is imposed on all producers, refiners, importers,
distributors, wholesalers, and suppliers who sell, distribute,
deliver, or use petroleum in the state. The fee is $0.009 per
gallon of gasoline and $0.003 per gallon of diesel fuel.?

In 2015, $11,140,020 was collected in fees. Up to $150,000
per year can be deposited in the Petroleum Release
Remedial Action Collection Fund to pay for administrative
costs of the Department of Revenue. The remaining fee
proceeds are credited to the Petroleum Release Remedial
Action Cash Fund and used for:

(1) Claims related to a release of petroleum products
that cause damage to property or water supplies;

(2) Up to $3,000,000 for investigations and
reimbursements related to releases from
underground tanks; and

(3) Other approved expenses, including, but not
limited to, third-party claims, administrative
expenses of the State Fire Marshal or Department
of Environmental Quality, damages caused by the
department while investigating an action, and
interest payments.

The fee was instituted in 1989 at a rate of $0.003 per gallon
of motor vehicle fuel and $0.001 per gallon of fuels other
than motor vehicle fuel. In 1998, the fee was increased to
its current levels, and the current allocation of proceeds
from the Petroleum Release Remedial Action Cash Fund
was specified. In 2009, the maximum amount credited to
the Petroleum Release Remedial Action Collection Fund
was increased from $28,000 per fiscal year to $150,000.

28. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 66-489; 66-495; and 66-741.
29. Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 66-1521.
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Table 7 shows the motor fuel tax rate, combined with fees similar to the petroleum release remedial action fee or

comparable fees, in other states.

Table 7: Fuel Excise Tax and Fee Rates Jan. 1, 2016 in Cents per Gallon®

State Gasoline | Diesel | State Gasoline | Diesel | State Gasoline | Diesel
Alabama 18 19 | Kentucky 26 23 | North Dakota 23 23
Alaska 8.95 8.95 | Louisiana 20.125 | 20.125 | Ohio 28 28
Arizona 19 27 | Maine 30 31.2 | Oklahoma 17 14
Arkansas 21.8 22.8 | Maryland 32.6| 33.35|Oregon 30 30
California 35 35.5 | Massachusetts 24 24 | Pennsylvania 50.3 64
Colorado 22 20.5 | Michigan 19 15 | Rhode Island 34 34
Connecticut 25 50.3 | Minnesota 28.6 28.6 | South Carolina 16.75| 16.75
Delaware 23 22 | Mississippi 18.4 18.4 | South Dakota 30 30
DC 235 23.5 | Missouri 17.3 17.3 | Tennessee 21.4 18.4
Florida 28.4 31.7 | Montana 27 | 27.75 | Texas 20 20
Georgia 26 29 IEJENE] 27.7 pYAN Utah 29.4 29.4
Hawaii 17 17 | Nevada 23.805| 27.75|Vermont 30.46 32
Idaho 33 33 | New Hampshire 23.825 | 23.825 | Virginia 16.2 20.2
Illinois 20.1 22.6 | New Jersey 14.5 17.5 | Washington 44.5| 445
Indiana 18 16 | New Mexico 18.875 | 22.875 | West Virginia 33.2 33.2
lowa 31.8 33.5 | New York 25| 23.25 | Wisconsin 32.9 32.9
Kansas 25.03 | 27.03 | North Carolina 35.25| 35.25 | Wyoming 24 24

Motor Vehicle Registration Tax

For many years, the tax on motor vehicles due at
registration was comparable to other personal property
taxes: assessed value was based upon the average price
of a vehicle of a particular make, model, and year, and the
property tax levies for taxing subdivisions were applied to
determine the tax due.?’

In 1997, the Legislature passed LB 271 to change the
method of determining motor vehicle registration tax
based upon a set formula. The formula is based upon

the type of vehicle, the initial value of the vehicle, and a
schedule of declining fractions based upon the age of the
vehicle.??

Table 9 shows the schedule of fractions, Table 8 shows the
base tax for cars and motorcycles, which varies depending
on the initial value of the vehicle, and Table 10 shows

the base tax for other types of vehicles. The base tax is
multiplied by the fraction to determine the tax due.

For example, a 2016 Ford F 150 XL pickup with a
manufacturer’s suggested retail price (MSRP) of $24,735
would have a base tax of $380, which would be multiplied
by a fraction of 1.00. The tax due would be $380. A 2012
Honda Accord LX with an MSRP of $21,480 when new
would have a base tax of $300, which would be multiplied
by a fraction of 0.7. The tax due would be $210.

30. State Motor Fuel Tax Rates, Federation of Tax Administrators, January 2016, accessible at www.taxadmin.org/assets/docs/Research/Rates/mf.pdf.
31. Article VIII, sec. I of the Nebraska Constitution allows motor vehicles to be taxed by a different method than other personal property, so while the
system may have been comparable to the way other personal property was taxed, motor vehicles were in a different class and assessed differently.

32. Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 60-3,184 to 60-3,190.
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Table 8: Base Tax for Cars and Motorcycles

Value when new Base tax Value when new Base tax Value when new Base tax
Up to $3,999 $25 $36,000 to $37,999 $620 $70,000 to $71,999 $1,300
$4,000 to $5,999 S35 $38,000 to $39,999 S660 $72,000 to $73,999 $1,340
$6,000 to $7,999 $45 $40,000 to $41,999 $700 $74,000 to $75,999 $1,380
$8,000 to $9,999 S60 $42,000 to $43,999 $740 $76,000 to $77,999 $1,420
$10,000 to $11,999 $100 $44,000 to $45,999 $780 $78,000 to $79,999 $1,460
$12,000 to $13,999 $140 $46,000 to $47,999 $820 $80,000 to $81,999 $1,500
$14,000 to $15,999 $180 $48,000 to $49,999 $860 $82,000 to $83,999 $1,540
$16,000 to $17,999 $220 $50,000 to $51,999 $900 $84,000 to $85,999 $1,580
$18,000 to $19,999 $260 $52,000 to $53,999 $940 $86,000 to $87,999 $1,620
$20,000 to $21,999 $300 $54,000 to $55,999 $980 $88,000 to $89,999 $1,660
$22,000 to $23,999 $340 $56,000 to $57,999 $1,020 $90,000 to $91,999 $1,700
$24,000 to $25,999 $380 $58,000 to $59,999 $1,060 $92,000 to $93,999 $1,740
$26,000 to $27,999 $420 $60,000 to $61,999 $1,100 $94,000 to $95,999 $1,780
$28,000 to $29,999 S460 $62,000 to $63,999 $1,140 $96,000 to $97,999 $1,820
$30,000 to $31,999 $500 $64,000 to $65,999 $1,180 $98,000 to $99,999 $1,860
$32,000 to $33,999 $540 $66,000 to $67,999 $1,220 $100,000 and over $1,900
$34,000 to $35,999 $580 $68,000 to $69,999 $1,260

Table 10: Base Tax for Other Vehicles

Table 9: Fraction

to Defermine Tax vehicle Type Base Tax
Assembled automobiles S60
Assembled motorcycles $25
Year Fraction Cabin trailers, up to 1,000 pounds $10
First 1.00 Cabin trailers, 1,000 pounds and over and less than 2,000 pounds $25
Second 0.3 Cabin trailers, 2,000 pounds and over S40
Third 0.8 Recreational vehicles, less than 8,000 pounds $160
Fourth 0.7 Recreational vehicles, 8,000 Ibs. and over and less than 12,000 lbs. $410
Fifth 0.6 Recreational vehicles, 12,000 pounds and over $860
Sixth 0.5 Trucks - Over seven tons and less than ten tons $360
Seventh 0.4 Trucks - Ten tons and over and less than 13 tons S560
Eighth 0.33 Trucks - 13 tons and over and less than 16 tons S760
Ninth = Trucks - 16 tons and over and less than 25 tons $960
Tenth and 0.15 Trucks - 25 tons and over $1,160
Eleventh
Twelfth and 0.07 Buses 5360
TeeTth Trailers other than semitrailers S10
Fourteenth and | 0.0 Semitrailers $110
Older Minitrucks $50
Low-speed vehicles S50
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In 2015, $243,486,376.37 was collected in motor vehicle Motor Vehicle Registration Fee
registration taxes. The Nebraska Constitution directs motor
vehicle tax proceeds to the county, cities, villages, and
school districts in the county in which the taxes are paid.
The county is authorized to retain one percent of the fees
for administrative costs. For taxes collected within a city,

taxes are distributed: (1) 22 percent to the county; (2) 60 For the 2016 Ford F 150 XL with an MSRP of $24,735 and

The motor vehicle registration fees is also based on a base
fee and a declining fraction. Tables 11 and 12 show the
fractions applied and the base fee for different types of
vehicles to determine the fee due.

percent to the school district; and (3) 18 percent to the the 2012 Honda Accord LX with an MSRP of $21,480 in the
city. For taxes collected outside a city, taxes are distributed: previous examples, the fee due for each of these vehicles
(1) 40 percent to the county; and (2) 60 percent to the would be $20 because the value when new would fall
school district. between $20,000 and $39,999 and both vehicles are less

than five years old.

Table 11: Fraction Table 12: Base Fee

to Determine Fee

Automobiles, with a value when new of less than $20,000, and
Year Fraction assembled automobiles S5
First through fifth 1.00 Automobiles, with a value when new of $20,000 through
Sixth through tenth | 0.70 539,999 520
Eleventh and over 1 0.35 Automobiles, with a value when new of $40,000 or more S30
Motorcycles S10
Recreational vehicles and cabin trailers $10
In 2015, $2_2’275’5_07 wfas collected in Trucks over seven tons and buses S30
motor vehicle registration fees. The - —
county is authorized to retain five Trailers other than semitrailers $10
percent of the fees for administrative Semitrailers $30
costs. The remaining fee revenue is Minitrucks $10
credited to the Motor Vehicle Fee Low-speed vehicles 310

Fund, and is then redistributed evenly
to counties and cities.

Additional Resources

1) Nebraska Department of Insurance, Summary of Insurance Business, http://www.doi.nebraska.gov/exam/summary/index.html.
2) Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles, Driver and Vehicle Records, http://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/dvr.
3) Nebraska Department of Revenue, Charitable Gaming Division Annual Report, http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/gaming/an-

nual reports/2015GamingAnnualReport.pdf.

4) Nebraska Department of Revenue, Miscellaneous Tax Data, http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/research/misc_tax_data.html.

5) Nebraska Department of Revenue, Motor Fuels Division, http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/fuels/index.html.

6) Nebraska Department of Revenue, Revenue Sources, http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/research/Revenue Sources 2015.pdf.
7) Nebraska Department of Revenue, Tax Expenditure Reports, http://www.revenue.nebraska.gov/research/tax_exp_reports.html.

9) Nebraska State Racing Commission, http://racingcommission.nebraska.gov/.
10) Nebraska Secretary of State, Business Services, http://www.sos.ne.gov/business/corp_serv/index.html.

)
)
)
8) Nebraska Liquor Control Commission, https://Icc.nebraska.gov/.
)
0
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