Attend

Requires Polygraph Polygraph Internship
State License School Exam Required? Fee Notes
1. Must have proof of holding a college
degree or evidence that the applicant has
had five consecutive years of actice
Alabama Yes Yes Yes Yes $150(investigative experience
Alaska No
Arizona No
Arkansas Yes Yes No $120
California No
Colorado No
Connecticut No
Delaware No
DC No
Flordia No
Georgia No
Hawaii No
Idaho No
Illinois Yes Yes Yes Yes $100
Indiana Yes No No No $150-$300 Falls under their Private Detective License
lowa Yes S$100|Falls under their Private Detective License
Kansas No
Kentucky Yes Yes Yes Yes S50
Louisiana No; certification only  |Yes Yes Yes S50 to $100
Maine Yes Yes Yes Yes $100
Maryland No
Massachusetts No
$100 -Private
Michigan Yes No Yes Yes examiner
Minnesota No
Mississippi Yes Yes No Yes S50
Missouri No License Only required in St. Louis County
Montana No




Nevada Yes Yes Yes No $620
New Hampshire |No
New Jersey No
New Mexico Yes Yes Yes Yes S500
New York No

$150
North Carolina Yes Yes Yes Yes
North Dakota Yes Yes No Yes $35
Ohio No
Oklahoma Yes Yes Yes Yes $150
Oregon Yes Yes Yes Yes $91
Pennsylvania No
Rhode Island No
South Carolina Yes Yes Yes Yes ?? Fee not set in regulation.
South Dakota Yes Yes No No $75
Tennessee Yes Yes Yes Yes $200
Texas No Repealed its licensing laws in September
Utah Yes No Yes Yes S80
Vermont Yes Yes No Yes $15
Virginia Yes Yes Yes Yes S45
Washington No
West Virginia Yes Yes Yes Yes $100
Wisconsin No
Wyoming No




Attend

Voice Stress Internship
State Requires Voice Stress License| School Exam Required? Fee Notes

Alabama No

Alaska No

Arizona No

Background
check

Arkansas Yes Yes No No $156|required;
California No

Colorado No

Connecticut No

Delaware No

DC No

Flordia No

Georgia No

Hawaii No

Idaho No

Illinois No, for Law Enforcement Use

Indiana No

lowa No

Kansas No

Kentucky NO

Louisiana No

Maine No

Maryland No

Massachusetts No

Michigan No

Minnesota No

Mississippi No

Missouri No

Montana No

Nevada No




New Hampshire |No
New Jersey No
New Mexico No
New York No
North Carolina No
North Dakota No
Ohio No
Oklahoma No
Oregon No
Pennsylvania No
Rhode Island No
South Carolina No
South Dakota Yes Yes No No $25
Tennessee No
Texas No
Utah No
Vermont No
Virginia No
Washington No
West Virginia No
Wisconsin No
Wyoming No




